A trekking experience in the Himalayas - Buran Ghati Trek - Part #1

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I am always dreaming about mountains, walking on the mystical trails, reaching to the top and finding something amazing at the other side of the mountain...

Have you ever dreamt of that?


My last trek to Buran Ghati was exactly like my dreams and I Was lucky enough to see whats on the other side of the mountain which I have never experienced before.
I am sharing here my trekking experience of Buran Ghati pass. It's a pretty long one and so I will be posting in two parts. 😍


20 (11).jpg


Buran Ghati - a much lesser known place, a hidden gem in the midst of the Himalayas at 9,200 ft. A very few people know about this trek but shepherds have been taking their flock to graze at Buran Ghati for many many years.
It has everything... grasslands with beautiful flora, clear rivers, snow, dense rich forest, green-carpeted meadows, and the most thrilling pass which makes it the perfect trek. This trek is physically demanding especially the last stretch.

It was one trek, which I did not plan in advance, one day came across a post on facebook and instantly booked the trek without even doing a quick search.
Never heard of this trek before, no bookings made of stay and travel, no company. I just left. Sometimes I think its the best thing to do!


The only thing I know was:

“The mountains are calling. I must go.”- John Muir


I left for Shimla a week before the trek, just wanted to relax for a while, get away from the city life , so I booked my stay at one of the most beautiful and cheap hostels in Shimla and spent a week reading books, walking around the town, drinking coffee, checking out cafes, and living in the moment. I have never stayed alone at one place for so long doing nothing. The town is very small, so nothing much to do. It rained most of the time, so I pretty much sat outside my room reading. Though I did go for short hikes around the town... I kind of enjoyed the whole week just by myself.


1 (12).jpg

The view outside my cabin, where I spent most of my day reading books, and this little guy giving me a company. :)


sssss.jpg


After a relaxing week, I met some of the trek members a day before we were to leave for our journey. We met for dinner and since I knew all the best cafes and restaurants by now, everyone left it to me and they were not disappointed.


4.1 (1).jpg

I ate so much after a week, It was one of the best cheesecake I ever had


They welcomed me into their group and it did not feel like I was traveling alone anymore.

Next day early morning we started for a very tiring 9-10 hours journey from Shimla. I was traveling with other members of the group in the jeep who are a bunch of crazy Game of thrones fans and someone asked me from the group:

Who is your fav?

‘No one. Haven't seen Game of Thrones..’

Whaaattttttt???? I think all eyes were on me- like I belonged to a different planet...

No really, I am not a fan of violent movies/ series...and everybody started telling me how it is more than just violence, how it is one of the greatest show..etc etc..

Seriously if I had internet, I would have seen all the episodes there only in one go just to make them quiet.

I pretended to sleep for the rest of my journey. No more Jon snow and no more discussions on who deserves the throne...I simply didn't care!!!


5 (11).jpg


And we reached passing through rice paddies, forests, dirt tracks, the gorgeous blue Pabbar river, and pretty villages to Diude . the last two hours was a bumpy ride due to shabby road conditions.
From Diude it was 2 hours uphill walk to our base camp, Janglik at altitude 2,804 m. It was a difficult short climb after a long ride but the route was so captivating and I was excited for the journey that I didn't feel tired at all.


6 (12).jpg


7 (13).jpg


Janglik has few wooden houses, and after having our dinner we rested in one of them. By now I have become an expert in folding and sleeping inside a bag. So slept like a baby all through the night.


4.1.jpg

At Janglik


Next day we left for Dayara, which was around 5-6 hours journey from Janglik climbing from 2,804 m to 3,376 m.

5 (12).jpg


I forgot to mention, it was a big group of around 20 and I was not really excited about it, I love the silence on the mountains, and on this trek there were people everywhere, talking loudly, clicking pictures...anyways this was just the beginning!

I decided to walk alone... it was an easy walk into the forest, and I found something...


10 (13).jpg


Wild strawberry...Woah ...never seen one like this..since I was pretty fast from rest of the group, and had the luxury of time and so picked up a good amount of strawberries on my way and ate some too.

38482114_2514342375242874_8970644685005520896_n.jpg


Rest I shared with the group. It was the common love for food that I and Kartik became friends. We shared some of our recipes, our travel adventures, and enjoyed strawberries together.

14 (12).jpg

Karthik and Me


It was like walking in a park with few hours of ascent but a well-defined trail and such magnificent meadows and pine tree forest. I want to settle here!


11 (7).jpg


18 (12).jpg


15 (9).jpg


19 (9).jpg


Walking through the meadows, horses running around, it was one of the most beautiful scenes, and soon I was climbing the hills. its a sudden change of scenery from meadows to suddenly walking on the cliff and into a think dense forest that made this trek so amazing.


8.1.jpg


Finally! There it is, our base camp

33 (6).jpg


We reached our campsite at Dayara around midday and had our lunch. It was time for exploring Dayara meadows. One cannot stop admiring the mountain range which keeps hiding behind the dense layer of fog. ‘Now I really want to live here forever!’


29 (4).jpg


It was a picture perfect view from the campsite. the vast green meadows looked like a fairyland. All the groups quickly settled in their tents and I shared my tent with two other girls who were traveling solo just like me.


18 (11).jpg


13 (9).jpg


12 (13).jpg


It was time to wander around, I left with Karthik and Gayatri (my tent partner) for a walk uphill taking pictures, but soon we were running down as the weather suddenly got bad. It suddenly became very cold and started raining, with no other choice we were once again in our tents.


