Second Day Visiting Cleveland

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

I drove down with my friends Kev and Glenn for a friend's 50th birthday show on Saturday. See my previous post. Because the Air BNB had a minimum 2-night stay, we had a second day and night to find stuff to do. Luckily we found out two of our friends' bands from Buffalo were playing in Cleveland on Sunday. It was at the same club as Saturday night's show. They were all excited to see us. Being a Sunday night there weren't a lot of people there either so it was great just to have a few more people paying to get in. I'll get to that later but first we did all the tourist stuff to fill the day.

We stopped for lunch at Town Hall. There was a good selection of beer, and all was priced at $5 a glass, but these were mostly 12 ounce glasses. I had the wild poke bowl, which was kind of small, but only $10. I don't have the biggest appetite so the bowl size was fine. The food was awesome enough to make up for that. I should have asked for noodles instead of rice. I forgot to take a photo so instead here's a photo of one of my favorite breweries that we happened to walk by on the way back to the car.

DSC02288 (2).JPG

Of course we had to visit the house from A Christmas Story. I've probably watched the movie a hundred times and I don't care what anyone thinks, it's one of my favorite Christmas movies. We didn't get the tour. I really don't like tours anyway as they usually take hours. I didn't get a picture of myself but got one of my traveling companions.

DSC02290 (2).JPG

Before heading back to our apartment we stopped to see one of the Cleveland script signs. Glenn S. took the photo for me. I'm the one on the right, without the baseball cap.

DSC02302 (2).JPG

After some rest we got dinner at Melt Bar and Grilled. This was our second day in a row eating there. I would recommend this as a must-eat if you are ever in Cleveland. They specialize in grilled cheese sandwiches. You can get chicken, beef, turkey and pork sandwiches with melted cheese that are grilled. They even have vegetarian and vegan options. In fact they have a whole separate menu for vegans. They have multiple locations. We ate at the original Melt on Detroit Ave. in Lakewood. Their menus are on the back of old record album covers. Their walls feature some really cool murals drawn by local artist Jake Kelly depicting people from Cleveland. Don King is featured in the photo I took. The artist also included drawings of telephone poles covered with flyers for bands that are all from the Cleveland area.

IMG_20180708_205210714.jpg

After this we went to see our friends' bands play at Now That's Class. I missed the first couple local bands. The first band we saw was Dirt War play. They had a fill-in singer, who did a great job. Hopefully their regular singer can be back with them soon. They are of course from Buffalo and have been playing a few years.

DSC02320 (2).JPG

DSC02325 (2).JPG

DSC02326 (2).JPG
Next up was another Buffalo band, Malarchuk. They are named after former Buffalo Sabres goalie Clint Malarchuk, who may be best known for an unfortunate accident that lead to new goalie mask designs featuring a throat cover to protect against opponents' ice skates. It's to gruesome to link to it. They once met Clint Malarchuk, who was happy to have a band named after him. They gave him a t-shirt.

DSC02354 (2).JPG

DSC02360 (2).JPG

The headlining band was Cleveland's own Pillars.

DSC02367 (2).JPG

DSC02371 (2).JPG

DSC02372 (2).JPG

I uploaded a video of Pillars on dtube.

Sort:  

Punk not dead! Great photos :)

Thanks! I will try to post more videos this week too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85