Exploring Bangkok's Airplane Graveyard

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I love visiting abandoned places and Bangkok's airplane graveyard has been an insider tip among backpackers for a while. When I first heard about it a couple of months ago, I planned on heading there on my next visit to Bangkok, but when I visited Bangkok ten days ago I had totally forgotten about this place. All the better that I ended up there by accident!

1/30s; 18mm; f/1.8; ISO 360

But let me start from the beginning: Having just arrived from Copenhagen the day before, I was a bit jet-lagged on my second day in Bangkok. The beers I had had with @travelling-two and @worldcapture at our meet-up the evening before might have also been in play there, but when I finally woke up at noon it was raining outside and by the time the rain had stopped and I finally left the hostel, it was already 4 pm. Since I was staying in Bangkok only as a layover, I had chosen a hostel outside of the centre with a convenient connection to both airports. I have visited Bangkok's popular tourist sights on my last trip to Thailand in 2016 already, but since I had no other plans for the day, I decided to head to the touristy centre of Bangkok anyway.

1.6s; 13mm; f/16.0; ISO 100

With the bad traffic in Bangkok, it is best to avoid the streets and use other ways of transport. This is why I headed to the nearby stop of the Klang channel boat. I boarded the first boat that came by and with a look on my phone's GPS I realised that it was not moving towards, but away from the centre. I was curious to which parts of Bangkok the boat would take me, so I filtered my map app for "sights" and scrolled along the channel. I came across something interesting, a place marked as "airplane graveyard". I remembered reading about this place before in a #travelfeed post some months ago and how I had wanted to got here, so I staid on the "wrong" boat and got off at the last stop. After getting lost in the monastery adjacent to the boat stop, I found the way to the airplane graveyard after a few minutes. I could spot two planes over a fence, but was a bit disappointed when I saw a sign reading "No entry". Was it no longer possible to visit the airplane graveyard?

1/20s; 11mm; f/4.8; ISO 6400

I should have known better. This is not Europe, this is Thailand, so I would not have had to worry and indeed a few seconds later a guy came to the gate and demanded an entrance fee bribe of 200 Baht (around 5€). He and his family live at the airplane graveyard in a barrack in quite poor conditions, but they certainly have my respect for recognising the opportunity of earning from tourism and so I paid the fee and went through the gate and found myself surrounded by airplane corpses as the only visitor.

1/40s; 24mm; f/1.8; ISO 110

1/20s; 14mm; f/5.0; ISO 720

The rain earlier in the day had turned the meadow into a muddy swamp. I quickly gave up trying to keep my feet dry and walked through the knee-deep grass to reach the smaller airplane corpses in the back of the graveyard.

1/40s; 26mm; f/1.8; ISO 320

When I finally left the airplane graveyard, the sun had already set and in the last light of the day I made my way back to the Klong boat station only to find out that there were no more boats running. I would have loved to fly back to my hostel in one of the abandoned planes, but since they didn't look like they would ever fly again, I realised that my only way of getting back to my hostel would be to make my way through busy Bangkok's traffic.

1/30s; 18mm; f/4.0; ISO 360

I asked some locals and they advised me to take a bus with a certain number, but when this bus came along, the driver denied going in the direction of my hostel.

1/15s; 10mm; f/4.5; ISO 2500

Since I was staying near the BTS skytrain station Phaya Thai, I looked for the BTS station closest to my location and when another bus with a different number came along, I asked for this station instead and indeed I got lucky. On the bus, a Thai guy who spoke English asked me where I wanted to go and it turned out that the bus route had a stop just a couple of hundred metres away from my hostel where I arrived after some time in Bangkok's traffic that due to the public holiday was much better than I had anticipated.

Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #289.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

The unique theme and intense contrasting colors of your photos make a great job! In fact, you did a brilliant job, first doing and later publishing these pictures. And thank you for that @jpphotography!

Thank you for your nice words :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Love the color of the first 2 Pictures ! Did you stack them? Kinda looks like it ! nice report!

No stacking, just the amazing sensor of my Nikon and a lot of Lightroom ;)

Amazing scenery, this environment reminds us of Spreepark in Berlin. Have you ever been?

https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/spreepark

This place looks amazing, I missed it on my last visits to Berlin, but will make sure to go there next time! Do you know the Teufelsberg in Berlin? Also an abandoned place that is wonderful for photography

Did you go to the abandoned theme park in Yangon ?

Sounds really cool, I didn't know about this place, but I went to the active theme park in People's Park. I will check out the abandoned one if I get back to Yangon!

Why they are not recycled ?

Great post @jpphotography, the airplane graveyard is on @suitcasemama and I's list but we haven't made it there yet. There's also a spirit house graveyard that we'd like to check out...

Looks like you had quite the adventure on Thai public transport, fun! :) Next time you come through, download the Grab Taxi app, it's the Uber for Thailand, we use it all the time! :)

The spirit house graveyard sounds interesting! Grab is awesome, I have been using them to get free Taxi ride with some coupons here in Mandalay for the past days, but I didn't bother getting a sim card in Thailand for the short time I was there

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-bangkok-s-airplane-graveyard


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What a cool place. And you captured it really really well. Never knew about this place. Will definitely visit next time I find myself in Bangkok!

Thanks :) This place is fascinating and totally worth a visit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29