i ♥ Travel – Helmet Diving

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

“My soul is full of longing for the secret of the sea, and the heart of the great ocean sends a thrilling pulse through me.” ― Henry Wadsworth Longfellow


Hello Steemit Fretz!

You may have come across my post about the beach capital of the Philippines, Boracay! The island has so much to offer aside from its magical white beaches. You can also do different things while you are there. I will be highlighting each activity so you can get a good feel on what you can do while visiting the island.

Helmet Diving


Here’s one of the photos that I found during this trip. Photo was taken by our guide.

Aside from snorkeling and scuba diving, one of the best ways to explore life underwater is through helmet diving. It is also the safest way to go sightseeing underwater. With this activity, you do not need any scuba diving certification and you don’t have to be an experienced swimmer as well but I assure you this was one of a kind experience and you should give it a try at least once.

You will be able to walk normally underwater by putting a helmet on. One of the perks of this activity is that you will be able to wear your sunglasses, prescription glasses, contact lenses or any sort of eyewear without worrying that it will get swept away or get wet.

Price: $10-$15 per person

Along the white beach, you will come across different tour package vendors hanging around. They are offering the same activities to tourists some at a discounted price. There are people who are offered higher prices ranging from $20-$60. If you are patient enough, you will be able to get a good bargain out of it.

Traveling in groups is a good thing as well since they offer larger discounts for those who are in groups.

Helmet Diving Inclusions


source

The package for this activity includes:

  • Speedboat ride from the beach to the floating platform and vice versa.
  • The helmet and other diving equipment
  • Photo and video op that will be given to you after
  • Back then, I remember signing a waiver that you are required to sign assuring that you are in good health condition. People who have poor heart conditions, asthma or epilepsy are prohibited from taking part of this acitivity. Pregnant women are also not allowed to do such activity. You will also not be allowed to helmet diving if you refuse to sign the form. (At the present time, I’m not sure if they still have this rule in place).

    Once you are done signing the forms, the guide will then show you the way to the speedboat to go to the floating platform.

    Briefing


    source

    Once you arrive on the platform, you will be briefed on what to do underwater. The instructor will brief you on what to expect and how to stabilize your ears and relieve the pressure. This is done by simply pinching your nostrils and by blowing hard through your cute little nose. You will also be taught some hand signals. Best that you remember them since that is the only way you would be able to communicate below.

    Under the Sea


    Here’s a video that I found online about this experience.

    Finally! Time to go down the sea! We were guided to go down the ladder. Once the water is within shoulder level the guide will then put the helmet over your head. The helmet weights around 11 kilograms when not submerged in water and will weight down to 2 kilograms.

    There is a hose plus an air compressor attached to the helmet that allows me and my friends to be able to breathe normally with our nose. We can see the fishes and the view of the water since the helmet’s front is made of transparent plate. I had a pretty bad cough at that time so breathing was pretty hard for me. So, imagine with just little air plus the cough I wasn’t really up to staying under the sea for long.

    Sorry my fretz, as much as I want to, I don’t have tons of photos underwater. I also wasn’t able to get the master copy of the videos and pics as well. ☹

    I do hope you are all having a great day!

    i ♥ Travel

    i ♥ Travel Blog Series is a collection of my travels & adventure photos and stories that I have kept throughout the years. Some are old school and some are current but they are wonderful memories that I treasure the most.

    Check out some of my i ♥ Travel Posts:

  • The Beach Capital of the Philippines
  • Flying Solo
  • Dumaguete City Attractions
  • Swimming with Turtles at Apo Island
  • The City of Gentle People
  • @TheHive Banner is created by @charisma777

    Thumbnail Photo is from Unsplash

    Sort:  

    Wow. Thats just wonderful. Id do that in an instant if we had that here where i live.
    But how in the world do they close it around the neck area? Do you need to stand upright at all times so the water doesnt come in?

    You have to hold the helmet down as to make sure that no water comes in but it's not that heavy so it's okay. ^^
    But I tried letting it go the water doesn't come maybe for safety measures. ^^

    The hell? I never knew this was even a thing - this type of diving. Gotta try it one day...

    You should. :) It's fun!

    You have such an adventurous life! Amazing! I would love to be doing what you do. Sadly not offered in the area I live in.
    So which one is you in that picture?
    Is that a starfish under the one person's foot on the left?

    I've toned it down throughout the years but those were fun times. ^^

    You'll never know, you'd come and visit. You should come and give it a try!

    I have never tried that ever.

    Although I have snorkeled by never done helmet diving and fish feeding haha

    It was super duper fun Mave even if I was coughing inside the helmet. Lol

    The groups 1st mention outside of the group :) that deserves a click :) Thank you

    ;) You're welcome. ^^

    Helmet diving....Learn another thing today.

    Looks like fun!

    It is fun. You should give it a try. ^^

    Omg! I know someone who did this in the Philippines! Were you scared at all?!? Or just excited?

    This is SO awesome!

    I was coughing while inside it. Not Really scared but just had to breathe more and more. lol

    I'm glad you enjoyed it. ^^

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.33
    TRX 0.11
    JST 0.034
    BTC 66579.21
    ETH 3282.19
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.30