Session Road in bloom and blooming forward

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Every year, the summer capital of our country Philippines, Baguio City, celebrates a usually five-week long festival called Panagbenga. The term Panagbenga is a word from Kankana-ey dialect which means blooming season. Kankana-ey is the dominating dialect in the Cordillera region wherein Baguio City is a part of.

20190309_064243.jpg

This year, Panagbenga festival theme is "Blooming Forward." The festival starts on the first day of February and ends usually on the first week of March. During the last week of the festival, the city government closes from vehicle traffic the central business street of Baguio City, the Session Road. They convert the road into a marketplace until the festival is concluded.

While I did not intend to stroll along Session Road during its closure this year, I happened to arrive from Manila very early at just pass 6:00 o'clock in the morning on my way home to the province. I took the opportunity to leisurely stroll while foot traffic was still very light.

session road.jpg

Session road is a slope. I started from not so top area going downward. Almost all of the stores were still closed. As I continue strolling, I noticed few store owners are starting to get ready for the day.

20190309_064439.jpg

Further down, there is a store where people are already lining up for breakfast. I can smell the coffee aroma. It was very enticing that I thought I would join the line. 😊

20190309_064628.jpg

Farther I went and came across an orchidarium. Okay, if you come and visit Baguio City, flowers and potted plants (mostly succulents) are something that you would notice to be one of the common items for sale. So yes, you should take a look at the plants too. The flower produce of Baguio City is one of the many reasons behind Panagbenga.

Some plant store owners do not want their plants to be taken photos of, some would collect payment before you can take photos. I do not intend to pay any amount so I asked for permission if I can take photos of their flowers. So far so good, they agreed without asking for any payment. I was very careful not to touch them. I pointed at these flowers and asked if they are real.

20190309_064954.jpg

The guy said, "Yes" and looked at me. There was the unspoken question, "Why?"

"I thought they are artificial. They look perfect!" I answered.

"Now that is not fair," I thought to myself. "How could you think of it as artificial just because it is perfect?" Geesss, what a thought!

I asked the name of the flower. Yes, I do not know its name. He said Dahlia. Cool! Here's more.

20190309_065004.jpg

20190309_065022.jpg

Then I notice these multi-colored variety of roses. I forgot from whom or where I learned about colored roses being treated with chemicals to have different colors. So I asked again, this time if the colors are natural or if they have chemical treatment to look like this. He said, "No chemicals. That is natural."

Amazing!

20190309_065314.jpg

20190309_065122.jpg

20190309_065259.jpg
I was trying a three-level focus here. Was it successful? 😊

To my left, these stores are also getting ready for the day. I thought I would take a look inside one or two of them but I backed off when I realized their merchandises are more on accessories.

20190309_065339.jpg

So I continued down the road and came across these stores. There were many options for fruits.

20190309_065644.jpg

And also rice delicacies. These are mostly for breaktime snacks but since these are full of carbohydrates, that makes them good too for breakfast.

20190309_065757.jpg

I was almost at the lower end of the road when I noticed this group having morning exercise in Malcolm Square. It is just to the right side of the end of the road, corner of Session Road and Magsaysay Avenue. I was amused by their exercise so I stood by for a while, took few photos and a video before passing by them.

20190309_065902.jpg

At the back of the dancing group is a foot of the overpass where I found more flowers and succulents.

At last, I found a sun flower! For those who may not know about it, the sun flower is like the official flower of Panagbenga as it is very common in Baguio City.

20190309_070555.jpg

More...

20190309_070449.jpg

20190309_070736.jpg

And more, as I crossed the street towards Old Tiongsan Bazaar. These were displayed along the sidewalk. The first few pots were covered with net. The owner is apparently not around yet. I just took photos of those that are in clear view.

20190309_070640.jpg

20190309_070929.jpg

20190309_071122.jpg

Few more steps forward and there was another line of flowers along the sidewalk. This time, the owner is around watering the plants. I asked if I can take photos and he said, "Twenty pesos."

