Travel adventures - Mallorca - Part 5 - the last day of our trip

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to our last day trip in Mallorca! I hope you will enjoy it as much as we did!

Our hotel is located nearby Selva - a small town you will drive through if you decide to go to Lluc monastery. This is the view of Selva that we had from the hotel. The view is so beautiful, and we wanted to go there from Day 1!

DSC_0029.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/14 26 mm

As you can see from the first photo it was so close to us that we could even walk to get there but we decided to go by car as we enjoyed the air-co significantly more than 38 degrees outside 😊 On the way there we pulled over a few times to get a closer look of the town. I jumped off the car, took a few photos and hurried back as our Spanish is not good enough to have a conversation with police officers if would come across them.

Selva

Selva was first mentioned in 1222 as an Arab farm and in 1300 it was classified as a town.

It is a small town located in the middle of Mallorca many tourists overlook it hence the community is still very traditional.

DSC_0049.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/14 24 mm

Plaça Major is the main square of Selva. There are big pieces of fabric hanging all over the square to provide shade during hot days. Well, it's not the most elegant solution but very creative and efficient.

20180723_160556.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

There are forty-two steps that lead up from Plaça Major to The Parish church of Sant Llorenç. We were so happy when we saw that the door was open!

DSC_0061.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

We entered the church and we were surprised by how dark it was. It was probably the darkest church that I've ever seen. The only lights in the church were the ones on both sides of the painting on the high altar. We spent there literally about two minutes when a lady approached us, and we understood that we had to leave. It was time to close the church again! She has locked the front door already, so we had to use the side door.

DSC_0065.jpg
ISO 400 1/80 sec. f/4 18 mm

We walked around the church and walked up to a view point.

DSC_0088.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

We were rewarded with a few stunning views of the town and the Serra de Tramuntana mountains.

DSC_0072.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 55 mm

There are also a few new residential buildings that fit nicely into the surroundings.

DSC_0074.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

My husband got intrigued by the building on the top of the hill. I was telling him it was a private property but he thought it must be a monastery, so we drove there through these narrow Mallorcan streets and guess what? It was a private property! Of course, I didn't forget to tell him that I told him it was! 😊

DSC_0075.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

There is also a fancy restaurant behind the church that is only opened in the evening. I can imagine how romantic it is to have a dinner there.

Look at how big is this tree!

DSC_0086.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 21 mm

The square had the same decoration as we saw in Valldemossa and I assume that they were having patron festivities too. I think that all festivities occurred in the evening as the streets were very quiet during the day.

DSC_0068.jpg
ISO 100

Let's go to Caimari!

Caimari

Caimari is a small village that is very famous for production of olive oil. We've heard about it from the hotel owners and decided to go there as it's just a few minutes drive from Selva. You can get their olive oil everywhere on the island, but we decided to get it from a local shop.

The olive trees are all around the village. I have also heard that there is an annual celebration of the olive held in Caimari.

DSC_0007.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Many of the houses have been changed into charming country hotels but I understand that most of tourists prefer to stay closer to the beach. Most of the quests who come here are the ones who want to escape from such touristy places and prefer going for long walks or cycling routes. Caimari is indeed a cycling paradise!

DSC_0032.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Such delicate flowers still blooming in the middle of summer.

DSC_0038.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Once we enjoyed the views from the top of the hill we were walking back to the main square. The square is dominated by The Parish church of Immaculate Conception also knows as The new church. The church was built on top of a former monastery of Franciscan nuns, which was closed in 1836. The interior of the church is rather very simple. The main feature of the church is an image of Virgin Mary in the altarpiece. Unfortunately, we were not allowed to take photos inside of the church.

DSC_0022.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

The main square - Plaça Major is small but it has a lovely atmosphere. We were sitting there for some time observing these three ladies. Can you see them? Two of them are older and dressed traditionally. There is the youngest lady standing on the right next to a car, one older lady sitting in the back on a bench and another older lady walking across the square. For a long time, this lady was sitting on a bench on the left side and all three of them were talking across the square. It was a VERY loud conversation. We were so caught in it although we didn't understand a word and thought that this was the nicest local experience that we had. This lady actually left the bench after we greeted her, and I think this was her charming way to show us that she was not that interested in us 😊

DSC_0017.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

From the main square we went to The Església Vella also knows as The old church - on the left side.

DSC_0028.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

The temple was built around 1732 and it was never blessed or inaugurated as a church. The inhabitants of the village were asking for a real church and this is how the new church started its service. The temple was used as a cinema in the past and nowadays it is used as a cultural activity center. It is only a big empty space with many chairs.

