Travel adventures - one Sunday afternoon in den Bosch

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Last weekend we spent in the Netherlands as our niece turned 1 and her parents organized a birthday party on Saturday. We thought that it was for our family to have a nice relaxing gathering and some quality time together.

Frankly, we were wrong. The party was for 23 kids and 30 adults. It was everything but relaxing. We had a lot of fun but also needed some quiet time on Sunday. Before heading back to Switzerland, we went for a walk to 's-Hertogenbosch. However, we didn't know that all shops would be open and that there would be so many people around.

Luckily my husband knows the city very well and we found some quiet places as well. Would you like to join us? 😊

1.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

's-Hertogenbosch and Jheronimus Bosch

's-Hertogenbosch is the capital city of the province of North Brabant in the Netherlands. It is also known as 'Den Bosch' which is much easier to pronounce for those who don't speak Dutch.

Jheronimus Bosch (Jeroen van Aken) was born here in 1450. He was a painter with very provocative style for that time. His vision had enormous influence during his lifetime. Even though he was born in Den Bosch, the city didn't own any of his original paintings. To celebrate the 500th anniversary of his death in 2016, the museum in the city managed to bring together the majority of his work in an exhibition.

There are also many sculptures around the city inspired by his paintings. Keep your eyes open as a lot of them are hidden behind the corners or under the bridges.

We have seen a few of them during our short walk...

2.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

The Garden of Earthly Delights - Giraffe

4.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 24 mm

The Garden of Earthly Delights - A pair of giant ears, pierced by an arrow, wield a large knife

5.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

The Garden of Earthly Delights - A pig wearing a nun’s habit

7.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/5.6 18 mm

I leave this one to your imagination 😊

6.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

And here is Jeroen Bosch's bronze statue in the middle of the old town standing on the stone pedestal. The statue was created in 1929 by sculptor August Falise and placed in 1930 right in front of the house in which Jeroen spent his childhood.

15.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

There are many more statues depicting his paintings and we will continue looking for them once we're back in the city. But now, let's continue with our walk...

swoosh stretched.png

Binnendieze

Den Bosch is very well known for its canals. Hop on a boat and explore the medieval city and its history from the river. You get to see various parts of the underground world of Den Bosch and the experienced guide will tell you any gossip about the city that you wish to hear 😊

This time we stayed above the water though...

You can see countless bridges over the river Binnendieze.

8.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

But also houses that are build above the river. Can you imagine living in a house like this?

9.jpg
ISO 100 1/100 sec. f/8 18 mm

In the past the river was used as a place for laundry, fishing, water supply and 'a toilet' - very interesting combination, I know. In the second half of the 20th century, the river almost disappeared due to the construction of the canalization system.

10.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

In 1972 the river inside of the city was protected and 4 kilometers out of 12 were saved. If you would ever visit Den Bosch, make sure to book the underground tour as it's really worth it. The tour is only available between March and October each year.

Shall we go to De Bossche Draak now?

10a.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

swoosh stretched.png

De Bossche Draak

De Bossche Draak is located in front of the train station. It is a fountain with a golden dragon on its top. It's one of the most important symbols of the city. It's built on the busiest square of Den Bosch, with lots of traffic and people hurrying to and from the train station.

On the way to the fountain we met these two lovers. I like how they are flirting with each other 😊

12.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

We crossed Wilhelminabrug (Wilhelmina Bridge) over the river Dommel. There are nice views from the bridge.

17.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/7.1 18 mm

And the other side of the city...

18.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

The original bridge was built in 1874. It had to be replaced a couple of times because it was seriously damaged and the bridge that we see today was built in 1954. The artwork that is placed on the pillars was done by Frans van der Burgt. It shows the history of the city from 1185 when Den Bosch was founded.

19.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

We continued to the train station for a few minutes before we finally came to De Bossche Draak. The monument was built due to tragic events that happened in the family of Queen's Commissioner in 1881.

He had twin daughters. One of the daughters died on November 19th, and the other one died one day later. Three years later his wife died as well. When he died in 1894, he left 10,000 guilders to the city to build a fountain in memory of his daughters and his wife.

