Taking a Walk on the Ice Side - Trekking in the Himalayas - Buran Ghati Trek - Part #3

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Are you afraid of doing something? and still, love doing it?

Does it make sense??

Well, this is my story and my fear of walking on ice.


18 (14).jpg


Taking a Walk on the Ice Side


It was a gorgeous morning. I was standing with a cup of hot tea looking at the mountains when my guide said- its gonna be an amazing day, we will be walking on ice today.

6 (15).jpg

Oh, No...no.no.no..No walking on ice.

I was already nervous... I have done this walking on the ice thing before and was badly hurt...I can't do this...

I was dreading for this day since we started. I knew we had to since the beginning but was hoping it would melt by some Gods grace, or it wouldn't be hard this time!

You are strong. Its gonna be like a walk in the park for you- Guide said
After some convincing - I felt better!!!!

Let's do it!!!


The idea was to cross the pass and reach the campsite before sunset.

Dhunda to River camp via Buran Ghati

From 4,074 m to 3,597 via Buran Ghati (4,572 m)

Hiking from Dhudna to the Buran Ghati Pass- 1 hour steep ascend


4 (15).jpg


5 (16).jpg


1 (14).jpg


An hour and half of hiking in the fog, a very tough, steep and strenuous climb brought us to the most picturesque tip of the Buran Ghati pass. It is a narrow ledge on the top. Absolutely breathtaking, and cold. The wind was harsh and suddenly the temperature dropped down to Minus. From sweating, we suddenly were in need of more layers.


8 (13).jpg


I am fast on my foot, so Reached early and I was able to get a video of the stunning view without anyone around. Though it's not the best video my hands were shaking and freezing. Here is the video:



7 (15).jpg


17 (10).jpg


9 (9).jpg


Customary Group Picture

9 (10).jpg


It was difficult to stand on the ridge as the wind started hitting hard on the face. But the descent down was not easy and required the whole team to go together. It was a risky place to be with stone falling from above. We reluctantly began our rocky descent.


10 (16).jpg


30 (7).jpg


Walking on ice. This is one thing I hate more than anything.

No seriously, even with just sitting and sliding I will get hurt.

Everyone was having fun, playing on ice while I was trying to maintain my balance but still fell down several times.

I think it was more because of being nervous about walking on it, that I made more mistakes...But I couldn't help it.


I looked up...wow..I loved the whole setting, it was gorgeous. I was in the middle of the glacier, snow peaked mountains around, it was nothing short of amazing.❤️


18 (15).jpg


But why can't I walk?

The guide kept telling me- walk like a penguin, walk like a penguin...

I wanted to scream I am human dammit! I don't know how to walk like a penguin....???? Just get me out of here!!!! But I didn't.

I know, I know ...He was just trying to help, and he was probably right!!

But I was tired and frustrated because of falling, and not being able to cross, while everyone has already reached to the other end and started having their packed lunch.

To calm myself I reached for my water bottle and BAM!!! I fell again!!!!!! And this time pretty hard on my left hand.

NOW I QUIT...


19 (10).jpg


But soon came to my senses and realized I am in the middle and even to go back I had to cross the same ice floor.

REALITY CHECK- no helicopter is coming to rescue me!!!!

Haha..ok I was overthinking..but I needed to weigh all my options.

During this entire walk, I sweetly cursed myself several times for coming here...


“No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.” ― Gautama Buddha


33 (7).jpg


So with no other choice, I walked, constantly thinking – I can't miss my lunch...some motivation was much needed. Finally, with all the help and multiple falls, I crossed it and was there in just 10 minutes.. woohoo...


34 (4).jpg


20 (13).jpg


Can I have my food now?

After a full belly, I was back to being a happy trekker!


13 (11).jpg


While for everyone else it was like a walk in the park, but I must admit it was challenging and tiring for me. My legs were still shaking but the reward was great! No Regrets!


21 (12).jpg


It’s time to continue the journey through the meadows and to the last campsite at Barua Village. It has been 6 to 7 hours since we left our last camp and we had another 4-5 hour of walking left.

The view of the valley in front was lush green as far as the eye can see.


22 (11).jpg


24 (7).jpg


It was an easy walk, we walked slowly, at our pace, enjoying this time..and reached before sunset. :)


28 (8).jpg


One of our trekkers got badly hurt, he fell down an hour before reaching the campsite. We helped him in tucking inside his sleeping bag, gave some pain relief and was hoping for him to get better as we had another 6 hours of walking for the next day.


River camp to Barua village

From 11,800 ft (3,597 m) to 6,700 ft (2,042 m)


That mixed feeling of going back when you don't want to leave the amazing place but you also desperately need a shower and bed with pillows.

I was slow today may be because this felt like home and I didn't want to leave, or maybe I was just tired. Anyways everyone left, except me, one of the guides, my tent partner and the guy (Vinay) who was hurt.


DSCN0126 (1).JPG


His knee was hurt and he needed help. It was an easy descend but we had a long way to go.

We helped Vinay in getting down, especially whenever there was a climbing involved, and encouraged him to keep going.


DSCN9911.JPG


The trail is full of surprising changes in scenery that makes it an absolute delight.

We took 8 hours Reaching Barua village and from there another 10 hours to Shimla by jeep which was extremely tiring.

Shimla welcomed us with showers- or it just couldn't bear our stink...


39 (2).jpg


It was now time to treat ourselves and gain back all the calories lost during the trek.


37 (4).jpg


36 (4).jpg


We were already missing the trek and everyone, the moment we bid adieu to each other.



This is the last part of Trekking In The Himalayas- Buran Ghati Trek- You can check out my other two blogs on the same here...

A trekking experience in the Himalayas Part #1

Living my dream-Part #2


I hope you enjoyed reading my post and I am grateful for every Upvote, Resteem, and Comment. Until next time! 😍

Content by @itravelarts
Photos by Karthik, Aaron and itravelarts.

Love. Swati ❤️

iTravelArts

Sort:  

With a cup of tea and having that view???Paradise on earth

it was indeed a paradise on Earth.. How have you been doing my friend?

Here i can not go hiking.... But the weather is +40 daytime!!!!!!!

What a trail! I understand why it was tiring for you. Being afraid takes a lot of your energy too! But you overcame your fear and managed to walk over ice! Well done girl! Good that you all made it safely back!

thank you for stopping by..sometimes its just the fear of doing something that stops you.. thank you . Love <3

Exactly! Me and my husband got a voucher for a tandem jump last Christmas. We were soooo scared in the beginning! This year we didn't manage due to my health issues but we will go next year. I can't wait already! We are going to jump from 4000 meters above the ground!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the Travel Digest #288.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Congratulations @itravelarts! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=itravelarts
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=taking-a-walk-on-the-ice-side-trekking-in-the-himalayas-buran-ghati-trek-part-3


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

really nice adventure story @itravelarts ..somewhere in the middle of this post (with the dog picture), I thought I was reading a dog's perspective about trekking on the ice.. Sorry, it just too funny for me, LOL. it must be hard walking on the ice, right? but after several bumps.. I can see how happy you are and the groups... congratulations!

That was some trip. Kudos on getting through your fear. That's a major thing. I don't think I would have wanted to leave either. It look so peaceful and serene.

I so enjoy your sense of humor, your dedication and bravery, and the poise with which you now share such an adventure with us.

We ourselves must walk the path

I am happy that you have shared your path with us here on Steem, these icy travails do frighten me a bit, maybe with spikes on your shoes I would feel a little better. But in the end you made it safely home, and for that I am grateful.

For now we can wait and hope with eager anticipation the next adventure from itravelarts ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73