Travel Norway #19 - Autumn in Sylan p.2 - Lake Sylsjøen

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!


Welcome all to my second part of photo-trip-gallery to Sylan mountains I took recently in search of autumnal motives...
If You are interested, here is the first part I posted some time ago: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@photovisions/travel-norway-18-autumn-in-sylan-p-1-on-the-way

This time I want to take You in a small walk among the shores of Sylsjøen lake, we will explore amazing colorful rocks on the shore, took some long-exposure shots and take a closer look on distant mountains - so, just sit, read, watch and enjoy the beauty of scandinavian nature...


IMG_9528v2.jpg


Lake Sylsjøen, as I already said in previous part, is not a 100% natural - the level of the water is regulated by big dam and its waters are used to power the turbines and generate electricity... I wonder how the lake looked like before the dam was built... it must be much smaller and shallow... who knows...

Now - the water level can vary and the difference between highest and lowest level can reach 20 meters!

I had luck to be there, when the water level was still low and showed normally flooded colorful rocks among the shore.

But from the beginning - I decided to reach the opposite shore of the lake, where I saw the rocks in a close distance.
To reach the shore, I walk on the dam to the other side.


IMG_9266.jpg


From the dam I had nice view in both directions - to the lake side and towards distnat Sylan mountains:


IMG_9290.jpg


IMG_9279.jpg


The view on the other side of the lake, with these amazing mountains in the middle of great open space - become my favorite!

How many times more I will tell that I love such open, vast spaces in landscapes - they free my mind, I love to imagine how it was just to go there, to be there... hiking in such open space make me feel relaxed, it cleans my mind and make my thoughts just go away... I bocem a part of the landscape around me - that is how I feel :). Maybe strange? or maybe not... do You have the same?


IMG_9282.jpg


Just right after I left the dam - I went to nearest beach - sandy ground with fantastic rocks, colorful, with different shapes, structures and patterns. Such places are so many of motives to shoot that is really hard to choose the best frame, all of them looks interesting - of course not all of them are best ;)...


IMG_9298.jpg


IMG_9308.jpg


The shoreline of the lake is huge, the lake itself is very long and it could take a whole day to just go around it... wish to do it one day - I am sure I could find many amazing photo spots...


IMG_9320.jpg


IMG_9345.jpg


Back to the weather that day - it was extremely windy! Clouds above my head was running really fast, sometimes it was hard to breath when I walked against the wind... With only 5 degree Celsius, the feeling of cold was strong. Good I had my windproof jacket and winter hat...

With such a strong wind, it was good to shoot the waves and go closer to the shoreline...


IMG_9446.jpg


IMG_9458.jpg


IMG_9482.jpg


Such a wind is not really helpful when we want to shoot with long time exposure - but I tried it and with a great success!

To stabilize the tripod - I just hold it really tight with my hands, trying not to add any shaking to the image, was hard but not impossible!

And the results? I think it was worth it!!


IMG_9507.jpg


IMG_9511.jpg


Using wide lens - Canon 16-35mm f4.0, with NiSi polarizing filter and NiSi ND1000 gray filter, I was able to go down to 20 or even 30 seconds sometimes...

Shooting towards the incoming clouds made an incredible effect!


IMG_9519.jpg


Here is an example of differences between the long time exposure and normal shot.
The frame is almost the same, in full size I can even see, that the amount of details are much higher on the picture made with long exposure! It was really surprise for me but good to know!


IMG_9491comp.jpg


Another subject that day was to take a close look on the distant mountains - the ones on the other side of the lake - lying already in Sweden , and Sylan mountains on norwegian side.


IMG_9409.jpg


To catch some nice details of the surfaces and colours of autumnal vegetation, I took my tele lens - Canon 70-300mm.

I had to sit on the ground and go low with my tripod to get better stabilization.

These few close-up shots I like the most!


IMG_9355.jpg


IMG_9358.jpg


Fantastic rusty colours, abstract patterns, another proof on artistic soul of nature....


IMG_9360.jpg


IMG_9363.jpg


I also took a closer look on the distant mountains on the other side of the lake - did I mentioned, they called Helags?


