Auroville - Experimental township |A must Vist| ❤️

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

In Love with this town


I have heard people say how one single trip to Auroville has changed their lives and I have always wondered what that means.
Well, I am nowhere close to the experience these people had but I think I understand a bit now why they feel so.
It's been more than 7 years that I have been planning to spend some quality time in Auroville, to experience the spirit of the place but this year I ended up going for a day trip during Christmas and new year holidays, which was a complete injustice to this beautiful place.
It wasn't as crowded as Bangalore or any other metro cities even during New years celebration time - but if I were to come at any other time of the year, the whole Auroville would have felt like walking inside a forest- quiet, relaxing, calm and on a spiritual journey.


17 (1).jpg


Auroville is located in south India and is approx 6 hours drive from Bangalore.

A little bit about the place:

It's a universal township with a philosophy where people from every country can live together peacefully and in progressive harmony. The focus is on unity, sustainable living, environmental and spiritual needs.
The concept of Auroville is an ideal community devoted to an experiment in human unity and transformation of consciousness.


00.jpg


01.jpg


14.jpg


Auroville wants to be a universal town where men and women of all countries can live in peace and progressive harmony, above all creeds, all politics and all nationalities. The purpose of Auroville is to realize human unity — Mirra Alfassa- known as "the Mother"


City plan

city_diagram.gif

(Source)[https://www.auroville.org/contents/95]

Early morning in Auroville:

You can feel the fresh air as soon as you enter the city and its quite common to meet and get a friendly pat as a blessing from the majestic elephant, though it was quite an experience for my husband being so close to one.
Another common sight is Kolam making which is a feast for the eyes with the vibrant colours- though I didn't get a chance to capture the vibrant colours.


8 (2).jpg


Kolam making - or the mandalas is an age old customary practice especially in South India which brings good luck and cosmic energy into their homes and one can see energetic women making this art early in the morning in front of their houses and sometimes decorating them with flowers.

Check out the video to see my morning tour in Auroville


At the heart of the city is the Matrimandir, and the area is devoted to meditation and unity called as Peace area.
Other areas in Auroville are dedicated to culture, organic farming, artistic work, forest etc.


16 (1).jpg


11 (1).jpg


12 (1).jpg


Matrimandir: The idea of Matrimandir was conceived by Alfassa 'The Mother' as "a symbol of the Divine's answer to man's aspiration for perfection" equipped with a solar power plant and garden around.
One of the most beautiful architectures I have seen which talks about the philosophy of Aurovillian.I have enjoyed my time walking around the Matrimandir, what a beautiful space and such calmness.


13 (1).jpg


Streets:

The streets were full of tourists and locals but I loved looking at the colours and design - and the whole vibe of the place. If only I had more time, I would have spent time going for some meditation sessions and checking out some local crafts and arts.


24 (1).jpg


18 (1).jpg


20 (1).jpg


Cafes:

There are many cafes serving organic food with an atmosphere ideal for relaxing or probably reading. For me, places like these give me a lot to think about, especially about today's lifestyle, when everything, everyone is just running towards something.
Even though I didn't have much time to check out all the amazing cafes here, also because most of them close by 5.30 pm, but I was able to visit the two most famous ones:


Tantos- an open restaurant known for its wood oven pizza and desserts


32 (1).jpg


33.jpg


Auroville bakery and cafe- known for fresh bread and organic food.


22 (2).jpg


23 (1).jpg


Breakfast at our stay home- a simple pillared stay home- Sun Farm House - the host was terrific and we had the best homemade breakfast in ages. Upma with Coconut Chutney, Ragi (Millet) bread with homemade plum jam.


33 (1).jpg


Stay at Sunfarm house:


00001.jpg


00023.jpg


00044.jpg


❤️I left a little piece of my heart there, and one day I will go back.❤️


I have come back wanting for more- it felt like a teaser and believe me the worst time to visit Auroville would be New year. The whole feel of the place is gone, the quiet lanes during any other time were now filled with tourists and hawkers.
It's a place to relax, meditate, to be with nature, to soak in the Aurovillian culture, to find a quiet little corner and read a book, to enjoy the fresh organic food cooked with love and to just live a little doing what you love.


I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

All content and photos (otherwise stated) are by @itravelarts

Love. Swati ❤️

Sort:  

We just saw this on a documentary on Netflix! You made it look even more amazing!

What was that documentary, do you recall?
Thank you for stoppig by and your kind words..
Hugs.

I had to look it up, but it was a buzzfeed show on netflix called follow this!

Looks like a very peaceful and relaxing town. It's my first time reading about it. When I saw the title, I thought it's a place in France. :)

Auroville-the city of dawn has its origins in the French language, "aurore"- dawn and "ville- city. infact many people from France have settled there - if I am not wrong 1/3 population in Auroville is French.
And it is peaceful and very relaxing, there are many meditation centers around. love the vibes over tehre. I wish you could visit the place sometime.
Where are you from?

I hope so too. :) I was born in China, living in Belgium now.
xx Donica

Great article. Followed you. waiting for new ones :)

It's also in my list to go there and stay and learn. Your one day experience has reminded me of that again :)

hey, how you doing??
you must, its an amazing place for an artist. I wish to go soon back there.
Love and hugs

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @guchtere and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you @travelfeed and @guchtere
Love and hugs

Congratulations @itravelarts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itravelarts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=auroville-experimental-township-or-a-must-vist-or


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Howdy itravelarts! wow, I've never seen anything like that but what an amazing philosophy for a town to have or a community. I agree, you must go back and explore it more! lol. What a wonderful and refreshing get away place!

hey, Thanks for stopping by. I too have never been to a place like this before- of course Himalayas are meditative but a community with a thought like this is rare and impressive. I would definitely love to go back and explore more.
Love and hugs.

howdy there itravelarts! I sure hope you get a chance to do that, it;s such an unusual place!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #407 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78