Aotearoa: Land of the Long White Cloud

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

We, as humans, are often faced with adversity, challenges in life, and sometimes they alter who we are, and indeed what we are. We deal with those challenges in different ways sometimes falling in a heap and giving in and at other times fighting tooth and nail to overcome them. I've seen strong people driven to their knees and people one would expect not to cope stand tall and triumph. It's all subjective and how each of us deals with the challenge of adversity is unknown until we are directly faced with it.

Recently my family has faced one such challenge and whilst we are certainly not out of the danger zone prospects seem to looking quite good and so I thought I'd write a little about it. I'm referring to the recent battle with cancer my wife's mother has faced. Some of you may know about this however until now I have not mentioned the nature of the cancer and the severity of it.

It started over six months ago when my wife Faith and I returned from Europe after six weeks of holidaying. Within 48 hours of us returning we were in the hospital with her mum and a couple of days later she was diagnosed with bowel cancer and had an operation date booked. That operation removed most of her bowel and it was found the cancer was a little more widespread than at first thought however the surgeon's were confident they had caught it in the nick of time. I'll not go into details of course, however soon after the operation the six month course of chemotherapy began.

Just for the record, we are not strangers to cancer as my wife's father died aged 33 (when my wife was 11) from it and my mother also succumbed to cancer at age 59. Like most people we had been exposed to it however this time it was different, especially for my wife considering the loss of her dad at such a young age; She is very close with her mum. We had some idea what to expect however didn't think for a moment that it would go as wrong as it did once the chemotherapy started.

My wife stayed with her mum throughout the treatments or she would come and stay at our place for a few days after the actual chemo-drugs were administered. It was a terrible time as her mum was violently ill, life-threateningly so, and in and out of hospital for weeks and weeks. As it turned out the hospital had gotten the chemo mixture wrong and the drugs were killing her. Again, I won't go into it in detail but she was rushed back to hospital six or seven times by ambulance and once by my wife, on each occasion on the brink of death.

She was taken off all chemo drugs and they went back to the drawing board to determine the right mix. After a month off from the drugs to recover her strength she finally went back on it and it seemed to work. She would have chemo-drugs pumped into her for 3 days, then none for 11 days then more drugs for another 3 days and another 11 day break. That continued for six months and in the process she has suffered some unpleasant symptoms, some of which may stay with her for life.

Throughout the entire ordeal my wife cared for her mum, either at our house or when she stayed over at her mum's. She also ran our business, kept our house and managed not to break down in the meantime. She's also been facilitating a renovation of her mum's house with fresh paint inside (she prepares the walls and ceiling and paints herself), and has had new floors put down, paving and retaining wall work outside plus a mini-renovation of the kitchen. She has done a remarkable job and sometimes when I sit back and consider everything she has achieved in that time PLUS handle the emotional stress and worry of her mum's illness...Well, it makes me very proud of her.

The last several months have taken their toll on all three of us and we are only now starting to find some normality here and there. My mother in law has had to deal with the massive change to her life, the prospect of death and the loss of her partner of 25 years to cancer in the same week she was diagnosed herself! Yeah, I know right?

My wife has dealt with...Well, with everything I guess. She has been amazing and I know I'm biased in this regard but I don't know anyone who is as strong as her. And me? Well, I've tried to stay as low-impact as I can and help out where I can. I don't know how much help I was though, probably not too much, but I tried.

Anyway, to celebrate the end of the treatment we have decided to go on a holiday. My mother in-law has never been overseas so we are going to take her to New Zealand. I know, you may not think that's a big deal but there are reasons we are unable to fly further. We will be there for about 12 days and are only going to the South island so we get to spend some quality time exploring. We also have to move at a pace my mother in-law can sustain.

We will be taking a helicopter ride to set down on Mt Earlslaw Burn (pictured immediately above) and a glacier, will be boat-cruising on Milford Sound (main picture above), doing a jet boat adventure ride on the Shotover River, the gondola ride 450m above Queenstown and then star-watching and a whole heap of other things as well. I think we'll eat a lot too...Trust me...We'll eat!

I booked the flights, hire car and the helo-tour a couple of days ago and am looking at accommodation at the moment so it's all happening!

We are making this trip all about my wife's mum so whatever she wants to do we are doing. She will have to take some care along the way and won't be able to get as adventurous as she may like but I think she'll enjoy it. I'm really keen to make it happen and to ensure she has a great time and for me it's as much about her as it is my wife as they both deserve a great break! [You can see us all here selfied last weekend. As you can see my mother in-law's hair is coming back.]

Bowel cancer kills over 5,300 Australians a year, that's around 14 people a day, and has a 5-year survival rate of 69%. Fortunately my mother in-law has made it this far and it seems that things are on the right track although it's still early days. This is why we are taking this trip; Because there is no better time than NOW to live life. Don't you think? I'm looking forward to heading off in October, and to sharing this new Zealand experience with my wife and her mum. She has some testing in the intervening period however with an attitude like hers and the support my wife gives her I'm confident she'll kick cancer's ass! She is not the fall in a heap sort of character and my wife takes after her as well. They both need a break though so I hope life can be a little more kind from here...

In case you are wondering, Aotearoa is the Maori word for new Zealand and it translates literally to land of the long white cloud.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - @galenkp

P.s. If anyone wants to hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

im srce
im srce

Sort:  

Glad she is getting on top of the cancer and that is great both of you will take her for a trip to NZ.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, she's coming good. Has down days of course but not as many now. We were almost going to go to Tassie but she had her heart set on NZ. Wants to use her passport.

Posted using Partiko Android

New Zealand should be awesome. And maybe Tas another time.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wrong chemo mix 😧 glad that managed to get sorted!

Hope you all have a fantastic holiday 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, they screwed it up royally. Never admitted they made the mistake but one of the nurses spoke to us on the side. Anyway, it worked out so October is NZ time! ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Ack 😵 suppose they would never admit to making a mistake 🙄

So glad everything’s worked out!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It sounds like an awesome trip. Your mother in law looks great, all things considering. :) I'm sure you'll have an awesome time!

Should be a nice trip.

Yeah, she looks ok now but the last six months told a different story. I think it'll be a good trip and I'm glad my wife can have this time with her mum.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a great trip to enjoy life and the company of the family! Cancer sucks but also demonstrates the strength of resilience that can be created with the help of family and support! I hope the recent breakthrough in medicine can continue to pave the way towards finding a cure and treatment! Look forward to seeing the pictures!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks mate, yeah it's a triumph that she has pulled through like she has. Not out of danger of course, but going well.

I hope my photos do NZ justice. I'm not the best photographer to be honest. I'll try though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your wife is some woman!! I don't know how she keeps going during all of this. You are lucky to have someone like this. Have a good one in New Zealand. I wa sin Queenstown . Mad place altogether.

She is pretty amazing yes, and I am fortunate to have somehow tricked her into being with me. 😋 We are looking forward to NZ and have heard it's a pretty special place.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 5.76% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75