Travel: Kyrgyzstan not so common

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Hi dear Steemians,

*Summer in Europe is full on and most people spent their time abroad on a nice and well deserved holiday. We just got back from central asia because my wife thought she had seen something nice of one of her friends. "What about Kyrgyzstan?" She said about three months ago. I have to be honest with you, I had to Google that first. Google called it "Switserland of Central Asia" because of it's endless amount of mountains and beautiful nature. *

Google was right

We booked our tickets and did some research and took of to a new adventure. When you fly over Kyrgyzstan to the capital city Bishkek, you'll notice that Google is right. A lot of mountains, one higher then the other and in all different colors and shapes. Our first and second night we spent in a brand new hostel called Freelander work and travel hostel. It is three months old and staff is super friendly. If these people are the standard then we'll have a good time, we thought.

48494884286_6dfe8777df_z.jpg

Ala Aschar

Bishkek is an "OK" city if you like cities. My wife and I not so much so we escaped the heath and took a taxi to Ala Aschar in the mountains. This is where half of Bishkek spent their time with family to relaxe and barbeque. They bring shitloads of food up the mountain and settle themselves to get drunk and have a good time. We decided we were up for a hike to a waterfall. I believe the hike was 6 km with an elevation of 600 meters. Not that thrilling, but I got sick and had no energy left to climb any further. This is where I learned to take a dump in nature without a toilet. Such a shame because we don't like to give up. I took my camera with my tele lens and tried to capture the waterfall from a distance.

MTB trails
MTB trails

Indy Guide

Spending our first day in Bishkek made us realize we wanted to rent a car. There are several car rental places, but quite expensive. Then we spoke to a couple from France who showed us the website Indy Guide. It has everything you need in Central Asia such like products and servises. The website works both ways just like an online marketplace. People offer things and I can ask for a rental car if I like to. That same night I gave it a try and asked Indy Guide the question if someone had a car we can use for 15 days. Instantly I got two replies of small companies that had 4x4 cars. Over night I received 9 more messages. I picked the one that looked the most safe and sent him a message. We got in a conversation about what I wanted and about his terms of using the car.
Next thing you know, a Mitsubishi Pajero drove in front of our hostel. Fully equipt even including a karaoke system, just incase we get nuts.

Our ride:

Issyk Kul

With a lenghte of 182 kilometre Issyk Kul is the biggest lake in Central Asia. It is different then most lake at hight. You'd think that a lake at 1600 meters above sea level is cold as f...! Instead, this lake nice and warm all year round. That's why in winter it will never freeze.

Stuff you'll find around the lake:


Breakfast at our guesthouse

Amazing Golden Eagles they used to hunt


After Issyk Kul we did a three day hike in the mountains. I already showed you a movie in my previous post
I have some nice photo's coming up for you, but that we'll be my next post. This is to long for your interest I'm sure.
Thanks for reading and see you later


Thank you for taking the time to read this. Feel free to leave a comment, resteem and upvote this post. It is highly appreciated.

Banner


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://surfingnomad.nl/travel/travel-kyrgyzstan-not-so-common/

Sort:  

Wow!! Breakfast around the fruits tree is awesome! I have never try that yet. Kyrgyzstan definitely on my list to visit after seeing so many beautiful photos of mountains.

O if you love mountains, Kyrgyzstan is your place to go. I don't where you're from but it isn't comparable with the Netherlands really.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm from Malaysia, although we have mountains (Mount Kinabalu) but I still want to see other country mountains :)

O wow! I'd love to see Malaysia once! It is on my bucketlist🇲🇾

Posted using Partiko Android

You can message me at discord or at my steem post comment when you plan to come Malaysia then we can organize a steem meetup = food meetup :)

Hi, @dboontje!

You just got a 0.14% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @dboontje! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Do you want to be rewarded with extra STEEM for your travel blogs? Thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! We recently introduced an all-new editor that makes writing your next travel posts much more comfortable.
Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.


Congratulations @dboontje!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27