Rome - LOVE at first sight

in #travelfeed5 years ago

✌️ With a light dose of skepticism, I approach places where I already had the opportunity to be. There are of course exceptions, but you have to use meaningful arguments to convince me. But it happened. October 2018 - welcome to Rome (for the third time)!

DSC_0138-22.jpg

However, there are places in the world that attract like a magnet. One of these places is Rome. Someone might say that being there three times is no feat, sure. In my case, however, it is really a lot. Exacting what is the fact that the last three times took place over a period of one year can be considered crazy. Not to mention the fact that in March 2019 I will be there again.

The reasons for this are at least 3:

  • Lazio
  • pizza
  • architecture

Who knows me a little closer knows how an avid supporter of the oldest Club from Rome I am. Love lasts continuously for 18 years and it is not expected that it would not last a lifetime. For many years I was unable to go to the match, but when I did, I would like to sit on Olimpico every other week. Impressions are amazing, and the level, however, a little higher than our backyard league. The only thing I can regret is that during all these years I have not seen many great footballers who have passed through the Team. The presence of Immobile gives me some rewards. ;)

IMG_20181029_203255.jpg

IMG_20181029_221337.jpg

Small spoiler - in March I'm going to Derby!

The pizza is what everyone can see. Nowhere tastes just as good as in Italy. Classic - margharita on the table. The best!
If I would like to recommend one of my favorites - I invite you to Trastevere, to the Carlo Menta pub. Evaluate yourself if it is worth it. ;)
By the way, Italians have come to perfection in variations on the subject of pizza. You can eat it with anything, in any shape.

DSC_0014.jpg

Being in Rome, once again you can focus on pleasures. You are not chasing time, you can enjoy the views. You do not have to queue up to the Colosseum or the Roman Forum.

From the unobvious places to visit, I can recommend you Aventine Hill, where you have a beautiful view of the city and the Vatican. The dome in the St. Peter's Basilica stands majestically above the buildings. I especially recommend going there at sunset!

IMG_20181026_174711.jpg

IMG_20181026_174015.jpg

DSC_0116.jpg

DSC_0143.jpg

Nearby is the most famous keyhole through which you can admire the Basilica. There is almost always a queue there. ;)

DSC_0139.jpg

DSC_0140.jpg

With more time, be sure to go to the Borghese Gardens. A great park, which was originally created as the garden of the Borghese villa. It's easy to lose yourself in the green.

DSC_0348.jpg

DSC_0364.jpg

DSC_0371.jpg

DSC_0401.jpg

DSC_0413.jpg

DSC_0419.jpg

DSC_0441.jpg

DSC_0446.jpg

DSC_0463.jpg

If you are in Rome on the last weekend of the month, you can go to the Vatican Museums. On Sunday, the entrance is free, and thus you have to arm yourself to wait in a long queue. However, it is worth visiting this place (and immediately reserve a few hours for sightseeing)! Beautiful monuments, lots of exhibits. And the icing on the cake - the entrance to the Sistine Chapel, which makes an amazing impression. In particular - the dome and paintings you know from books. Unfortunately, taking pictures is strictly forbidden.

vatica.jpg

DSC_0561.jpg

DSC_0579.jpg

DSC_0602.jpg

DSC_0626.jpg

DSC_0628.jpg

DSC_0636.jpg

IMG_20181028_114314.jpg

IMG_20181028_104934.jpg

IMG_20181028_122113.jpg

IMG_20181028_123022.jpg

DSC_0652.jpg

DSC_0662.jpg

DSC_0670.jpg

In the Museums there are also historical vehicles used by subsequent popes. The entrance is in gardens, so it's easy to get around. I think that few people know about this place at all, judging by the number of people who were there. There is no good signage there. However, I recommend with a clear conscience!

IMG_20181028_130842.jpg

IMG_20181028_130950.jpg

IMG_20181028_131312.jpg

IMG_20181028_131503.jpg

IMG_20181028_131700.jpg

From the museums you can jump straight to St. Peter's Square. I like to be in this place. I do not refuse to enter the Basilica, which always makes an amazing impression on me with its vastness.

DSC_0208.jpg

IMG_20181027_103350.jpg

DSC_0229.jpg

DSC_0246.jpg

With curiosities I can tell you that when I was inside, I met Giovanni Infantino. ;) A piece of a peasant. He looks more inconspicuous on television.

