Mountain Dreaming: Flinders Ranges Part 1

in #travelfeed6 years ago

From the coast we drive up to the Flinders Ranges, the largerst mountain range in Australia covering around 500 odd kilometres.The road is long and I fall asleep until J. shakes me awake. I hate being woken up from sleep, but this is worth it - it's stunning landscape. The blue mountain ranges rise to saw the blue skies and I feel that sudden thrill of being somewhere decidely foreign. It's not my country. Australia is so vast that sometimes you feel you only belong in tiny pockets of it.

20181002_114410.jpg

We stop around 3 because J. is exhausted from driving - and he spotted an old holden wreck spray painted with 'Camping'. It's a big station called 'Almerta' - there are many of them in the Ranges. Almerta is hundreds of acres vast and owned by third generation pastoralists - the land was bought in the 1920's. Many of the stations in the area are owned by 6th generation farmers. Once it's in the blood, it seems, it sticks. For a girl like me, I'd go mad - I love country but I also need a balance of city life once in a while. But Iget it - I do. It's stunning country - on their property they have gorges, mountain peaks, natural springs. Views to die for. No one would willingly give that up.

We're charged 10 bucks to park the van in a creekbed and given firewood for the night. It's so beautiully quiet. It strikes me Ihaven't experienced quite like this in years, not since ddriving round Australia in my early 20's. The only noise is an owl once night comes, and all the stars with it. Outback stars are magnificent with no ground light to interrupt them. I've only seen stars like this here, and in the Sahara. We light a huge fire and open wine, talk about the beauty of the landscape, feel amazed we masde it this far (it wasn't our origanal plan, but we are like that. We're not good at resting, and often push onward and onward til we fall in an exhausted heap. It's nice to stop and jsut be in the landscape.

image.png

In the morning we drive onwards toward Parinchila, in the Northern Ranges. The history basically jumps out of you from the roadside - crumbling houses, telegraph poles, farmland. The Andamathanya people maintained a rich culture before Europeans came, but it is the European mark on the landscape that is most noticeable. Stone cairns and crumbling buildings mark the surveyers that extended northward from the 1830’s, Freeling first finding a baseline and true North then others after him extending the network north and west and to the shores of the Great Salt lakes.

image.png

image.png

In the 1890’s, William Evans begain surveying the the outback – his father before him had surveyed much of the Eyre Peninsula. The peaks to our right on the drive in are named for his family and survey party. His brother and son also surveyed South Australia – 100 years of outback work from townships, surburbs and civil engineering. Everything around here is three to six generations – stations marked out in the late 1800’s for cattle and sheep now are subsidised by tourism – accommodation, flights over Wilpena Pound and Lake Eyre.

The Overland telegraph line is an awe inspiring feat of engineering – poles extend 3200 kilometres from Port Augusta to Darwin – 36,000 poles and stayed in use til the mid 1970’s where microwave links replaced the bush poles, their piano wires tying them to the earth. The distance is extraordinary – in the second world war, they started up over 50 trains running north to Darwin from the previous two a week, carrying supplies to the opposite coast. Whilst now there seems little more than tourist towns in between beautiful ranges and gorges and plains, it’s easy to imagine bullock carts moving copper miners in, horsemen mustering cattle etc.

image.png

image.png

In Parachilna we stay the night in a hotel. I luxuriate in a shit ton of bubbles in the spa bath and drink more wine. J. orders the speciality dinner of 'feral'meats - kangaroo, emu and camel. He argues that it's only camel that are feral - a more appropirate 'feral' plate would be goat, rabbit and camel, which are all introducted and thus more aptly 'feral' but I'm sure the barmaid has heard such pedancy before and merely asks him if he'd like another beer. Fair call.

image.png

image.png

We regret staying there though when we see the free camping up the road - it's stunning country once you get off the gig highway and into the ranges proper. There's certainly some geology - shale, limestone and the like some 500 odd million years old. Give or take. We spot emuss, wallabies, ducks. The river red gums are beautiful against the red dirt. Today's drive is one of the best I've been on, and I've been some places, that's for sure. Simply breathtaking. I've been writing a fair bit, ready for other steemposts, so I'm out of poetry, and besides, I think the photos speak for themselves.

image.png



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=riverflows
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mountain-dreaming-flinders-ranges-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I've never done one of these epic drives before, it looks just amazing as if it's just you and nature!

Aw, thanks for the comment @livinguktaiwan! I've done some epic drives in my time, but this has been one of the best! In some ways it reminded me of driving through Morrocco. It was definitely epic!

Cool trip thanks for sharing it with us.

Dear @riverflows,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

No problem, go for it. Thanks.

Nice @riverflows, we thank you for that. Steem on and write more interesting stories. We love it.

And i read with longing. I think the bath was worth it and f-duck pillows 😍😍
Made me recall our camping trips to snowdonia.
Thank you.

Even better is that spa baths make good washing machines for dirty clothes :0P

Haha never thought of that. That's a must-do when going camping for a long duration.
And massage.

Oh man, it looks like tha lands Robyn Davidson walked with the camels on the movie Tracks, it's so vast and dry. Is it super hot there? Or it's like cold during the night?

I can almost hear the sound on that windmil squeeeek squeeeek, super awesome. I have my eyes on your journey.

Ah and I read you are drinking wine, please don't cycle afterwards! Thank you.

ahahaha good one, nope, no cycling here!

It was hot, yes - two days of around 30, but then it dropped. Reasonably cool at night. It's not as far north and outbacky as Tracks, it's the southern end of the outback really - she would have been at least another 800 kms north I reckon! I know what you mean about that squeak!!

It was beautiful and vast and majestic - just gorgeous!

I can't even imagine how vast those fields are, I picture them as vast as Patagonia, where one drives for kilometers without getting anywhere.

The more I read, the more I want to see. Well, I guess that's usual.

Thank you for the detailed article and have pleasant travels!

Thanks so much!! I'm going to publish a heap more photos in Part 2! xxx

Although the photos speak for themselves - in a way - it's your story that intrigues me. It makes me feel like I'm on that trip with you. This all sounds amazing to me. I have never been outside of Europe, although I lived close to Africa for half a year ( on the Canary Islands, Spanish terrirtory ) and I can't help but thinking how amazing it must be to live in a country that is also an island and an entire continent, that's unlike many places on earth.

I wish you an amazing remainder of the weekend,

Vincent

Oh, have been trying to think of a film that has been set there for you! Two - one, a recent zombie film called Cargo. The other was a short film called 'One Night The Moon' which I love.

I guess living in a country that is an island is quite isolating - this is always the dilemma of living in Australia. Yet there's also a great deal of variation across the country, and pride in it's natural beauty. xx

I did think of you in the outback as I was seeing it through the perspective of setting - it's quite extraordinary.

Thanks for the recommendations. I will put them on my watch list.

Australia must be extremely inspiring for filmmakers but also a tough climate to film in.
As isolating as the country is, I'm sure it helps that it's such a huge and diverse island.

P.S. One of my favorite Aussie movies is the 1971 Wake In Fright. Ever seen it?

Hugs from Portugal :>)

wow the scenery is amazing, I do love to be in true wilderness with no one around for miles and miles, to see that landscape that i imagine has been mostly untouched is so good. Oh I really do yearn for the open road xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27