My travel adventure in Fa Tzang Temple

in #travelfeed6 years ago

The Fa Tzang Chinese Temple

temple4_edited.jpg

Fa Tzang Temple is located in Brgy. Villamonte along shopping area in Bacolod City Negros Occidental. To be honest Iv'e known this chinese temple since I was a kid and I don't have any idea that this temple is open for public viewing. For the past 31 years of being a citizen of Bacolod. How I wasn't able to explore this wonderful place and gather some information about chinese culture. But when I tried to collect some ideas in web about this place , it seems no enough information from the community. Mostly are photographs and no additional context was added to their post. I am so glad that I will be the one that can provide certain information though it is more on my personal impressions. I am not sure if there is a tour guide inside or someone can aswer your questions about the place. Because during my visit yesterday there are no incharge or someone that I can talk about the place only the two security guards are available

Before entering the temple I asked the guard if what are those available sections or part of the temple which I can visit. Because I know some of the rules before entering the sacred places, it is not advisable to do if you are not familiar with their culture. I only learned some things about chinese / taoist / hindu temple ettiqutte when I started watching videos about vlogs that talks about culture presentations from different countries. But the sad thing during my visit the guards really don't know about my questions. So as sign of respect to the temple I decided not to go inside and take only pictures from the open door. I know that you should ask permission from the monk before entering the room where the Goden budhha of the temple is displayed.

temple.JPG

Same with the indian culture like the totempole that are standing in front of every indian houses. Chinese temple is also guided by lion structures to protect the place from negative elements. As far as I can remember when my friend told me who is a filipino-chinese that lion is a son of the Dragon and it is a guardian of doors. There are two sets of lion sitting in both side of the temple that serves as watchers one is male and other one is female. The lion is the protector of its community and people can speak their prayers to ask for protections.

temple14.jpg

Fa Tzang Bridge is located left beside the temple with approximate length of seven meters and three meters wide. The bridge is an access going to the Lumbini Park with approximate land area of 700 square meters. The Lumbini garden is well maintained from lanscape, trimmed lawn, clean sorroundings, no presence of flying insects like mosquitoes, and plants are growing bountifully.

IMG_20181008_162529.jpg

There is a shed at the middle of the garden with similar design to the temple from color, details, and styles. If you come closer and look up to the ceiling you can see the images of God's. Which I am not familiar with, I know some God's in Hindu like Brahma the creator, Vishnu the preserver and Shiva the destroyer. But in Chinese I am only familiar with Buddha and some of the emperor from different dynasty.

temple10.jpg

temple9.jpg

temple16.jpg

temple15.jpg

As I really want to feed myself with information sometimes we need to refrain ourselves from exploring beyond boarders. Due to in availability of source that can provide answers to our questions. Because there are some scope that we can't handle and out of our privilege. Instead we choose to use our senses to create our own ideas and explain things on how our mind classify the information's we collected.

IMG_20181008_163345.jpg

IMG_20181008_163332.jpg

IMG_20181008_162548.jpg

IMG_20181008_163848.jpg

Let me share to you a little story about Chinese community in Bacolod!
The established relationship of Bacolodnon's and Chinese community in Bacolod has been proved many decades ago. Where most of the business that was built in the city are mostly owned by Chinese. From small enterprise , middle segment target and high-rise infrastructures. Chinese are the major stockholders and their business have big contribution to the success of every Bacolodnon's.
Because of that strong relationship between two parties there is a festival during Chinese New year celebrated on the month of February " The Bacolaodiat Festival "
Where Chinese and Filipino people are celebrating together for prosperity, unity and harmony. Where the lyrics of the Bacolaodiat song goes this way " Mag palanggaanay! Mag Binuliganay ! Toto Inday, Kiong Hee Huat Tsai, Means Chinese and Filipino should love each other, help one another "Then men and women will celebrate a Happy new year.
IMG_20181008_164026.jpg

All the images are originally taken using my vivo mobile phone

Just leave your comments, upvote , and resteem
Thank you for visiting!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Such a cool place! I love Chinese temples

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70