DSC_0025.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

One of many beautiful streets of Caimari. The lady was standing in the middle of the street, greeted us and gave us a smile. As soon as she saw the camera she hurried back in the house 😊 Looks like people here are not that fond of tourists!

DSC_0044.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

This is the main street heading to the Lluc monastery. Can you see the orange sign on the left?

DSC_0048.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

It is a cycling shop serving vegan meals! But I'll tell you about it in my vegan guide...

This is how I usually check the photos that I take 😊

We had such an amazing time in Mallorca and we were so sad that we had to leave. People there are so kind, the architecture is beautiful, the landscape is breathtaking, the beaches are endless, the water is crystal clear, the oranges are the sweetest and the olive trees are everywhere!

If you have a chance you should go there too and experience the best holiday ever! I know that we will come back very soon!

All pictures are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II (except of the ones indicated in the article).

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

Steemit Bloggers

!steemitworldmap 39.753890 lat 2.900698 long Travel adventures - Mallorca - Part 5 - last day of our trip d3scr

Sort:  

Another excellent post to finish out "our" journey. ;) Because of course I was with you in spirit, haha! Though I am sure it is nothing like experiencing it in person, you have such a gift in sharing that I feel like I got to see so much of the trip. Thank you for taking such care in your photos and detailed descriptions. It is a wonderful way to learn about a place! Can't wait to see where you are off to next!

That is so sweet of you to say! I'm happy that you enjoyed OUR trip! I hope you will get to travel soon and share your experience with us! Can't wait to see it!

I'm going back home for a week in August and then to Prague and Luxembourg in September. For next year I hope to see some parts of Asia :)

Thank you lovely girl!

This is an outstanding post about your Mallorca adventure. So glad I came across your blog via @jessicaoutside, who has featured your blog in her recent #payitforward entry post.

Thank you for stopping by! I'm glad you liked it!

Jessica is a sweetheart :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=delishtreats
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-adventures-mallorca-part-5-the-last-day-of-our-trip


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Stunning photos, as always, Martina! How did you manage the heat? Is it cooler back in Switzerland? Even here in Denmark we’re getting 30˚C, which is crazy for this region!

Here it's up to 33 degrees every day. The summer in Switzerland can get very hot. It's very difficult for me to handle the heat. I get headache and become very grumpy after a while. That's why we always stopped in a bar to cool down a bit :D otherwise I wouldn't be able to enjoy the holidays!

another wonderful post... you truly know how to capture the beauty of the places you go! Excellent Martina!

Thank you Dave! Now I have to plan another trip to have something to write about! :)

Congratulations @delishtreats! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a lovely last day! I am sad you are leaving too. It’s been quite wonderful to share your holiday with you in such a visual feast of fabulous scenic photography. Mmm those sweet oranges, I have my own orange tree In my garden in Spain and fondly remember just how sweet and delicious they are! Unbeatable! Olives and olive oil are some of the greatest pleasures of Spanish agriculture - I hope you took some home with you😉

Thank you my dear! I wonder why they don't sell these delicious oranges in Switzerland! All of them are sour.

Now is the best time for you to go to Spain and take your harvest with you to Costa Rica :) Spanish olive oil is my favorite! We took one bottle from Caimari :)

@delishtreats
Looks like you had an awesome trip.
Have fun

I absolutely did! Thank you for stopping by!

Love the tour today @delishtreats :) Your post certainly makes me want to visit Mallorca now too!! I'm forwarding your post to c-squared in the hopes they pay you a little visit too:)

Oh, congratulations! I see you're a member of @steemitbloggers now as well :) They are a great group of people and all so talented! You'll be right at home :)

EDIT: I got so caught up in your post that I forgot to tell you that I found it because @jessicaoutside featured you in her Pay It Forward entry and I'm one of the lucky judges who gets to see all the awesome posts that get featured :) Feel free to join us next week with an entry of your own!

Thank you for stopping by Lynn! It's always so nice to read your comments! So kind of you to forward my post to c-squared. I got an upvote from them now! THANK YOU!

YES! I'm so excited to be a part of @steemitbloggers! I'm sure I will enjoy the community :)

I'm going to check her entry now! Thank you mentioning it! Now I'm more at home so I will join as I wanted to do so for so many weeks already!

Have a lovely day Lynn! :)

You are so welcome @delishtreats, and I'm glad they stopped by your post!

Yes, home and back to "normal" 😅

A glimpse into a lovely land I've never visited. You have some beautiful photos.
I found your post from @jessicaoutside's PayItForward post.

Thank you for stopping by! You should go there when you get a chance :)

I'm going to check her entry now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11