Living my dream - A trekking experience in the Himalayas - Buran Ghati Trek - Part #2

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

The more I travel, the more I want it.

It didn't matter anymore who my company is, I just loved being in the mountains.


🖤


Let's go. Let's go guys!!! I was jumping with excitement

It was still cold due to rains from the previous day.


This is the second part of my, 'Trekking experience in the Himalayas -Buran Ghati Trek' In my last blog, I reached Dayara with my other team members and had to stay a day more due to heavy rain. So you can understand why I am so excited to leave. You can check out my first post here. Part #1


1 (13).jpg

Campsite at Dayara


15 (10).jpg


Dayara to Litham- from 3,376 m to 3,577 m

Everyone woke up at 5.30 in the morning and was ready by 7. Excited to leave after two days spending at this campsite.

6 (14).jpg


The journey from Dayara took us through dense pine forests, streams and hills.

Time for group Selfie


5 (15).jpg


Meet my new friend

7 (14).jpg


11 (8).jpg


4 (14).jpg


One can see the snow peaked mountains after passing through the forest and crossing the overflowing stream. The heavy rainfall caused the streams to swell so much that everyone formed a human train by holding hands to pass. It took me back to my kindergarten days.. ;)


30 (6).jpg


We all walked at our own speed, in groups or pair, I preferred walking alone. Nothing like nature to help you connect with yourself. It always feels good to hear the sounds of the river flowing close by, call of the birds, I tried many times to locate the birds, have a glimpse and maybe click a picture or two, but the trail was steep and risky and it was important to focus on the path and keep one foot after the other.
But still I was able to capture a himalyan Vulture.


DSCN9904 (1) (1).jpg


12 (14).jpg


I personally did not find the hike exhausting, but the group was continuously taking breaks and it is important to stay close when in a group. But once we cleared the mountain fold it was a clear view of Litham campsite and we were able to go at our own pace.


38501193_2516585645018547_7199308517533024256_n.jpg


The path to the base camp is with multiple ups and downs and stream crossings, but the trail becomes gradual again as it nears the end.


Look what I found.. No idea what this is...


10 (15).jpg


13 (10).jpg


4 hours of hiking and we were already at our camp.

That's it for today????.. I have just started to feel the climb...


Anyways...
After having tea and some dry fruits we planned to do a hike to Chandranahan lake.
Altitude: 11,737 ft (3,577 m) to 13,900 ft (4,237 m) and coming back
Since it was a steep ascent and 7-8 hours of hiking, so most of the trek members decided to stay back and enjoy the view and relax.


33 (5).jpg


With a small daypack, I and a few others left for the lake. It was a quick gain in the altitude with an uphill trail. Now it feels like a climb. I was breathing heavily and could feel the pressure. There was no place to take a break, in between the boulders and shepherds trail, one had to keep moving.


26 (5).jpg


25 (8).jpg


24 (6).jpg


38 (1).jpg


It was a continuous ascent for 2 hours to a ridge top and we reached the waterfall, marked by stones left by travelers. I too left one. :)


25 (9).jpg


This was a much-needed break, and I think I spent an hour here, just looking at the huge mountains, waterfall and the fog covering the place. This is way better than my dream.

It looked like an easy flat walk from here to the Lake, which was another 1-1.5 hours.

You have to go barefoot! our trek leader informed
You kidding me

But for religious beliefs, we had to go without our shoes!!

ON THIS PATH???? No way


27 (7).jpg


But I did it! :)


23 (10).jpg


28 (7).jpg


God! This is more difficult than the ascent we just did!!!
With big boulders and rocks everywhere, it wasn't an easy path to walk on. It wasn't tiring but my feet were hurting badly.

I don't want to go any further. Saying every 10 mins and still kept walking. Well, I want to see the lake.

How would the lake look up close? I can't turn back now!! Can I?

Afterall it was the origin of the Pabbar river we have been seeing on our way. The lake not just lies in the perfect setting but is also mysterious according to the locals who would tell you all the legends connected to it.
Was it worth it...Oh yes, every single effort made, every time my feets cried and cursed me, it was all worth it. I would do it all over again. It's a small lake nestled in between the snow-peaked mountains and snow everywhere around it. so beautiful, pristine, clear blue and so damn cold...Yes, I walked on it, trying to be a little adventurous, we had our share of fun...!


29 (5).jpg


We were now super hungry after a long hike and all other activities. We missed our lunch, but I was carrying some cookies, so survived.


31 (4).jpg


And we left, back to our campsite It was a steep descent but it didn't take much time for us to reach back, and we were rewarded with tea and noodles. There is nothing better than tea and Maggie on mountains. LOVE
We spent some time by the stream singing and relaxing our muscles in the cold water.
I was beyond happy for how the whole day went.


18 (13).jpg


Litham looked absolutely gorgeous with golden light from behind the mighty mountains.

17 (9).jpg


20 (12).jpg


14 (14).jpg


21 (11).jpg


Litham to Dhunda- from 4,237 m to 4,074 m

It's a well-marked shepherds’ trail. 2 hours walking on the trail took us to the ridge of the Dhunda mountain from where it was a steep ascent climb for another 2-3 hours.


34(1).jpg


37 (3).jpg


39 (1).jpg


23 (9).jpg


Every time I looked up there was something new to look at.
After a tiring day, we reached Dhunda camp and was surprised to see the first glimpse of Buran Ghati. Oh, It was magnificent. It gives a 360-degree view of the mountain range and the pass.