IMG_9374.jpg


IMG_9378.jpg


I spend around 3 hours there - mostly on this one beach - there was soo much to shoot I didn't even feel the time was running so fast.

Finally some darker, heavier clouds began to gather - cold air and wind made its work - I felt tired and hungry! Really hungry!

I took few more frames and went back to the car...


IMG_9313.jpg


IMG_9474.jpg


Before the rain I was able to grab some food and find some quiet place outside to eat.
I could do it inside the car, but it is not the point - being outdoor and sitting in a car... where is the pleasure?

After big meal, I tokk some walk on the other side of the lake, next to car parking place, but there - I made only some video shots, photo camera stayed in a car.

Some relax without a camera is always a pleasure. Exploration of this place brought many great shots, I record also a great video material for my Video blog - I have one movie ready but want to post two in the same time, first one is quite boring, but I had to talk a little about the channel, ideas, plans for the Vlog... I made the movies in Polish language as it is my original language.

Very soon my new channel on YT starts, called Projekt PhotoVisions Where I will post movies from my photo trips and workshops.

I will announce all the details whan it will be ready :).

BACK to the trip - on my way back home, I stopped by a new location in Tydal town - I spotted nice waterfall which I never visited before - More of the place and adventure here:
https://steemit.com/nature/@photovisions/autumnal-moods-forest-waterfalls-new-place-discovered


In the final of the trip and whole day I was able to catch last sunset lights... just stopped somewhere on the road back, to catch the colours of that evening...


IMG_9708-1.jpg


IMG_9726-1.jpg


SUMMARY - it was successful trip, spending a day in the outdoors, exploring new areas, shooting different subjects, experiencing the raging weather, watching the nature's beauty - this is the time of my life I love - this is something I would like to do for a living (I wish...in my dreams ;) )...

Thanks a lot for being with me on these photo trip. Hope You enjoyed the views and will be here also in the nest post :)!


My other posts from Travel Norway series:
Travel Norway #1 – Steinvikholmen and why Vikings didn't build stone castles...
Travel Norway #2 - Storfossen and Metifossen waterfalls
Travel Norway #3 - Magic shore in Muruvik
Travel Norway #4 - Live with big L - Cabin trip to Heia
Travel Norway #5 part 1 - Let's go Undergound! - Gronligrotta Cave
Travel Norway #5 part 2 - Let's go Undergound! - Gronligrotta Cave
Travel Norway #6 - Muskox from Dovre national park
Travel Norway #7 - Dovre mountains - Sunrise by Hjerkinnsdammen.
Travel Norway #8 - First visit in Trollheimen montains - Innerdalen
Travel Norway #9 - Austerdalsisen - first view on Svartisen's glacial landscapes
Travel Norway #10 - Innerdalen -First Summer trip to Trollheimen National Park - Day 1
Travel Norway #11 - Innerdalen - First Summer trip to Trollheimen National Park - Day 2
Travel Norway #12 - Magical place in Lofoten - Eggum
Travel Norway #13 - Visiting an old copper mine - Christianus Sextus Gruve
Travel Norway #14 - Nordgruvefeltet #1 - Before sunset
Travel Norway #15 - Colorful grounds of Nordgruvefeltet #2 - After sunset
Travel Norway #16 - Femundsmarka national park vol.1 - Lakes and forests
Travel Norway #17 - Travel Norway #17 - Femundsmarka national park vol.2 - To The Top!

SteemitWorldMap: [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 62.939786 lat 12.175401 long d3scr)


<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Any photo available as Digital Files. Join my Discord channel for details: https://discord.gg/ApdDcNh
If You like my work, check my portfolio site asphotovisions
Calendars from beautiful Norway on 2019 available to Pre-order on my site.

Thanks for watching and have a great day!


Upvoting, Resteeming and Following are the best way to show the authors that You like their work, it supports them not only finacially but what more important gives a huuuge amount of positive energy to create more interesting posts and work on future projects!

pv baner.png

Sort:  

Interesting information about the higher quantity and quality of details in the photos taken with the long exposure. Also didn't know it.