I answered, "Ay huwag na lang po." (Never mind.) Then continued walking. I had just few steps away and the owner called out that he was just joking and I can take photos for free. Of course, I did! 😄

So here they are. More flower power...

These plants are really on display for sale along the sidewalk near Old Tiongsan Bazaar even during regular days and not just because it was the Panagbenga festival. That means you will be able to catch the display if you happen to visit Baguio City on some other days.

20190309_071353.jpg

20190309_071425.jpg

20190309_071459.jpg

Okay, folks. This has been my early morning walk from Session road to part of Magsaysay Avenue in Baguio City. I hope you enjoyed it with me as I shared it here.

20190309_071858.jpg

20190309_071745.jpg

20190309_071404.jpg

Aside from the flowers, the city has a lot to offer and a very promising temperature if you want to escape the city heat from Metro Manila or other lowlands where it is humid. If you are looking for great get-away to rejuvenate, Baguio City is the place to be. 😊

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

When I saw Dahlias for the first time I also couldn't believe that they were real. They do look perfect :) It's a common flower here and we have them in all possible colors. I don't buy them anymore as anytime I bought them from the farmer I would find something like a rain worm inside (not the same) and I wouldn't know what to do with it :)

You have some lovely photos of beautiful flowers. Well done!

Have a lovely weekend!

Good for you to have Dahlia as common flower there. I rarely see it in our country. Rain worm? Then I guess Dahlias are indeed perfect that they are worm favorites. 😊

Thanks a lot for dropping by. You too have a nice weekend! 😊

An interesting market I especially enjoyed those beautiful flowers

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk !tip

Thanks too for dropping by and for the tip. 😊

my pleasure to visit ;)

I never saw roses with such a unique pattern, and the whole market full of such beautiful, gorgeous, delicate flowers and plants! I would not leave until dusk 😍 Great you have asked about them and shared the outcome!

Yap, the color pattern of the roses are indeed very unique. That was my first time seeing patterns like that so I even suspected they were treated, but no.

Sure thing, I will really ask about flowers like those. My eyes won't just pass by them. 😊

really cool photos of flowers.
And today in Ukraine we have snow again.
How many languages do you know?
Is English your native language?

Snow there when summer heat is about to start here? Oh well... I just know two languages, Filipino and English. But I know two local dialects that are totally different from Filipino or Tagalog. Those are Ilocano and Kankana-ey.

Hola querida @macoolette! gracias por compartir esta bella publicacion, tienes una forma tan clara y bella de escribir, que nos llevas de la mano y no nos sueltas hasta el final, fue un paseo muy relajante, lo disfrute bastante, cariños y besos. ¡Cuídate!

I am glad that you like the article, Celina! Thanks for dropping by. 😊

Thanks sharing your walk. Lovely shots of the festival and flowers. 🌺

You're welcome. Thanks too for dropping by. 😊

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest. If you enjoy steemit worldmap and the manual curation effort we're going through each day, please consider supporting what we do!

Thank you very much for recognizing my post!

It is always nice to enjoy a walk in a festival especially flower festival.. just too beautiful to pass on 😊 I could spent a day there if it's next to my neighborhood 😂😂😂

You took a perfect time to enjoy it before it getting more crowded😉 thanks for taking me walk with you @macoolette. Why then the flowers owner ask for some fee just to get the picture of it?

I was once in an orchid house, taking picture is a sin 😂😂😂 but when I said I'd share it on facebook and google, they took me to all their collections and bought the cheapest one as a polite manner😁

Some flower owners are so business minded that they require payment before anyone can take photos of their display flowers. It is not expensive. Sometimes they just ask for 20 pesos (less than $0.50) so it is not a big deal. I just don't like the idea of paying when I can have it for free somewhere else. 😂

The owner of the orchid house that you visited has a very good marketing mindset. They use others to advertise their products and they see that as an opportunity. Others have different mindset. If you share on social media, they think you will be the only one to benefit from it and not them. They should think like that orchid owner. 😊

🎁 Hi @macoolette! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Long Island City Pano Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84