Hello Florence, good to see you!

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

"To see the sun sink down, drowned on his pink and purple and golden floods, and overwhelm Florence with tides of colour that make all the sharp lines dim and faint and turn the solid city to a city of dreams, is a sight to stir the coldest nature." -** Mark Twain**

What a lovely way to sum up the city of Florence, Italy. Thanks Mr. Twain, much appreciated.

I love Florence, the tone and mood of the place. Of course it's beautiful and that helps also. It's vibrant yet cultured, in my opinion. The capital of the region, Tuscany, it's full of Renaissance art and architecture, highly prized and priceless masterpieces; Michelangelo's David sculpture located at the Galleria dell'Accedemia, Botticelli's The Birth of Venus in the The Uffizi Gallery and and also da Vinci’s Annunciation of course...Just a few of many amazing works. Let's not forget One of Florence's most iconic sights, the Duomo. This cathedral, with a terracotta-tiled dome was engineered by Brunelleschi. Everywhere one turns in Florence there's something beautiful, old and amazing. Speaking of beautiful, how about that blonde...

I've been to Florence a few times now and have enjoyed something different about this lovely city each time. We always meet up with a friend who lives there, a lovely lady by the name of Laura. She's a Professor of Art History. She does some part time private-guiding for a friend of hers, which is how we met, and after several visits we are now friends. We get to skip lines and get into places the average tourist would never know about, let alone see. Once such was this artisans' workshop below.

Florentine mosaics are pictures that are done with stone. Each intricate part of the whole is precisely hand cut with what looks like a bow-saw and carefully fitted into the artwork. It is amazing and we had a fascinating hour watching the man work. Believe it or not the picture on the left is made entirely out of different coloured stone, perfectly cut and fitted. Sort of like a jigsaw. Truly amazing and incredibly expensive to buy. They make all sorts of things with their work being bought by only the world's richest people. They cost incredible amounts of money.

.

After a little sightseeing it's time for a quick bite and an espresso...Always time for an espresso to be honest. We found a little place that allegedly made the best pizza in Florence. We went back three times so I would have to say that the pizza was pretty good! Best in Florence? Hmm, I haven't tried them all...Still working on that and I'll let you know when I know.

The pizza shop had one of the biggest displays of pizza I'd ever seen, and I'm a pizza guy so that saying something! I love Italian pizza. The flavours are so strong through the use of great quality toppings and products. I like how they don't overload the pizza either. Here in Australia it seems many pizza-makers go for the American style pizza with loads of cheese and toppings...I prefer the Italian style by a long way.

Here's an image of a piece we bought. To be honest it wasn't that nice but we had never seen it before, anywhere so had to try it. It's a french fry pizza! We shared this one piece and ticked that off the bucket list...Although it wasn't actually on the list until we saw it in the shop. The other ones we got were awesome though!

So, pizza eaten and coffee sipped, we headed back out into the city streets to make our way to The Palazzo Pitti and Boboli Gardens. We visit both places every time we go to Florence, the gardens because the blonde one loves gardens and gardening, and we both love the history around Florence. The Palazzo Pitti was the main residence for the Medici Family. It's full of interesting things to see. Usually there's street artists parked out the front painting and selling their work. We bought a couple of pieces which we shipped back home. I'll take some photos of them someday to show you. We spoke with the artist at length and learned a little about her life, her story. She had the most alluring Italian accent when speaking english. It was funny, she said she loved my accent (Aussie) and I said I loved hers!

If you have been to Florence you've been to the Ponte Vecchio. I mean how could a person visit Florence and not walk across the Arno on this iconic bridge? This is it in the back ground...There's that blonde again too.

It's suspected that during Roman times a bridge was initially built there and over the years it became what we see now after being destroyed in a flood a couple of times. It has many shops on the top, jewelers, art dealers and souvenir shops these days, but butchers initially apparently. These days it's crowded with tourists to the evening time but we had a chance to walk over in the late evening after an amazing meal near The Palazzo Pitti one night. It was a bit eerie, but also lovely. I cast myself back 550 hundred years to imagine what it may have been like crossing that bridge one October evening...Maybe as I strolled on by Michelangelo would have been there going the other way, on his way home, or to a wine bar.

Oh there's that blonde again. I think she likes me or something. :) We always walk a lot when we go to Florence, most places really as it's the best way to get local and to truly understand the essence of a place. There's just something special about heading into a small local market, grabbing some supplies for an impromptu picnic somewhere, a bench people-watching in Piazza della Signoria for instance or maybe Piazza Santa Croce which is where this image was taken. It's simplicity in it's most pure form I think...Cold cuts, cheese, olives, crusty bread and a coffee to finish off or maybe granita if it's warm enough. Just a spectacular way to relax in my opinion.