As you mentioned about the big dame which regulate a water level, you remind me my old trip to the similar place, also in Norway. My friend explained me then, that more than 90% of the electricity production come from renewable energy sources and Hydro-power is the main source of it. It is a great solution for generating huge incomes and entertain the society, especially nature lovers and photographers.
Below few amateur photos of the lake and dame near Ålgård.
IMG_20160501_141908.jpg

IMG_20160501_141939.jpg

IMG_20160501_142247_panorama.jpg

Nice, all true, most of power comes from hydro-plants here - it generates problems in fact - when some of the season is really dry, the water level goes down and Norway have to stop producing so much energy - to cover the loses they have to buy energy from Sweden - which is more expensive - prices of energy goes up...
Other thing is - that this kind of "green energy" required really huge infrastructure and massive impact on natural environment. Many rivers are not flowing any more, some of the lakes dried out, some other flooded ground around it. Many peoples, not only norwegians, trying to protest against such actions - but no success...
Do You know that highest norwegian waterfall is now fully regulated by dam above it?
You can watch its beauty only in summer season - rest of the year, the water on the fall is barely visible :( 0 very sad.

What an outstanding place and your photos are incredible. I am not one for cold, so I am glad to see it through your eyes. I looked back at your last post about how you got here and was very impressed by the cabin. It looks like people really care about each other up there.

And I know your post is mostly focused on the scenery on the ground, but the skies above are so blue! Lucky you to get to such a wonderland.

Cold is cool ;).
Thanks for comment. Nice You liked it and checked also previous post.
The cabin is probably private and for hire, but as I wrote, or maybe not, it is possible to use such places as emergency shelters - I think it is the same in all high mountains.
Have a good day!

Hi photovisions,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Great thanks for support @curie!!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @rimicane and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for participating in #travelfeed!

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Nice to hear from You @travelfeed! Many thanks for resteem!!

You are such a great photographer. Norway looks so amazing on your photos. And there are so many of them! I can't even pick my favorite.

In Slovakia we have a similar lake. Well, kind of similar. It was built by people by building a damn and collecting water from the river. There were 7 villages in the valley were the lake was built. All people had to leave their homes. It was a very emotional time. I wonder if that lake in Norway wasn't created by putting a barrier to stop the river flowing as well?

Thank you for sharing!

Hi, first of all, thanks a lot for comment, I am happy You liked the post and photos I shared.
This lake is on swedish borderside already but very close to Norway ;)... The size of a dam which was build there could create such lake by just stopping the water from the river - so it is possible that there was no any lake before or it was much smaller than now. This is a subject to check :).
The lake is a part of huuge system of connected hydroplants, producing electricity to whole region. I wrote little more about that in previous post. It is amazing when You imagine how huge was that project... the lake is the first bigger water storage on the way, the end of the system is located near Trondheim - around 150km from here...

Thank you for the explanation. I will check your previous post to learn more :)

Dear @photovisions,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I agree, thanks!

Awesome, thanks @photovisions. We look forward to read more of your stories!

lovely photos/ // / pleasing to eye

Thanks a lot!

Stunning photos and a lovely place indeed! More photos to share please! :)

Thanks!! Will be more ! :D

That is a beautiful collection of photographs I can't even say what I like most, every single has something unique, I love those rocks at coast, they have so many different colors, ochre, olive green, beige it is difficult to imagine that this is a nature-Artist who made such beauty that we can't reproduce. The sky and clouds are stunning, the captured shots presented them in very different colors of color palette. I love your evening sky shots too, absolutely beautiful romantic. So there is something for every different taste. beautifully done photographs :)

Thank You very much for such good comment!
When I post so many photos I just hope that nobody will get bored after watching half of them... I am always trying to use different techniques, different subjects, sometimes some experiments and my own "photovisions" ;) ... I am really happy that works.
It was just a few hours of shooting that day but the weather and the locations made it looks very different.

Have a good day @stef1 !

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=photovisions
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-norway-19-autumn-in-sylan-p-2-lake-sylsjoen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87