20.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

Our last stop today will be the St. John's Cathedral.

swoosh stretched.png

Sint-Janskathedraal

The Cathedral dates back to the early 13th century. It is one of the largest and most beautiful Gothic buildings in the Netherlands. It was built as a church and became a cathedral in 1559.

The church became protestant less than a century after its completion. Most of the decoration was destroyed during this time. The church became catholic again in 1810 after intervention of Napoleon Bonaparte.

21.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

In front of the cathedral there is a bronze statue of Saint John the Evangelist with an eagle created by Mari Andriessen in 1963.

Are you ready to go inside of the cathedral?

DSC_0082.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/6.3 18 mm

The interior is decorated with many statues and beautiful woodwork. Most of the art was lost or removed after the church became protestant but many pieces were returned in the 19th century.

I've been to the cathedral many times and I always find something new and intriguing. I'm looking forward to the Christmas season when it will be beautifully decorated.

If you want to learn more about the cathedral and its history, you can book one of the guided tours that are available in several languages.

23.jpg
ISO 800 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

The cathedral is also famous for its stained glass windows. I will let the photos speak for themselves.

24.jpg
ISO 800 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

25.jpg
ISO 800 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

26.jpg
ISO 400 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

27.jpg
ISO 800 1/100 sec. f/5 18 mm

We have enjoyed our afternoon in Den Bosch but now it's time to head back to our rental car and drive to the airport so that we don't miss our flight.

swoosh stretched.png

I hope you have enjoyed our tour 😊

Thank you for reading,

Cheers,
Martina

20181104_143854.jpg
Samsung Galaxy S7

As usually, all photos are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II (except of the ones indicated in the text)


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

I have proof now... not only do you live in make-believe land, there must only be you in it... there is NO WAY that these streets are this clean in real life plus the people are actually statues. ;)

Hahaha :D Good point Dave! I wondered if anyone will notice that they are not actual people and here you are!!! :D Well done! :D

I'm on to you Martina ;)

Dave we are really neat here in hollamd, come and visit and bring the lovely misses😉 @davemccoy

I think its great how the city honoured one of their own through sculptures. It would be interesting to see what his painting are like, though I can probably get an idea *_^

Absolutely. I like the way they promoted him. Even though he was such a well known painter at that time many people didn't know him before the exhibition.

Hahaha, they look like the sculptures. If I manage to go to the museum, I'll take some photos :)

Thank you for stopping by, Pauline and for the feature today :) I just came home and saw it..

Hah still noo face :/ Sooo why does your hubby know the town well? Is he from Netherlands? I totally enjoy ur pics btw, do you do any postprocessing on them or are they straight from the camera?

Haha soo my imagination to that weird statue is that the person has some infection down there and it's superpainful so his/her life is totally upside down cuz of it...and the red part is actually the bacteria cell under the microscope :D

What kind of face do you want to see? :D

Yes, he is Dutch. His parents are from Indonesia but they moved to the Netherlands before he was born. They had to leave Indonesia as they had Dutch passports.. And no, he is not the reason why I speak Dutch :D I studied Dutch in Belgium before I met him. Just a coincidence :)

I'm using Lightroom and I love it. I don't do too much editing as I like the natural look. Usually I edit a little bit of light here and there (when it's too dark for my liking) or adjust a little bit of shadows, but not much. Are you looking for some software to edit your photos?

Hahaha, I like your interpretation :D If that bacteria looks like this, then it indeed must be very painful :D

Congratulations on the 3rd place in curie comment contest!! Well done!! :) I was happy to see your name there ;)

What did u study? Hah my favorite colleague is Dutch...and with colleagues, it's almost as a marriage :D I don't speak Dutch yet tho :D

Hmm nope, not really. I'm just surprised how many people do postprocessing. Dunno, I wouldnt have time for it. I mean..I could make it, but don't want to..I already spend here more time than I'd like to haha :D Also, lightroom is not available for Linux :D

Oh wow, it's out already!? Nicee...but I wanted to be 2nd tho! :D

I studied Dutch in Belgium. I was preparing to finish my master but then the situation changed and I had to return to Prague after a year. I was studying Dutch to finish my education in Dutch as English didn't seem challenging enough for me :D

Lucky you! It's good to have great colleagues!

