6 months no booze

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

49508008_351518228764393_8979612263186956288_n.jpg

This is going to be tricky but i'm going to give it a good go. Last January I gave up alcohol for what I thought would be a month. This turned into 3 months and was surprisingly easy. This year I’ve decided to try 6 months. It will be difficult because I really do enjoy a drink. Many of my favourite memories involve alcohol.

For example, I can remember hiking through a sweltering Joshua Tree National Park some years ago. We got incredibly lost and ended up walking for miles.

49479739_215051512712019_8796337517516292096_n.jpg

49415700_376864766474673_4155801465027297280_n.jpg

It was stunning. Nothing quite like i've ever seen before with wonderful rock formations and Joshua Trees everywhere. When we got back to our motel we showered and changed then headed out to the local saloon feeling exhausted but still buzzing from the hike. We sat at the bar and drank bourbon and coke with cheeseburgers. I could literally feel the whiskey have it's relaxing effect on my tired muscles....it was sublime.

On another trip to the states I visited my sister in San Francisco. We found an incredible seafood restaurant called “Sotto Mare”. I was introduced to the local oysters and Dungeness crab which we ate with a glass of Pink Champagne...... pure bliss.

IMG_0515.JPG

IMG_0522.JPG

Then there is the obligatory Provencal Rose to accompany Tartiflette in the French Alps.... and the ice cold lager on a Mediterranean beach... and the best Margaritas ever in LA.... I could go on forever!

However, my relationship with alcohol is like a set of scales. Sometimes the benefits will far outweigh the negative effects. On other occasions the consequences will supersede any fun alcohol gives me by a mile. After dabbling last year with reducing the alcohol in my life, I can safely say that right now the negatives far outweigh the positives. And so my quest for sobriety begins.

Alcohol effects my relationship with my kids. In the past my daily glass of wine at the end of the day served a valuable purpose. In fact, during particularly dark times it was vital and served as my lifeline…. my survival tactic. However, after a few years, when things calmed down I noticed alcohol had more of a detrimental effect. I realised that I was beginning to rush my children’s bedtime stories in anticipation of the chilled glass of wine waiting for me downstairs. When I’m booze free, I can relish bedtime and embrace this precious time with them. It’s regrettably the only time in the day when they have my undivided attention.…. and they deserve it. I sometimes spend some time in my sons bed snuggling with him for ages. We like putting our faces together so our noses are touching. We just stare at each other's eyes for as long as we like. No words are spoken. Similarly, my daughters can now enjoy me reading lengthy books without suspecting I am rushing through the procedure in desperation to get my fix downstairs. They’re not stupid after all.

When it comes to my relationship with my partner there's no doubt alcohol has a detrimental effect. We might "bond" over a bottle of wine but this sometimes turns into a dispute and at best we end up in separate rooms chilling individually. I’ll watch a mind numbing TV programme while he surfs the net. Then we go to bed…. at separate times. When we are both t-total we often choose a TV series to watch together. We snuggle on the sofa together, we chat and we almost always go to bed together.

Life is generally richer without alcohol and I find myself excited about the day ahead and looking for fun things to do. I've started Cross Country Running and this gives me something to look forward to. More than anything else, I love returning from a run and curling up in front of the fire with some food and then falling into a warm bed with a good book, my muscles throbbing from the run. I know I will wake up fresh, fully hydrated and ready for the day ahead.

I now appreciate the necessity to be the best I possibly can, every day. I used to look at my kids sometimes when I had a little fuzzy head from a drink the night before. I would envy their energy and their innocence and I would wish I felt as clean inside as they do every morning. Now I really do.... and it's just as amazing as I had hoped.

49405714_328824887965113_7155830473401303040_n.jpg

Sort:  

I can understand how relieving it is, when a mental prison breaks. And, I also liked the way you put yourself in simple words. Happy new year ;)

Thank you

You seem to have reflected on the matter a lot and laid out the pros and cons of quitting drinking, and yes, it appears from an external point of view that the pros far outweigh the cons!

At the end of the day, it’s best to trust how we truly feel, and if you really feel better without it, then you’ll probably find out 6 months isn’t much!

I think you might be right there :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

A perfect post for early January. A timely reminder. Thanks

Glad you like it!

Congratulations! I'm a couple months away from being two years sober. Even though it's difficult at times I know that my decisions on alcohol are more poor than most people's so it's best for me to stay this way. Have you ever been to AA? I was lucky in the sense that my alcoholism hadn't gotten to the point where I needed to keep going to AA to stay sober but the few times I went really gave me a lasting impression and the support that I needed to stay sober. I hope you find the peace you're looking for. So much love and aloha!

So far I haven't needed to go to AA to quit but I can see how it would help. I find the first couple of weeks the hardest. Disassociating alcohol with various rituals in my life..... that's the hardest bit. It's more psychological than physiological. Thanks for sharing your experience, 2 years is a very long time so well done! maybe I will be joining you!

It's kind difficult to don't drink nowadays when everyplace that you go, people are drinkings boozes.
Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @elizabethharvey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.
You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @elizabethharvey!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 1.363 which ranks you at #41135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 304 places in the last three days (old rank 40831).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 238 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Your story was very courageous. You're aware that you have an unhealthy relationship with alcohol; and, to prove to yourself and others that you're not an alcoholic, you abstain for months on end, only to welcome this 'bad actor' back into your life after a time. This struck a painful memory of a friend who rode this on again, off again train for decades. When they were off, they were healthy and a joy to be around. When they were on, it was like a locomotive making up for lost time; sad to say the least.

The Bible says wine is good medicine; but, daily use makes this tasty treat an unhealthy addiction. I'm shocked that doctors recommend a daily glass of wine. Rme...smh...doesn't that make one a wino? I know the argument, one glass? But, too often, one glass of wine becomes one bottle for many who indulge.

Prayers that you will find a lifelong non-guilty pleasure to imbibe. May I suggest pouring a glass of my favorite kombucha, GT's Trilogy into a beautiful flute to enjoy after reading to the kids?

Hopefully, your hubby will journey with you in your quest to abstain.

Peace.

thanks for your comment. Im also shocked Drs condone the use of wine. The negatives far outweigh any circulatory benefits that alcohol has. I only need to have one drink and I feel slightly dehydrated the next day.. cant be good to be in a constant state of dehydration.

thanks...

Absolutely! ;+)...something about the Resveratrol effect in red wine...

The negatives far outweigh...

So true...Your response led me on a quick search for the cons; serving as a reminder to DYR before taking what someone recommends as a habit, at face value.

You are 100% correct about the benefits not worth the negatives. Not to belabor the point, but per Dr.'s orders, recommending daily doses is an unhealthy set up for abuse...jmho...

Here's a link of five pros and cons....smh/rme at the cons...

https://efm.net.au/5-pros-and-5-cons-of-red-wine/

Btw, how repulsed are you at the thought of trying the Kombucha as a replacement? I would love to know if it takes the edge off any cravings. I apologize if I'm being intrusive...just the researcher in me seeking solutions/results.

Lastly, people often argue that Jesus wasn't anti wine. This is very true; as He notes that it's not the wine that's a sin; only the abuse thereof (John 2:7...; Ephesians 5:18...)

Prayers for all going through...

Peace.

Nice. Like anything in life there is always a balance. Seems you are on the right path to finding yours.

i reckon I am. thanks for your vote of confidence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13