Writing is about body and soul

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Florence Liu is a mandarin calligraphy teacher. She learned her craft at the age of 28 and, until now, at the age of 66, she teaches her students with extreme dedication. The serious face and the sullen way are just the first impressions. Behind the silent woman, there is an amazing teacher who teaches carefully the details of Chinese calligraphy, which in itself is an art...

Self portrait (40).jpg

I met Florence in a Buddhist temple. She’s from Taiwan but was giving some classes in Penang. I went to attend one of her classes at the invitation of my friend Ang. I took my camera with me and stayed shooting her writing for a while. All the concentration and precision with the Naquin slipping on the paper were a poem. Florence does not speak much English and is rather shy. So when my friend Ang explains that I am a writer, she gives me a smile. You don’t need to understand Mandarin to know that Florence is a strong woman. It’s written in her body and shines in her soul. And after we introduce ourselves I have no doubt about her strength.

Self portrait.png

Self portrait (41).jpg

Self portrait (42).jpg

Self portrait (43).jpg

Florence told me about the barriers of learning to handwrite in China, where reading and writing were not possible for women for a while. Sitting at her desk, she points the brush at the table and explains that writing is an act of body and soul. "All your concentration needs to be at the tip of the brush," she tells me. All the risks, which give rise to each letter, have an impeccable accuracy and appear on paper with great delicacy. Some tremors, Florence explains to me, is energy and should not be interpreted as something bad. I laugh.
IMG_20180824_200455.jpg

Mandarin is spoken by sounds, so each letter represents each of them. Florence teaches me to make the sound of the so-called "basic letter" of Mandarin. As she writes, she challenges me: hold my arm and make me erase the paper. I try but I couldn't! Her body is hard as a stone, although the brush runs over the paper gently. "It takes strength to be gentle!" She tells me, laughing. She talks about calligraphy, but I also know she talks about life.

Knowing Florence Liu for me was a huge inspiration and also an honor! For her strength and her softness. Writing is an act of body and soul, writers know it. And to write, you need to have the strength to be gentle.

(Malaysia, 2018)

Steemit introducing (13).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

thank u guys!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=helgalubevi
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=writing-is-about-body-and-soul


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @helgalubevi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00