Perception readjustment: Two Aussie's travel the world

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Have you ever arrived somewhere with a preconceived idea only to have it shattered within the first few minutes? This happened to me today. OK, so maybe shattered is not exactly the right word however my perception was certainly readjusted; The neatly ordered thoughts shaken up like one of those little souvenir snow domes you buy at airport newsagents. Am I being too dramatic? Yes, quite probably. Let me explain though.

quJoeCx.jpg

We arrived today, a very warm day by English standards at 30 degrees, in the city of Oxford, Oxfordshire. As you may know the city is famed for its prestigious university which was established in the 12th century. Also, the city, and it's 38 colleges, offer some extraordinary examples of architecture. The colleges are all located in the medieval centre of the city and their magnificent buildings inspired the name City of Dreaming Spires. A lovely name I think, and very fitting.

To graduate from the Oxford University one needs to attend one of the 38 college's which are affiliated (for lack of a better word) with the University who sets the curriculum. Each college works to, and delivers, the curriculum set by the University and on completion of the examinations (at the right passing grade) one graduates with a Degree from the Oxford University. It's an interesting structure. Some of the 38 college's have only around 350 students with the largest having about 900 students. Apparently some 60 percent of them from state schools also, not just privileged private schools.

Anyway, I plan to elaborate a little on all of that and other amazing little things I learned about Oxford later on however today I need to explain why my perception of it was somewhat wrong, skewed. You see, in my mind I had a peaceful, contemplative, studious environment pictured. You know, students speaking in hushed tones, reading on the grass under a tree...people walking around dressed like students out of the Hogwarts School from the Harry Potter movies...Boy, was I wrong!

Oxford is pumping! Seriously, people everywhere, laughing, joking, having fun and generally clogging up every little bit of space available. There's a lot going on. OK, admittedly school is out for the summer so studious activity is not a priority but I wasn't quite prepared for how busy the place was. We were fortunate enough to gain access to the college of Corpus Christi one of the smallest college's and we had a little tour which was nice. Founded in 1517 it's the 12th oldest out of the 38 college's. It was quite peaceful once inside away from the throng of people and a nice respite. Once back on the street it was crazy-town again!

So, our arrival in Oxford today was a bit of a surprise, not a bad surprise, just not really what we expected. It's great though as there's no shortage of things to do by day or night in such a busy place so we are sure to have a great stay. Tomorrow we're heading to Blenheim Palace which should be pretty amazing and in only a few days now we'll be off to Finland to visit my family. I was chatting with my brother @tarazkp today and it sounds like he's got some cool things planned for our visit to Finland but to be honest just hanging out with my family will be great. I have not seen him for 12 years and have never met his wife or daughter so we are so keen to get there!

Thanks for reading and following on our journey.

Faith & Galen x

The image is the Radcliffe Camera in Oxford, taken today.

Sort:  

@galenkp I bet that's going to be emotional for you guys meeting after all that time, 12 years, thats as long as me and my wife have been together and that feels like a life time.
I don't get on with my brother, I haven't spoken to him in months, but I am here if he needs me.
Oxford is a great place to visit in the UK, and it is full of life, I don't know if you noticed but everyone seems happy there.
Not to far a way from us is Robin Hoods land, that is pretty cool to visit if you ever come back to the UK.
Any way guys I hope you are keeping well, and until your next post steem on #:D

Hey mate, thanks for taking the time to comment. We won't make it up to Nottingham this trip but we'll be back, that's for certain. We've really enjoyed our time here and learning moe about England and it's history. As avid amateur historians we have a pretty good concept of things but we'll leave the UK with so many more leads to follow.

It's difficult for me living in Australia as it's so far away from my brother and his family in Finland. We keep in contact though, but it's not the same is it? 12 years is a long time, you're right. My brother was one of my groomsmen in my wedding 25 years ago and not too long after my wedding he moved away to Northern Queensland (4,000 kilometres away from Adelaide) and then on to Finland a few years later. It all amounts to not seeing him much. I am looking forward to catching up and despite it only been a week long our stay will be valuable.

An second is enough to make a memory that lasts a lifetime my friend and you have a lot of them in a week, make sure that everyone of them count.

It's a shame that you could have not made it up this way, I could have taken some time to be your guide while you were here to show you some really cool places to visit.

There is loads to do as well as see, Maybe next time when you are this way hay?

:D

12 years? Wow... It promises to be a remarkable reunion with Taraz.

Hehehe I think the students have evolved to more comfortable education approaches that doesn't diminish their learning capacity but still leaves room for fun fun fun

Yeah, it should be good...He's rolling out the red carpet for us that's for sure...Well, maybe it's just because I'm bringing Milo and Vegemite for him.

Yes, I guess students let their hair down a little when they get a break but there were people everywhere and not just students...A busy and popular place for sure.

Where are ?

Where are ?

No, really. I want to know. Where are ?

Bwahaha... Yeah, well, the answer to that questions lies in a Davinci Code-style cryptex lying in some forgotten hiding place...With the Holy Grail. The great question of the ages...

Where are ?

I guess it makes sense that it would be busy outside if it's a nice day and there are no classes. Still, it makes sense that you would do a bit of a double take since you were expecting something different.

That's exciting that you're only a few days away from seeing your brother! I hope it's a great reunion. :)

Yeah, looking forward to seeing @tarazkp and his family. It's been a long time and I miss having family around.

Ha! I was in Oxford a few months back and I got the same impression of the place - full of life and people. I was there to see a concert, which got cancelled last minute, much to my annoyance. Despite that, I loved the experience because the town was so great...So talk about a shift in perspective, huh?
I'm glad you're enjoying yourself! :)

A pity your concert was cancelled but maybe you got to see some of Oxford’s other attractions?

I just wondered the streets, actually! There was some party going on and there was lots of excitement!

It's that sort of a place really; Wandering the streets gives a certain enjoyment here I think, vicariously through the excitement all around and also from the architectural beauty.

What a place and to find it buzzing with life is a nice surprise, must be a little different when they're back in full swing. @tarazkp must be super excited to see you guys and visa versa. Enjoy what's left of your English history lessons

You got a 28.01% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17