Like all good things visits to Florence must come to an end, but we always like to think of it as the time to start planning our next visit rather than lamenting the end of the trip.

We have started ranging out to other parts of Tuscany lately. Sienna, Volterra and San Gimignano among others and have found some amazing little spots to sight-see, eat and learn. I'll tell you about the cheese maker we met, didn't speak a word of english but was so proud of his produce and dairy...We bought a pile of it...But that's a story for another time...And then there's the monastery we visited...No tourists allowed...Laura got us in though. Amazing...

And so, finally, an image of San Gimignano in the Province of Siena. It's a lovely little place and was the last place we went before leaving the region. It wasn't sad at all though, instead it was exciting to think about this place and all the other little spots we have yet to discover the next time we spend a couple of weeks in Tuscany.

Travelling has been my friend...Travel, and the blonde one that kept following me everywhere! Hmm, actually I'm glad she did because I'd be pretty-much lost without her; My wife and fellow world-traveller. I have no idea why she tolerates me but she does which I think is a good thing. We enjoy the same things and when it comes to travel pretty much have the time of our lives.

I hope you have enjoyed this small piece on Florence. Thanks for making it all the way down here, if in fact you did.

Grazie mille.

Sort:  

Thanks for telling us how you enjoy the lovely city of Florence. Never been to Florence before, now I understand why my girlfriend would love to go there. Loving your writing style. 😎

I must say I don’t like cheese (and yes I’m Dutch!) but I’m looking forward to your story about it.

Say hi to that blonde. 👋

I must say I don’t like cheese (and yes I’m Dutch!) but I’m looking forward to your story about it.

The only Dutchman on the face of the earth who does not like cheese. You're one of a kind mate! 😁

So, Florence is very nice. I feel comfortable there. It's cultured and one can spend time looking at masterpieces of the Renaissance, eating amazing food or gelato and watch the world go by all at the same time. It's so vibrant and the surrounding areas, the Tuscan region in general. Spectacular.

You can avoid cheese if you like...Well, all except that blog I'll do on it. 😛

I might hope I'm not the only Dutchman 😅
I try to avoid it as much as possible but not always an option, like reading your blog 🤣

Gelato, yes I can imagine you would feel comfortable while eating that! Is Florence the best part of the Tuscan region or are there more gems you like?

We travelled all over and like it all. Each area has its attractions: Food, entertainment, history, scenery etc. It's all amazing. You should try and get over there.

Posted using Partiko Android

These are exquisite and alluring :-)

That's cool that you and your wife are the same sort of traveler. If you go with someone who's a different speed than you, it can be frustrating. It's nice when someone knows your rhythm is comfortable doing the same.

Florence is gorgeous. I wish I had more time to spend there the last time I went through. I did make it to a few museums, and like you, I like walking around. One of my favorite things to do is get a feel for the culture and you can't do that as easily from a car. Hopefully you get to go back soon. Maybe you'll even see Finland in the same trip. I hear there's a young girl there who's quite taken with you... and that blonde in your pictures.

Oh yeah, @smallsteps...I'm going to put her in my suitcase and bring her home to Australia the next time I'm in Finland. More fun here, no minus 40 temperatures!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @guchtere and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I live in Pistoia not far from Florence, i love this city i studied there and i still visit it with pleasure, i resteem your post because i truly love Florence and this city must be know from everyone on steemit too, Next time you come to Florence let me know!

Hi @noemilunastorta, thanks for your comment. I love the whole area...Italy in general...Hell, who am I kidding, I love Europe...OK, Ok, the whole world...As long as I'm travelling and not working! 😂

I love Firenze though. I just feel comfortable there. It doesn't feel pretentious like some other places and whilst it's busy during the day I love how it slows down later at night...I love walking around at night, the streets deserted...Gives me a different perspective.

I'll hit you up next time I'm there...

P.s. I gave you a follow after checking out your blog. Looks good. 😎

I followeed you too ^^ Yes Florence is so charming i must admit i miss my days in Florence, it's a city full of life and Art. I see you visited also San Gimignano, it is one of my favorite tuscanian city, most off all i love the wine from San Gimignano, the Vernaccia is really a good one, have you tried it?

I love the whole area and would really like to get back soon but it's a long way from Australia. It'll happen but trips to Europe are always long ones considering the time it takes to get there...Long means expensive. Shouldn't be too long before we return though...

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 51.22% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.259 which ranks you at #2647 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2644).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10