Other places I always like to come back to are typical classics like the Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the Pantheon, Spanish steps or Piazza Navona.

DSC_0285-2 — kopia.jpg

DSC_0479.jpg

DSC_01532 — kopia.jpg

DSC_0798.jpg

IMG_20181027_152343.jpg

DSC_0472.jpg

DSC_0760.jpg

And my favourite monument - Giordano Bruno.

IMG_20181028_183258.jpg

Do you recognize these places?

Strolling through the Roman streets, it is impossible not to enter churches and chapels that can be found practically on every street.

DSC_0822.jpg

IMG_20181026_174936.jpg

IMG_20181027_183433.jpg

IMG_20181028_160342.jpg

IMG_20181028_104655.jpg

And besides, dozens of other places that you can delight in according to your taste.

IMG_20181026_213324.jpg

IMG_20181026_213836.jpg

IMG_20181026_213923-2.jpg

DSC_0503.jpg

DSC_0499.jpg

IMG_20181027_135859.jpg

IMG_20181029_182535.jpg

That's why I love Rome! One of my favorite cities. I will come back here more than once.

Ciao!

PS. I am slowly catching up and I will soon go straight to the publications. ;)

Next travel stops in 2019:
February - Athens
March - Rome
April - Bari

@lashotta.

We are in touch!

Sort:  

Rome is indeed a great city with lot of love and history. I love your clicks. Amazing scenes you got there. Keep it up man

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, mate! Wait for more! :)

Your photos are wonderful and so was your tour! I've never been to Rome, but I have been to Athens. My visit was 18 years ago, so it will be fun to see your photos and see what all has changed.

18 years?.... Wooaw that such a long time. Rome Rome Rome
We will visit there one day.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #407 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

I saw the post, 1st place, wow! Didn't expect that :)) Thank you @steemitworldmap, @itchyfeetdonica! Best regards!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yummy pizza! First time to see pizza that is not circle or rectangle.

Yummy! 🍕

Posted using Partiko Android

great photographic tour of rome, too many years since last time, was nice to tour with you thanks to your spectacular pics

Glad to hear that! :) Best regards!

Thanks a lot! :))

Posted using Partiko Android

So many pictures, and they all look magical! Upvoted and resteemed buddy!

Thanks, Bro! Come back for more! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Rome will be in my heart forever. It is the city that you fall in love with. It's one of my most favorite places in the world and I visited it at least 10 times. I had people say that it's a waste of money to visit the same place so many times but I disagree. There is so much to see in Rome that I truly believe you need a lifetime to explore it all. I do recognize most of the places that you mention and all of them bring amazing memories. Except of the Vatican museums that I truly disliked because of so many tourists queuing everywhere. I do prefer calmer places :)

Thank you for bringing us so many amazing shots of this old city. I'm a little bit jealous that you go there in March again :) Have to plan my next stay there too :)

Oh, and yes, the basilica doesn't cease to fascinate me.. and I do go there every time I'm in Rome :)

❤️❤️❤️

I don't even know how to respond to your comments full of content ;)

I will probably be in Rome more than once, I love to come back there, and cheering only helps in this :)

I'm recently enchanted by Trastevere, a beautiful district full of charming streets. Probably you were there....

In March I will certainly throw a report :)

Thank you for your kind words! Each trip makes me take better pictures :D

Hahaha, I will take it as a compliment ;) If you make such posts there is so much I have to say ;)

Oh yes! This is one of the most beautiful parts in Rome. It could get a little bit crowded at times but it doesn't matter. Many people want to see this city :)

My pleasure! I'm looking forward to the report in March :)

These photos are just stunning! This is such an amazing travel post that shows how amazing can be the magnificent Rome.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@jhnmunoz#2372). This personal addition to my article can be of great value.

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.

Johanna (@curie curator)

Wow! I didn't expect that! :) Thank you very much @jhnmunoz for nomination!

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome. I've only been to Rome once, and now after reading your post, my feet are getting itchy to go again! Love your photography too. :)

Good to hear that you visited the city! I am following you now, waiting for your stories. :)) I think you have a lot to tell us ;)

I slowly felt in love with Rome but deeply and deeply! Nice picture! Also want to do a report about Rome love :))

<3 Beautiful city, beautiful memories.
Thank you, @nikollettesunday!

Congratulations @lashotta! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71