STEEM TRAVELS [TRAVEL FEED]

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Firstly,

It's nice to be back in the beautiful Canadian Rockies! Only a few hours from my home city of Calgary, Alberta! I also want to give a shoutout to @travelfeed!! Using the tag #travelfeed when posting about travels can definitely help improve your post to viewers interested in travels!

WINDTOWER TRAIL VIA WEST WIND PASS

Directions

  1. Take the Trans Canada Highway all the way towards Canmore.
  2. Turn off onto the Three Sisters Parway.
  3. Take it all the way past the Grassy Lakes and Ha ling parking.
  4. Park at the Smith Dorien Trail on either side.
  5. Here is the link from Calgary

The Hike

The Hike is a moderate Out & Back (essentially just a return hike; up and down) it's a 10.5Km hike which gives a good combination of bush and open scenery as well. Once you're out of the tree's its not to far to the West Wind Pass which gives you quite a good view. The hike truly starts there though as you have about 2000 feet/ 600 meters to the summit from the Pass.

I definitely recommned bringing some extra food,water, and layers if you're planning to summit. It does get fairly windy (surprising name for the hike lol) so definitely pack extra for this one. It doesn't seem like a long one but 10.5Km over 3500feet/1050meters elevation definitely gets tiering! Especially since I was still jet lagged and only been home for about 30 hours at that point.

The hike was about 2.5 hours to the summit and about 45 minutes back down!
Windy tower.png

Photos

Windy Tower 1.jpg
Taking a few rocks out of my shoes before the summit!


Windy towers 2.jpg
Crew posing for a quick picture!


Windy Tower 3.jpg
Right below the summit, looking back on the journey we had!


Windy tower 4.jpg
My lion mane and myself at the top!


Windy tower 5.jpg
Descending back down from the summit after cracking a beer at the top to celebrate!


Rating

I give this hike a 4/5 STAR. It's easily accessible for most people as it's only about an hour and a half drive from Calgary. I'd give it a moderate as you can definitely do the hike in 4-5 hours while taking breaks along the way. The work for reward is great as you have a 360 panoramic view at the summit. Dog's can also be brought along! All in all great hike and highly recommend!

Sort:  

looks like it was a good hike, love the views of the river and the mountains.

It was definitely a good hike to get back into the swing of things thats for sure!

Epic hike man! Wish I had views around here like that...Amazing!

Thanks man! Definitely fortunate not gonna lie! Love coming back to Alberta!

Looks like you had a great day! Would love to do a similar hike once I come!

I'll take you on one don't you worry goof!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kryptocek
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steem-travels-travel-feed


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Looks like it was a fun hike! I bet I'd have a blast up there with my camera, looks beautiful around there! Thanks for sharing, was cool to see your lil adventure. Nice lion mane by the way! Lol.

It was! Ahh I know the feeling.. same feeling I get when I see all your dad's and your photo's of AZ! LOL I seriously need to get a haircut soon! Would be cool to somehow put an advert up somewhere if someone would do it for Steem.

I love hiking and the view there is beautiful, so I'd definitely take up on this hike! How long did it take you to get to the summit?

Ahhh from where we parked our car to the summit we did under 2.5 hours. I think we could have done it in 2 and I'd say the average person could do it in 3 hours and then maybe 1 hour down!

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14