11 (6).jpg


41 (2).jpg


We met few shepherds and women who came all this way to collect fodder. Really? This far? But we all were happy to see them, and seeing us all tired and sweaty, they offered some snacks, and we happily ate it all. We later posed and danced with them,. What a beautiful day, and such beautiful souls.


40 (2).jpg


35 (3).jpg


36 (2).jpg


“Wherever we travel to, the wonderful people we meet become our family.” ― Lailah Gifty Akita


I would be posting soon for the next and last part of my journey- Part #3



I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

Content by @itravelarts
Photos by Karthik, Aaron and itravelarts.

Love. Swati ❤️

iTravelArts

Sort:  

Oh!!! Now i am a bit jealous of you!!

haha...come to this side, and we can go hiking

So beautiful, what an amazing experience!

Thank you for stopping by.. It was indeed an amazing time spent in the hills

Posted using Partiko Android

How wonderful. I can't imagine hiking at that altitude. I guess you become accustomed to it pretty quickly. It is definitely worth experience as we can see from your pictures.

thank you for stopping by. its a bug, once you start traveling, you can't think of anything else..
It was a wonderful experience, no matter how many times I have been to the mountains, I am always excited , surprised to the see the beauty and comes back with an amazing experience.

I can totally understand that. I REALLY want to travel even if it's just to check out a new area. Keep up the great work and looking forward to more of your adventures.

Thank you for your inspiring and kind words. <3

You are most welcome :)

How did I miss this?! This is so damn beautiful.. Plus, your photography skills are on point haha :D

Posting daily has its own downside.. How have you been doing...i really like your content, it's so relatable... Keep posting. Love

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you :) I try to keep it as entertaining yet informative as possible.

Yup, posting daily can be a wasted effort if you don't have consistent curation on your posts. Fortunately, your posts are just so awesome that they don't go unnoticed <3

yup,I feel pretty lucky to be noticed by big communities in an early stage.. <3

Awesome post as always. I love your pictures and write-ups.
Your fungi is called an earth ball - looks a lot like a puffball on the outside, but dirty on the inside. Still pretty cool things.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scleroderma_citrinum

Scleroderma citrinum
Scleroderma citrinum, commonly known as the common earthball, pigskin poison puffball, or common earth ball, is the most common species of earthball in the UK and occurs widely in woods, heathland and in short grass from autumn to winter.
Scleroderma citrinum has two synonyms, Scleroderma aurantium (Vaill.) and Scleroderma vulgare Horn.Earthballs are superficially similar to, and considered look-alikes of, the edible puffball, but whereas the puffball has a single opening on top through which the spores are dispersed, the earthball just breaks up to release the spores. Moreover, Scleroderma citrinum has much firmer flesh and a dark gleba (interior) much earlier in development than puffballs. Scleroderma citrinum has no stem but is attached to the soil by mycelial cords.

wow..super cool...Thank you so much, really, for sharing this. Really appreciate it.. I saw this for the first time, even being so many times in the mountains. It's pretty cool, how everytime you could discover something new. <3

A great thing about a platform like Steemit - there's likely to be someone who knows the answer to your question. :-)

I only saw my first earth ball a couple years ago in the mountains of NE Washington. Because of my mushrooming experience and looking through my mother's guide books numerous times, I knew what I saw immediately. I've also seen an old puffball that looks similar-ish, but it still "puffs" out spores whereas the earth ball is just so entirely different. Fungi are cool.

So true. I have never seen a big community like steemit of such great talent. Everyday thr is something new, from all areas. I am so glad to know you, it has somehow inspired me to know more about Fungi. And next time whenever I will come across while traveling, I will remember you for sure - Fungi expert for me. love

No expert, just experienced enough to know which questions to ask. :-)

howdy from Texas @itravelarts! This is an amazing post. I have never seen so many stunning photos in one post! excellent job!

hey, @janton thank you so much for stopping by. and for such a beautiful comment. Much love and power to you <3

howdy this fine Thursday @itravelarts! you are very welcome Ma'am, from what I can see you and your travels are made for this platform!

This is so gorgeous! I loved the photos. It makes me want to hike and be connected with nature. I'm excited for the next part, @itravelarts!

I am really happy to read that..glad that it inspired you to be out and be one with nature..

Posted using Partiko Android

What a pleasure it is to travel with you! With all of these pictures, I feel as though I am really living the experience, your photo documentary of this experience and your commentary is making me smile!

My feet are tired now too, but I eagerly await part 3!

This is one of the best thing I have heard so far, I am glad that this post takes you with me on this journey.. Exactly what a blogger would want..thank you..this really made my day.. And motivated me to write more.. Love and power to you

Posted using Partiko Android

Just checked for your part 3, and it has already been curied!! Fantastic ;p Going to move it over on my tabs to make sure I take the time to read it later :)

Love and Light! (and Power too!)

Thank you.. such encouraging words really made my day.Love and hugs

It's a big long one! Plus ice scares me....

Hahaha.. It is..

Posted using Partiko Android

What an adventure! Great job on your photos and writing. I feel like I'm there experiencing the adventure with you, although I'm sure it was much, much better in real life. #travelgoals hahah

Keep up the great work

thank you so much for your kind encouraging words.love

Wow! That's one heck of a trip you are taking! I love the stunning photos! Be safe!

Thank you so very much.. Happy to connect with you. Love

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you dear..Much love and power

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82