London Eye Through My Eyes

in #travelfeed5 years ago

image

The London Eye is one of the biggest sttractions in the city. With its 135 m height it is the tallest Ferris wheel in the world. Opened for public in 2000 to celebrate the new millenium, The Eye is located on the South Bank of the River Thames between Westminster Bridge and Hungerford Bridge. More than 3 million visitors per year enjoyed the view of London from the wheel.

The iconic London Eye seen from another angle for #monocolorsepia, a tag created by @erikah.

wgf3jo1943.jpg

dnpbhh2ife.jpg

The mono version

When I was in London couple of years ago I too visited The Eye. It was perfect time to see the city at dusk. The large comfortable passengers capsules allow to walk inside for better panoramic view or just to sit. They are big enough to provide space for up to 25 people. The queue seemed long at the entrance but it took not so long to get inside the capsule.

wydzbez5eg.jpg

The sepia verion.

I was happy as a child, not knowing where to look first. I have just got my new phone and not quite used to I made lots of blurred photos. However I chose some not so bad but still far from what they have to be.

image

image

image

Next to the eye is the County Hall, illuminated with blue lights.

image

Going down and getting closer.

image

The County Hall was the headquarters of London County Council. Now it hosts London Sea Life Aquarium, London Dungeon, Namco Station.

image

At night the wheel is illuminated in red. It may be the tallest Ferris wheel in the world but it is not the tallest construction in London. The Shard is higher with 72 floors and height of 244 metres. Still the London Eye is worth visiting and I recommend it. This is probably the best place from where you can see the whole London.

Images taken with Samsung J5 smartphone.


DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

eSteem Footer Line

[email protected]
🌐eSteem.app | 👨‍💻GitHub | 📺YouTube
✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

eSteem; mobile and desktop client for Steem

Sort:  

Howdy there nelinoeva! wow that is truly amazing! I had no idea that huge thing even existed and I'd love to go on that to see the entire city! this is a very cool post!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #453 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Thanks a lot! 😀

Thanks for mentioning eSteem app. Kindly join our Discord or Telegram channel for more benefits and offers on eSteem, don't miss our amazing updates.
Follow @esteemapp as well!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nelinoeva
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=london-eye-through-my-eyes-226898e33df83


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

London is beautiful... ❤️

Very beautiful. Ssadly I had just two days and did not see much.

Wow fabulous photos from London Neli 😍🦋🍀🌈🌴🔥

Thanks 😀❤
Shame I had so many spoiled photos. It was great to see London from above.

Shame but I love what you had nonetheless ❤️🦋🌈💛🌴🍀

Interesting facts and images Neli. Obviously you are not afraid of heights and wow, what views. We have never been to the UK. but I wouldn't mind one day, just to see the old buildings even and the history behind them intrigues me. Would definitely take my camera.

Oh, I love the heights. The higher, the better. 😀
There is so much to be seen there and I had too little time. It is worth visiting.

It is worth seeing it. On Mew Year's Eve the Eye is on the main focus with the fireworks.

It was one of the highlights of my visit to London! You got some wonderful photos! Being up there at that time of the evening must have been fun!

Looks like we both have been in same places. 😀

I was thinking the same thing!

Let's see with the next posts if It will be the same. :-) I have been in few more places I would love to show.

I can't wait to see where you were and if I have been there, too! Congrats on joining the EL! I find that it is a great way to track my activity and challenge myself to do better each week!

Thanks Melinda! I am happy to join EL it is a great way to track activity indeed. You are doing so well, that I can learn from you!

I have made a lot of new friends because of it! I look forward to Sundays because of it. My kids and grandkids are here this weekend and my numbers will be down because I have been busy with them. I love having them here!

Lovely to be with your kids and grandkids! Enjoy the time with them! 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73