I Went To Cuba Illegally - My Best Travel Experience

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I wasn’t supposed to be there, but maybe that’s why it was so appealing to me.

My dad apparently couldn’t discipline the rebelliousness out of me as a child, because here I was, trying to be a functional adult in society, and yet still doing things just because someone told me that I couldn’t do them.

I prioritize traveling over paying for therapy to deal with my people-pleasing issues, so as a result, I normally follow the rules.

I just want to make everyone happy. The US, Russia, China, whoever. Let’s just all be happy.

But occasionally, the 4-year-old-temper-tantrum-naughty-chair-escaping-girl comes out in me, and I want to do something just because you said I couldn’t.

Stay in the naughty chair?

Nope. I’m going to my bedroom to play.

Oh, you’re gonna tie me down now??

Watch me get out of that one.

Oh, you’re going to lock me in my room now?

Good. That’s what I wanted in the first place. Sucker.

You can’t travel to Cuba if you’re a US Citizen.

Putting it on my bucket list.

And that’s how I ended up going to Cuba before it was legal.

Because Cuba just couldn’t possibly be as satisfying if it were legal to go there…right?

Cuba was amazing for so many reasons.

  1. I wasn’t allowed to be there, and that made it sickly more satisfying for some reason.
  2. The people were lovely. I made friends almost instantly, and ended up spending several nights laughing harder than I can remember.
  3. Old cars and the best dancers in the world.

I don’t really have ANY pictures that prove that I went.

I only have a couple of generic photos that I could easily claim were Mexico if I got questioned by anyone at the airport.

Honestly, I was too scared to leave any trails of evidence behind that I had gone there (so naturally, I just post about it on the blockchain instead).

I went in the summer of 2012, and just one month before I went, someone had gotten arrested for going and on top of that, owed a $200,000 fine. Needless to say, I was pretty dang nervous about getting caught.

Here’s are some generic pictures that you should say is from Mexico if anyone asks:


Washing paper plates with a random Cuban kid I met, because you have to re-use that stuff there.

I had the best experience of going to a nursing home in Cuba "Mexico."

I like to do stuff like that occasionally.

When I stepped out of the car and in front of the nursing home…this beautiful, smiling lady was here to greet me.

For some reason, probably due to my lack of a filter, I blurted out: “Wow, you look sexy in those earrings! You’re going to get ALL the men in here!”

She just laughed, grabbed my arm, and we were inseparable after that.

She showed me her room. I made more inappropriate jokes that I can’t remember.

But I know the feeling I had…and I loved this woman.

She was my kind of crazy.

Speaking of crazy…

…the ending of my trip is nuts for about 3 different reasons.

I’m going to make a part 2 to this story, because I don’t have time to finish it now. I’m only posting it because the contest deadline is almost up and I don’t wanna miss it!

Otherwise I’d save this bad boy so I have something to post tomorrow.

But, I’m traveling again, and moving to a new city soon, so I guess catching bus/plane has to be top priority right now.

Yeah, I also have commitment issues... I can’t figure out where I want to live.

Thank you so much for hosting this contest for your birthday month @bigdeej ! And Happy birthday!!!!

It’s so awesome of you to celebrate by giving away something instead of receiving!

You can see the original contest post by @bigdeej here.

Stay tuned for part 2 of this story...

...which is all about the crazy thing I did with my Cuban contraband, and how I ended up with an Israeli girl in my bedroom, and some other things that I’ll mention later!

Love, @nomadicsoul

P.S. If you're the CIA or the FBI and you're reading this, this post is a myth. I did it for the likes.

This is for a contest entry, so I'd appreciate a comment! Thanks <3

Sort:  

I've always wanted to go to Cuba. Looking forward to part 2. Good luck in the competition.

Thank you!!! <3 Wanna go with me? I need to go back and actually get decent pics this time haha.

Yes, you are a reckless and funny girl. I laughed as I read the last part of this article: v
I am an FBI from Vietnam :))

OH NO!!! Not the Vietnam FBI!!! I won't tell you what part of Hanoi I'm in!! :)

haha, i will ask @hanggggbeeee 😎😎😎

TThat's cool @nomadicsoul. There must be more to discovered in your Mexico trip. Oops, did I say it's Mexico? And love the smile from the sexy lady. :)

haha it was Mexico! You said it right :) haha thank you

It is an interesting writeup anyway. Can't wait to read the second part.

haha thank you!

This post is a myth, I did it for the likes 😂😂😂😂😂😂. You are too funny. Hahahahahaha

You habe never been the type to obey rules right? You like doing the opposite just to feel the thrill. Okay, you are not allow to do 58 with Olawalium. Good...let me see you go against that so you can feel the thrill. Hahaha. Win-win.

Stay in the naughty chair?
Nope. I’m going to my bedroom to play

Hahahaha Hahaha please stay in there and have a warm bath

😂😂 hahaha did you just say that on the blockchain?!

Man you're good! 👏👏 You witty devil. Are you the 😈?

Hahahahahahahaha can you blame me for wanting to do 58 with you? Hahaha.

Hahahaha i am so far off being the devil. I come bearing gifts.

Hahaha, cookies?

Babies!!! 😂😂😂

Cool trip to Mexico! 😉 Staying tuned for part II.

Hehe thanks! I'll try to make it worth it

Haha I heard awsome things about Cuba! I think now as an American you can go on a culture visa!

Lol, that paper plate had some good use

I could go on about Cuba for awhile! Let's go!

I definitely need to run some DNA tests on you. Nothing turns me on like a challenge. I was super stubborn while growing up. My favorite Dos were always the don'ts.

I am yet to run away from home anyway. I give you kudos for being Super weird senorita. Lol

😂 I take that as the highest of compliments. Also "My favorite Dos were always the don'ts." That's pure poetry. Love it!

🙈 It is a compliment. Lol.

I am a sucker at poetry, but I'm glad you love it. Lol

Beautiful as always, parents at times in their attempt to ensure we have a safe and secured life caused us more pain than help.

I'm glad you finally made it to Cuba. Oh sorry Mexico. Lol

Love the the quality affection between you and the old woman, it shows in the way you laughed in the picture

haha yep. Mexico was great! Yes, meeting people like her made my trip beyond worth it!

Wow, very cool. Cuba is definitely next up on my bucket list. Love me some cubano sandwiches. Yum yum yum

Good luck with your contest!

great your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06