It depends on how you want to present your photos. I spend just a couple of seconds on each photo but then I'm happy about them. Sometimes the outside conditions don't allow you to capture the exact moment but you can get what you want with slight editing..

First week and you wanted to be second? :D I hope you'll make it this week :) Or are you aiming higher? :D

Hah I'd love to be first just cuz of my stupid ever-present competitivness :D But I'll try to resist the urge :D Also, I'm Flying to krakow and then Slovakia this week sooo not sure if i'll have time :D I guess 2nd is the goal for now :)

Haha I love how you just chosen Dutch over English cuz of challenge! Right approach IMO :)

Hahaha, no worries, my dad will be coming next week for 4 days and the week after I won't be online either as we're planning a trip (no idea where we go, but we do go :D )

Are you attending the Steemfest or are you just going to meet a few people there? I wanted to go this year but this week I have two important doctors appointments so it was not possible..

I love languages and that was a great opportunity to speak a language that none of my friends or family speak. Even now I'm getting strange looks when people realize that I'm from Slovakia. How come that you speak Dutch!? :D

Have fun at home! Next time I'll be going will be right before Christmas :)

Waahhh soo pretty! I really enjoy looking at those statues also.... a dragon on top of a pillar, and some of them put in unexpected places, and of course that provocative one! I hope they won't remove it XD.

It's so funny to walk around the city and seeing these sculptures places at the most bizarre places :D Ow, here is one! And here is well! Look at it! :D We had a lot of laugh.

I don't think so. They have invested a lot of money into the exhibition and they are very proud of Jeroen so I can't imagine that they would remove them.

Thank you for stopping by scrawly! :)

well all i can say that while reading total post i felt like i am exploring the place of history which is full monuments and sculptures. You describe total city very well with lots of information. Pictures are solid and stunning... thank you for sharing such a historical city as well as its beauties of art and architecture..

There are so many other things to see in Den Bosch but we only had about 2 hours for the visit so didn't manage to do more. But we'll go there again :)

Thank you so much for your kind words! :)

Beautiful article! So many great photos. I love those statues, they are so cute.

Thanks for sharing!

I've been to the city so many times from 2016 and this is the first time that I've seen these statues :D You really have to look for them to find them as they are not placed in any obvious places :)

Thank you for stopping by!

Lovely photos. Love all the reflections you captured off the water and the rich fall colors coming back off the water. I am also always in awe of the cathedrals. The stained glass is incredible. The Jheronimus Bosch sculptures are fun also especially the little boy in the barrel? with the reflection. Great pic

What I like on the Netherlands is that they have water everywhere. You find yourself in the nature very often. I also like those photos with the reflection :)

This is one of the most beautiful cathedrals in the Netherlands and the stained glass really is incredible. There is another church in Gouda which has the most beautiful stained glass. I will visit it soon and I'm sure you'll like the pictures :)

There are many more of them but we didn't have time to look for them. It's such a funny exhibition :) Hahaha, yes, he was cute. First I didn't get what it was but then I realized that it was a boy :)

Thank you for stopping by! :)

Hahaha I enjoyed the serenity of the scenic views, especially with the greens but I laughed when the photos of the statues loaded. And oh the stained glass in the cathedral! Thank you for taking me on a pleasant walk, @delishtreats :)

Yeah, these statues are funny! I hope to find more next time. They are placed at the most bizarre placed so finding them is a challenge :)

Thank you for stopping by ;)

Oh woman, what a beautiful journey you have had accompanied by your love! Share as a family, celebrate your niece's first year, take some photos while you walk .. Uff beautiful, health for that, divine! :)

It was an amazing weekend :) Our niece is such a cutie pie :) And it's always lovely to go for a walk with my husband.. he is the best company :)

Thank you for stopping by!

I see, well, long life to family and love! <3

Looks like you were lucky with the weather that weekend, Martina! So many beautiful pictures! Seriously, it took my browser three full minutes to load them all, haha! :D

I loved that stained glass church windows… I’m a sucker for those!

Yes! The weather was lovely. We were surprised it was sunny and kind of warm, well at least in term of November :) Hahaha, 3 minutes? I've heard that my photos take ages to load :D

I love them too!

Thank you for stopping by Oleg!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76