Reuniting with my twin: Two Aussie’s travel the world

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

The time has come to say farewell to Oxford and head to Heathrow airport. To my chagrin we’re on a bus however I felt that driving into Heathrow might be a little stressful and so opted for the bus despite not being a huge fan of public transport. It shouldn’t be too bad, we’re on a massive coach and the journey is only a couple of hours. The buses here in England have all been very clean and the public transport system reasonably easy to follow on the few occasions we’ve used it so I shouldn’t complain I guess. We said good bye to our trusty white steed yesterday when we dropped it back to Enterprise. Our Vauxhall Insignia carried us safely and with confidence throughout our England sojourn and we didn’t have any issues...Well, there was one small one I may write about at some later date when we’ve left the country. Shh... :)

So, we’re off to Heathrow and our flight to Finland which departs early on Thursday morning. We’ll be staying in an airport hotel tonight due to the early flight in the morning so tonight will be a good time for us to look back on our month in England and recall some of the amazing things we’ve done and seen; There’s been so many!

We’re heading to Finland to spend time with family, some of which I’ve never met and others that we have not seen for 12 years or more through distance and circumstances. I’m looking forward to seeing my brother @tarazkp again after so long; I’m very happy to be doing so of course, and to meeting his wife and my little niece. We’ve always gotten along so well. We’re twins you know, born on the same day in March...OK, so technically we’re not twins at all because he was born nine years after me, but it was on the same date in March as I was born and so I say we’re twins. This is my post so what I say goes! :)

Anyway, we have just over a week of vacation time left and I can’t think of a better place to spend it...With my family.

Ok, enough for now. Onward to Heathrow!

(Main image is of Blenheim Palace and second of High Street, Oxford this morning whilst waiting for our bus)

Sort:  

Oh nice. It will be great for you and @tarazkp to catch-up. I live away from my family as well and miss them quite a bit from time to time, though they are still in the same country!

Keep the travel blogs up, it's been interesting to see what you have been up to!

12 years is a long time, I have a few more greys in the hair and beard :)

Take the time when you can to see your family if you have the opportunity because as annoying as they are, there are a lot of shared experiences of value.

because as annoying as they are...

You idiot! (Live commentary from the M40, UK) :)

@scooter77 I was never really sure if doing a sort of travel-log would be interesting to others however I’ve found it interesting to do and so have persisted. I’ve had some great comments along the way though so am glad other’s have found something of value.

And it also drops it on the blockchain for future reference. Something to look back on!

only one more sleep :)

There are a lot of things we are going to try and pack in but not a lot of touristy stuff. You will be talking what @acidyo calls 'filth' (Finnish) in no time :D

I know one word as you know...I’ll try and limit its use to appropriate moments.

You guys are funny.

And what word might that be, dum dum ?

In print, it might get lost in translation, so to be clear, I'm calling you dum dum :)

Haha, no not dum dum but I’m sure I’ll be saying that a lot. Always do. Nah, it’s a Finnish word that apparently has many meanings, none of which are polite.

I've enjoyed your travel posts tremendously @galenkp; I can't believe that 2 weeks have gone by, so I can only assume you might be feeling the same way. Perhaps as an alien, time doesn't register the same with you though.

I'm so excited for you to reunite with T-dog haha That's crazy talk my friend :) Looking forward to the posts from your next leg of the journey.

Have a safe flight!

I can't believe that 2 weeks have gone by

We were actually here for 4 weeks, not 2. Didn’t go too fast for us though and we’re really happy with how we spent the time.

Just got to Heathrow and checked into the hotel. Having a nice relaxing meal here later tonight before our flight tomorrow and the Finland Festivities begin!

4 weeks @galenkp??!! Then it's either going really fast for me or I just lost two weeks somewhere! 😅

Have piles of fun in Finlandia!!!

You might be on the time zone from your home world. I do the same sometimes.

You might be on the
Time zone from your home world. I
Do the same sometimes.

                 - galenkp


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

hahaha @galenkp! That most certainly explains it!😎

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Have a great journey @galenkp . Looking forward to see your travel posts

We’ve always gotten along so well, T-dog and I

T-dog? Bwwahhah.

You are cracking me up this morning lol. Thanks.

Bye Vauxhall, bye England, hello Finland and family. Nice man, I'm exited for you guys. Looking forward to some nice posts from you guys.

You got a 32.36% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10