Carnival of Xanthi, Greece, 2019 - Part I

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Enjoying and photographing the famous Xanthi carnival in Greece was on my travel-photo-list for quite some time. This year I was very dedicated to visiting this wonderful and as it appeared later, joyful and colorful festival!

This appears to be the largest carnival in Northern Greece, beginning somewhere in mid February and culminating on Sunday in the weekend in mid March, this year on 10th of March.

Xanthi is really an impressive city, diverse in many many ways. You may know that the official religion in Greece is Eastern Orthodox Christianity however in Xanthi there are few mosques as well. I managed to get few photos from the city itself and I am going to show them to you in Part II, so stay tuned. I decided to split this story into two parts as I have almost 50 photos that I really wanted to include in my photo story, but it will become too long, won't it? ;)



At the beginning of the marsh, it was possible to walk and wander around the participants and take few isolated portraits without attracting much attention.


Of course, you're about to being noticed eventually!


...and saluted! We received a countless amount of smiles in that day!



According the officials there were more than 50 groups of carnival participants but it felt much bigger as the whole ceremony took several hours


Does this tradition come from the past when all the roles in the theater had been played by males? ;)



From a certain point of time on, it was impossible to walk around as the main carnival street is not that big. Nevertheless I think this is a big advantage as I felt like being a part of the show and not only an observant.


Ah, I almost forgot to mention I've got several air kisses that day which triggered some jealousy, of course! :P


Some of the participants insisted for group photos and I was more than happy to take those and be the target for more smiles and air-kisses :) :P

This defining air-kissing-moment is the splitting point to my Xanthi photo story, I really hope you've enjoyed my works and you're looking forward and staying tuned for the second part ;)

I just want to mention that all Xanthi photos I took that day could be licensed for editorial usage from my Shutterstock gallery set (external link).

Copyright: Damian Hadjiyvanov, Light Captured
If you want to use any of my visuals, please drop me a message, I'm on Discord: lightcaptured#2698

Thank you and have a great day!


SteemitBannerLightCaptured400px.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=lightcaptured
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=carnival-of-xanthi-greece-2019-part-i


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks so much, it's a pleasure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thanks so much for your support and appreciation, @travelfeed! ☺️📸

Posted using Partiko Android

Never heard of this carnival before but it looks so colourful and interesting :D

It's in Northern Greece, so I think it will take you 7-8 hours to drive to it, considering passing the two borders. You will be passing near the place I live at the moment, so that might be an advantage as well :D :P
The last weekend of the festival is totally worthy attending to ;)
Perhaps the other events as well, but I don't know...

That sounds interesting! Thanks for giving all the information :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62