The Naschmarkt - Vienna - Austria

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Naschmarkt – Vienna's Biggest And Most Popular Market


It was November when I visited Vienna last year with my son and his girlfriend. There was a certain excitement in the air as the city prepared for Christmas and their Christmas markets. We were too early for those, but we did get to experience the awesome Naschmarkt, the most impressive market I have ever visited, at more than a kilometer long and with three rows of about 120 stalls and restaurants. The market dates back to the 16th century when farmers brought their produce to sell to the city people, and vendors sold goods from faraway places in the Austrian Empire. Nowadays, the market is a big tourist destination as well as a place for the locals to shop for just about everything they could need!


As it was winter, warm clothing was in abundance on the stalls.

IMG_9010.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9027.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9019.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


We were very fortunate that our Airbnb apartment was practically across the street from it, so once we parked our car it was parked for the duration of our stay! We walked everywhere from there, except for Saturday evening when we took a cab out to the suburbs to eat at a restaurant that had been recommended by a friend. It was worth the cab fare to save on the tourist rates for downtown dining!

The market opens daily six days a week, but like most stores in the city it is not open on Sundays, save for a few coffee stalls. We were fortunate to arrive in Vienna late on a Saturday afternoon , which means that we unfortunately missed the Flohmarkt though, a flea market held in the adjacent car park, and the largest and claimed as the best in all of Europe! They were clearing up the parking lot as we set off to explore the Naschmarkt.
IMG_9008.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


At the Naschmarkt, I was not disappointed in the variety of fruits and vegetables I saw all together in one location! Oh, for the luxury to be able to shop there on a regular basis!

IMG_9033.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9034.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9064.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9065.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9018.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


Of course, there was every kind of cheese (both local and imported), fish, meats, sausages, stuffed peppers and olives, nuts, grains, desserts and every other kind of food you can possibly dream up! We bought cheese, sausages and bread to have for breakfast the following morning!
IMG_9017.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9025.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9056.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9049.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9074.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9059.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9061.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9035.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9036.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9039.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


These dishes look good enough to eat!
IMG_9037.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


And who would not enjoy a cup of tea poured from one of these delightful teapots?
IMG_9045.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


Of course, it was not hard to find a souvenir to suit your tastes either.
IMG_9044.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

IMG_9015.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


And because the Christmas season was fast approaching, there were Christmas decorations to be had too!
IMG_9029.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


The open sales of this product all over Europe was quite surprising to me. No! I did not shop there!
IMG_9069.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved


It was getting close to the market closing time when we left, but the numerous restaurants stayed open later.
IMG_9076.jpg
© Diane Macdonald - All Rights Reserved

I hope you have enjoyed this visit to the Naschmarkt in Vienna Austria. I finally got the images edited - and on a Friday too - just in time to post for @dswigle's #marketfriday!

Sort:  

How amazing! This looks like a place you could spend many hours at! Thank for taking all these wonderful photos!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I took a lot more too, but had to be selective. LOL! Thanks for dropping by to comment!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I appreciate the Resteem!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dmcamera
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-naschmarkt-vienna-austria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks! There are lots of other posts about Vienna on there too - a great resource for anyone wishing to travel there!

As I read this delightful post I thought that it would be ideal for #marketfriday and then at the end I saw that you had submitted it already.
Austria is indeed a great country and I have a good friend that lives' there.
We were renting a place at his mother's home here in South Africa and he came to visit her. Since then we've been friends.

A lovely post here my friend.
Blessings!

Thank you! Yes, I had been meaning to dig these out for #marketfriday one of these days, so I thought that today might just be the day - and a little break from French Polynesia too! Blessings to you and yours too!

The fruit and vegetables just looks amazing and very fresh, at that market!!

I know! I wish I could shop there all the time!

What awesoem shots of the market, I remember doing a quick walk through that one when I was there a few years ago

thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA !tip

Thanks and thanks for the tip too. Needless to say, I have dozens more, but there had to be a limit. LOL!

Ohh I knew you would have but it was a great post :)

I have trouble choosing what to post sometimes. Lol!

I think we all do I know I struggle sometimes, normally I have 4 or 5 posts prepare din advance if I ever get stuck in a rut but this last couple of weeks I have taken a ton of photos but edited so few I have used up all my drafts I need to find some motivation this weekend from somewhere

Well your walks are always very interesting. I actually have years of travel photos sitting on hard drives. Did I tell you my DSLR died on the last day of our trip? I talked with the guys at Canon and it’s not very promising. In the meantime I’m spending more time editing the backlog. Lol!

:( yes I think you mentioned that it died, sorry to hear the news is not promising but at least you have a huge archive to work through in the meantime :)

Yep! And money is tight after all the root canals -3 in all and now crowns to come. I used to have separate business and personal accounts back when stock was a viable business model, but now it all comes out of the same kitty! I’ll probably get a refurbished one, as I really need it for studio shots, unless I decide to retire from that side. Most of my sales come from that though, as too many people shoot travel. Studio work is a bit more specialized.

🎁 Hi @dmcamera! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday Dumbo Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #594.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thanks again @LivingUKTaiwan. I appreciate the mention!

Never been a fan of markets but seen quite a few things I would definitely buy :D

I didn’t like them in the past and always avoided them, but now I love to just browse and people watch. They seem to give the pulse of a place where local traditions and tourism meets. Hard to explain. I typically avoid crowds and hate tourist traps, but markets are different somehow. At least in my experience. Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07