Photo Story - San Quirico D'Orcia

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Photo Story - San Quirico D'Orcia


First of all, I don’t feel this as a story. For me, it’s more like a story within another story, the one for the amazing and picturesque Tuscany in Italy and my ten days photo journey through it with a close friend of mine, Elitza, also a photographer. Perhaps some other time I will find the will to put up together my recollections from that glorious photographic travel. But now, I will focus on the inner story, a tale of one magical place near San Quirico d'Orcia.

The whole travel was very well planed and I, in particular had imagined one photo in my mind, I was dreaming of making it. Of course, there are elements and а day left to the good fortune so there were many photo improvisations as well ;) But now back to that specific dreamed photo!

We found out the name and the coordinates of the place from another friend photographer who had been there before. So, without any hesitation in the first day of our stay we went to do our “reconnaissance” as one may say. The location was about 30 kilometers away from our temporary home and you know, the roads in Tuscany are not fast, with lots of curves and so many beautiful distractions as well!

Finally, we arrived and here is my first impression:
DDH_3222.jpg


Yes, it is quite scenery, but it was obvious to me that the afternoon isn’t the best time of the day to recreate my dream. At that time, we decided we will have to meet the sunrise there. Here, a great mobile Android OS app came in handy, it’s called “Exsate Golden Hour”, I highly recommend it, it’s such a great free tool for landscape photography and more…


The next morning was a huge disappointment. The fog was so dense, that after each photo I had to wipe out my lens. I haven’t felt such humidity before, it almost tasted like cotton candy that could be cut with a knife! :P It could be seen in the photo below. And at the same time, it was tremendously quiet!

DDH_3559.jpg


Another morning, and we had a curious wild companion, A Cat on a Cold Tin Tank :D
Again, not the scene I had imagined, unfortunately.

DDH_3683.jpg


Another morning, and we met a very interesting beautiful young French lady, a lonely travel photographer who told me and my friends few stories from her travels. I will always remember her eyes. They were like crystals, magnetic, making you hard to not stare… I didn’t dare to photograph them, I was afraid of breaking a spell, if you know what I mean. So here is my friend, Elitza, smiling at me and our mysterious French lady taking photos.

DDH_3694.jpg


That same morning, I came up with some nice shots, however the dreamed one wasn’t among them yet:

DDH_3706.jpg


DDH_3711.jpg


Another morning, and by the way, did I mention we planned our photo travel in the late October so the chances for misty foggy mornings and evening are as big as possible?
The start of the day looked very promising. We patiently waited for the Sun to rise and finally! Everything set and my dreamed image became true!!!

DDH_4701.jpg


It was worthy at the end, having to wake up very early almost every day on our trip, having only an apple for breakfast, driving those more than 30 km, being a bit cold and our shoes quite muddy ;)
In total I think we went 4 or 5 times there to fulfill our dream.

Another picture from that same sunrise:

DDH_4716.jpg


We were so happy in that moment, that it was obligatory we make us a joyful self portrait ;)

DDH_4738.jpg


Huge thanks to @manoldonchev for the invitation to join his #photoanthill weekly contest, a great motivation for me to put up this travel story, I hope you like it! ;)

Sort:  

Great travel article.

@viking-ventures: Thanks for choosing this one for the Pay It Forward Contest

Thanks so much, @trincowski and @viking-ventures!

Have a wonderful Friday :)

I just love your style that was featured last week, and I see you keep going new places and share more awesome posts!

I came back to let you know that I chose to feature you in my entry to this week's {Pay it Forward Curation Contest](https://steemit.com/pifc/@viking-ventures/my-entry-for-the-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-30)! As such, I have followed you, upvoted and resteemed your post. Keep up the great work!

Thanks so much, Lori, @viking-ventures!
#pifc is really a great initiative, I became aware of it this week ;)

The things you do are, IMHO, indeed great, interesting and motivating, I do really hope what I say or do is used in YOUR stories :)

Just to add, that if you're interested, I would love if you use a photo of mine for a cover for your book(s) ;)
I have accounts in all the major social networks, here's a link to my personal phlog: https://hadjiyvanov.com/

Please drop me a line if you like any of them ;) I'm lightcaptured#2698 on Discord :)

Bests,
Damian

Thank you - that's such a kind offer. I will keep it in mind for the future.
I'm glad you like what I do too - I hope you get the chance to catch up. I'd love to catch up on Discord anyway.

Bulgaria? The first time I personally encountered Cyrillic was on some Bulgarian stamps. I think I used our old dictionary to transliterate it. :-) (I just looked at your website.)

Anyway, see you around - gotta get my Whaleshares/Discord book chapter ready for the morning. (I'm on Rocky Mountain time.)

You're more than welcome!
Yes, Bulgaria.
I've been several times to the US (NY & NJ), I used to work for a huge international company with headquarters in NJ near Princeton. I am focused on discovering or perhaps I should say rediscovering the photographic "gems" of the old Europe ;)

Dear @lightcaptured,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you, @archisteem, such a pleasure and honor ;)
I am looking forward for the printed version! (Impatiently :)))

Bests,
Damian

Great! Thanks @lightcaptured :) It will take more time than we expected. Nonetheless, we will strive to work it out :) Thanks for your support!

I would like to help in any way, @archisteem, I saw you're looking for editors. ;) I love the idea of having such great stories by different authors together, so if you think I could contribute, please drop me a line. Discord: lightcaptured#2698

Bests,
Damian

Welcome to the project team Damian!

I think they're all beautiful. I love to see the fog settled in the valley, but when you're going to get golden hour photos, fog does not help at all. Keep up the great work.

As you know you were featured by @viking-ventures for this week's @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest. Just a reminder it is open to everyone and a great way to help build up the community.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

congratulations, beautiful post!

Thank you so much, @sardrt for appreciating and curating my post :)

Wow! Some things really are worth the wait :) Nice job @lightcaptured!

I too found your post from @viking-ventures Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :)

why am I never get bored to see the same pictures with different colours here @lightcaptured? didi you spell any magic words on that? I can feel how is the dream come true from the perfect monent you captured it.. Wonderful and Luv It!!

Hehe, yes, I wished for it to be magical, and it was indeed ;)
Thank you so much, @cicisaja!

So.. this is what you did for all your photos? You'll stay for sometimes to wait for the right moment.. look at those sunshine 😄 it melt my heart.. I wish that I can see it myself with my bare eyes, but just looking at your picture, I can see how beautiful is God's creatures, especially those who captured the moment to share it with others all over the world, it's you and your photographer and traveller colleagues!

Not for all of them, I have to admit, but I'm sure you could tell those who are distinctive :)
And I know for sure, if you strongly wish something you'll have it, sooner or later :)
Thank you, once again for your warm words!

Great photos and a wonderful story. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for appreciating my work, @kashi89!

Steem on! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34