28 (6).jpg


There was no way we could have slept through that thunderstorm with snakes, and mountain lizards in the grass. There were hundreds of insects in our tent, and it took hours to get rid of them.
Soon I realized

"I have a comfortable bed and a home with no insects or lizards’’ and that's the reason I don't live here!!!


Time for playing cards and some local drinks which the guys picked while coming from Shimla. It was fun, we played till the wee hours while everyone slept.
We were to leave for Litham the next day, but due to heavy rainfall all night and morning it was decided to camp for another day.
While everyone cribbing, I was happy - I would get some sleep, will be able to go uphill again and enjoy the meadows one more day... :)


24 (5).jpg

Aaron posing with the horse


The rain did eventually stop (for a while) and I went on walking on the hill which was a thrilling experience itself due to the wet and slippery surface.
During our two day stay at Dayara, I never once saw the clear sky.it just made the whole place more magical.
It started raining again at night ..and now I was worried...
If it doesn't stop, we might have to go back because we need to cross a river to reach next campsite.- Karthik informed
I don't want another uncompleted trek.

And luckily it stopped after a while. It was a calm peaceful night...


“The way up to the top of the mountain is always longer than you think. Don’t fool yourself, the moment will arrive when what seemed so near is still very far.” — Paulo Coelho


Buran Ghati Map Source



803866286.jpg


Oh by the way..as soon as I reached back home- I checked out Game of Thrones series and did see in one go...

4 days and finished ...loved it totally and now anxiously waiting for the last season!!!



I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

Content by @itravelarts
Photos by Karthik, Aaron and itravelarts.

Love. Swati ❤️

iTravelArts

Sort:  

5 (12).jpg

The best thing about trekking is not how it lets you see the beauty of the world, but how it brings people closer together and connects them on a level which is inseparable.

You guys look so amazing in that photo. It's like a big happy family. It's funny how these "distances" can actually bring you close to people you love.

It was an amazing time, and its one of the perks and sad part of travelling, you connect with so many amazing people and hardly see them again!

One more gem in you wallet. Informative write up and lovely pictures. I have never been in Buran valley. Saturated green telling me you were there in monsoons. You want to settle in that hut but mountain lovers mind always there.
Soon I have to go there. Do you know this range connects to Great Himalayan National Park and It has more than 15 mountains passes. If weather permits one can easily identify Shrikhand Mahadev and many other peaks. Also Shimla's highest peak situated in this range, I don't know the name of the peak yet but It is almost 5000 meters high. Last thing Dhauladhar mountain range is the gateway of Kinnaur from Uttrakhand and Himachal pradesh. Well looking forward to jump there soon. Thanks for making the insect live in me. More power to you.

Thank you so much. 🖤. yup. we did go in monsoons and heard it more gorgeous before winters. I think you are talking about Hatu Peak- which is approx 5000 meters..Correct me if I am wrong. Hope you could go thr soon.. It's beautiful. I am still dreaming of Stok Kangri..One day...

No no Hatu is around 3200 m, That's some other peak situated on tri mountain range "Unnamed peak". Stok is good challenge. You can attempt Stok in September, sep is best time to visit Stok.

Oh.. I am not aware of it... I don't think I am ready for stok yet..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmm take your time, prepared yourself and hit the button. Stok demands stamina and check ourselves somewhere from deep inside.

What an incredible adventure! I laughed so hard about the game of thrones! Although then you did go see it, but still...It's like, surely you did not come to the ends of the earth to talk about television crazy people!

Travelling in big groups can be hit or miss. Often we like traveling just as a couple or with a very small group, to hear the sounds of the Mother Earth and nature. This place looks incredible, some very similar sights to our Nevado de Ruiz in Colombia.

You did very well with this article, I wish you many more adventures in your life, and do remember to take pictures and share them here with us ;p

I know..right! But meeting new people definitely enrich your wisdom, even if it is about television.. :)
I am so glad you stopped by and left such a beautiful comment...It made my day.. :)
Have you been to Nevado del Ruiz in Colombia, would love to hear more about it.
Thank you
Check out the next part of the journey Part #2 Hope you will like it
Much love and power ❤️

I have been to Nevado del Ruiz, a few years back, but I would like to plan another trip with a camera, and my steem article in mind! Last time (the first time) it was more about the experience, we never even considered being bloggers back then.

We only live two townships over, a little further down the mountain, we live in the cloud forests, about 1.1 mile above sea level.

Going to check out your new article now!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you.Finally, i got an upvote and not a partial one ..:) Super happy..
🖤

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itravelarts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-trekking-experience-in-the-himalayas-worth-every-penny-buran-ghati-trek


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Frim architechtural beauty of venice to nature paradise himalaya and that too to a unknown and uncommon place for trekking... Seems you are a trekking freak 👍 ...carry on....👌

Thank you so much...:) 🖤 not a trekking freak, but a mountain freak for sure!

Beautiful place!

Thank you 🖤

Wonderful places, the right destination for adventure !!!
I dream of places like this, too, but in my dreams I'm floating,
flying single-handedly, I guess my dream will be harder to come true.... :-)

thank you for stopping by! 🖤 maybe paragliding or skydiving.. I am sure you will be able to fulfill your dream one day...
skydiving is still at the top of my to-do list..

I really like your positivity !!!
It's a pleasure reading your posts, every time....

Gorgeous pictures from the trek! Must have been a mesmerising experience <3

Thank you Aishwarya <3 Love


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84