Inday Clara Travels Solo #28: From Vientiane, Laos to Bangkok, Thailand I go!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

DSCF5424.JPG

From my amazing trip in Laos, I now head to Thailand! I took a bus at the Khua Din Bus Station going to the Thanaleng Border Crossing at Dongphosy. Of course, the Xieng Khuan or the Buddha Park was nearby so I made a short trip there. Then I took another bus going back and got off at the border. I paid my fees, had my passport stamped, and got on a minibus that drove through the Thai-Lao Friendship Bridge. At the Nongkhai Customs Boundary Post, I simply fill up a form and had my passport stamped without paying anything. Arriving at an earlier time than expected, I walked going to Nong Khai Bus Station. It probably took me 30 minutes to get there.

DSCF5425.JPG

I went straight ahead to the ticketing booth and purchased a second-class Seat A/C ticket for the Express Train No. 78 which would depart at 6:15 pm that day. I still had much time before the train arrives, I headed out to have dinner at a small store across the station. I needed to buy a sim card as well for me to contact my friend in Bangkok. I ended up hiring a tuk-tuk to take me to the nearest 7/11 store so that I won't miss the train. Shout out to the nice lady at the station who watched over my backpack while I bought my simcard. P.s. I've conversed with her for awhile so I knew I could trust her.

DSCF5416.JPG

DSCF5421.JPG

DSCF5412.JPG

By 6:15 pm, the train hasn't arrived yet. I started to panic. Around 6:30 pm, Express Train No. 78 wasn't in sight. However, the Special Express Train No. 26 just came to view. I didn't have any other choice. I went back to the ticket booth and had my ticket upgraded. I paid more than I plan for. At this point, I can't complain. I'd rather enjoy a good sleep at the bus while getting to my destination than having to end up sleeping cold at the bus station.

DSCF5427.JPG

I am happy to have made the right choice. When I boarded the train, I was impressed. It was modern, spacious and very clean. I sat down and waited for the train to depart. Other passengers came in as well. A friendly old man sitting across, knew I was a Filipino, started a conversation with me. I guess we will always recognize people from our own.

A man in a uniform came in and prepared our beds. The seats were convertible. There was a charging outlet next to the seat as well. I stored my bag under the bed and dozed off immediately. I didn't even notice the many stops the train made. I was probably so tired to have slept that comfortably.

DSCF5433.JPG

The man in the uniform woke the passengers up minutes before we arrived at the Train station along Ratchaprarop Road. I looked at the window and rain was pouring outside. As soon as we arrived, I followed where people exited. People were waiting for a bus. I opted for a taxi. Good thing I found a fellow traveler to ride the taxi with me. We dropped him off at Khao San Road. I arrived at my friend's home happily for a new adventure to begin.

IMG_4051.jpg

That's it for now! This is Inday Clara. Stay tuned and Steem on!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://indayclara.vornix.blog/2018/10/06/inday-clara-travels-solo-28-from-vientiane-laos-to-bangkok-thailand-i-go/

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=indayclara
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=indayclaratravelssolo28fromvientianelaostobangkokthailandigo-bthny8orko


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #336. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Mas wow gihapon ka oe! Idol kaya tika Sir!

Mas wow gihapon ka oe! Idol kaya tika Sir!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @fordays and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

What a journey! I also like traveling by train but only during the night as I can't sleep very well because of the noise and too many people around me. Looking forward to your next travel post! Thank you for sharing!

Hi! We are @steem-ua. We upvoted you! Why? Because we noticed that you published some pretty cool posts, such as this one!
We like to support you, to help you grow on Steem. Would you like to know more about how things work on Steem(it)? Then feel free to join our steem-ua Discord Server.
Once you have joined our steem-ua Discord Server, please talk to people you see in there that have the UA Scout role. Tell them you have just joined, and like some help on how to make it big on Steemit. And they will help you!
Good luck!
Kind regards, @steem-ua
PS: Discord is a Chat Server Program, you can sign up there for free, and meet and talk to a lot of people on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28