R2R Travelogue 14: Two Week Recap of "@roleerob's Excellent Adventure"

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Day Fourteen: Looking back over the last two weeks, I know lifetime memories have been created in my "Road to Recovery" adventure here in the western United States. Before my siblings arrive, I wanted to put together a recap, for ease of reference in the future.

In thinking about the path forward, in the "next chapter" of my life, I think it will be helpful. There are endless possibilities on the horizon. I think, though, in staying "grounded," we benefit from looking back and with that gain some perspective on future decisions.

Image Source

Getting right to it then, here is a recap of what has unfolded over this important time in my life, so far:

"Road to Recovery" Recap


Here in chronological order, is what has happened, leading up to today:

  1. Day 0, 1 December 2018 - Reflections: My "Road to Recovery" Trip

    "Plan your work and work your plan!" Here you will find the beginning - the outline of my plans and, more importantly, why ...

Source: Pixabay



2. Monday, 21 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 1: Ribeye, Colorado

On Day One, a great example of why I needed to "slow down" and not rush past opportunities.



3. Tuesday, 22 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 2: Navajo Nation and Canyon de Chelly

Making my way into the Great Southwest, in the "dead of winter," and created a new memory - in subzero temperatures ...



4. Wednesday, 23 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 3: Mogollon Rim, Copper Belt, and Sonora Desert

Going back in time, to the beginning of my career, I descended down through the Mogollon Rim, into the Sonora Desert and on to Tucson, Arizona.



5. Thursday, 24 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 4: Catalina State Park in Tuscon, Arizona

Recreated a special memory spent with my firstborn child, along a rare flowing stream in the Sonora Desert.



6. Friday, 25 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 5: Baboquivari, Sacred Peak in Arizona

Again, traveling back in time, revisiting the site of one of the most strenuous single days of my life - climbing and descending Baboquivari, in one day.



7. Friday, 25 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 5: Organ Pipe National Monument in Arizona

Revisiting the very remote southwest corner of Arizona, to see the Organ Pipe cactus again.



8. Saturday, 26 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 6: Reaching the Ocean

Transition day travelling through one of the hottest parts of the United States, below sea level at times, to reach the Pacific Ocean.



9. Sunday, 27 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 7: Sabbath Rest and Morro Bay, California

Reset day, on the Sabbath, to "slow down" even more, in preparation for a week along the Pacific Coast of California.



10. Monday, 28 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 8: Hearst Castle in San Simeon, California

Recreating a visit, 40 years earlier, to the greatest example of wealth and power I have ever experienced.

Source

Source



11. Tuesday, 29 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 9: Monterey Peninsula of California

Revisiting one of the most beautiful instances, where land meets the sea, on earth.



12. Wednesday, 30 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 10: Redwood Hill Farms and Sonoma County, California

Long anticipated visit to the source of one of the most important dietary products to my full recovery from grave illness in 2009 to overall fine health today.



13. Wednesday, 30 January 2019 - Travelogue, Day 10: Sonoma Coast State Park of California

Created a new memory, in the 2nd half of this special day, seeing a spectacular section of the Pacific Coast of California.



14. Thursday, 1 February 2019 - Travelogue, Day 11: Mendocino, California

Created a new memory, seeing an even more spectacular section of the Pacific Coast of California.



15. Friday, 2 February 2019 - Travelogue, Day 12: Redwood Forests of Northern California

Created a new memory, both walking and driving under these magnificent trees - the tallest and some of the oldest, on the face of the earth.



16. Saturday, 3 February 2019 - Travelogue, Day 13: Crater Lake National Park in Oregon in Winter ...

Created a new memory, trying to reach one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. In the "dead of winter" ...



17. Saturday, 3 February 2019 - Travelogue, Day 13: Rogue River Gorge in Oregon

Finishing as I started, with another great example of why I need to "slow down" and not rush past opportunities.




And, so dear reader, I have now completed this part of "working my plan." Maybe not "ahead of schedule." Not sure (haven't wanted to do the accounting ... 😉) if "under budget" either. But, I have finished what I started.

Many thanks for all of you who have contributed your thoughtful comments along the way. Means a lot to me and will definitely be a part of the lifetime memory, now "in the rear view mirror" of my life. 👋 And "immutably enshrined on the blockchain" ...

On to the visit with my siblings! 👍

Postscript on Day Fourteen



If I had any doubts over the last day or so about being back to "dead of winter," getting my truck loaded this morning removed all doubt. It was cold out there!

Photo: "Camped Out" in LaPine, Oregon

It had snowed the night before, but the "big event" storm was yet to arrive. From the North.

Photo: Highway to Sunriver, Oregon. Safe arrival!

Thankfully, I have made this trip in my trusty little 4 X 4 Ford Ranger. As needed, I just "flip the switch" to 4-WD High and safely on my way!

Photo: Out in the "wild," working under "adverse" conditions ...

Once safely at Sunriver, it was fun to see these prints in the snow. I believe they are from a raccoon. To finish up this post, while waiting for my siblings, as you can see I was enduring some pretty "harsh" working conditions ... 😉

Being the dedicated Steemian I am though, it didn't even faze me. I just kept going! "Must not stop ..." "Must click publish ..." 😊


As I post this, my siblings are on their way, but driving through a major storm in near whiteout conditions. Praying for their safe arrival now.

The "second half" of "working my plan" now begins - two weeks with my siblings. We have not spent that much time together since we were children. Hopefully we'll survive it! 😉

Closing



With this post, I will now be focusing on creating a lifetime memory with my siblings, in the "real world." Not sure right now how much time I will spend online, but it will be greatly reduced, if not eliminated altogether, for a time. It would not be right for me to do otherwise.

Thank you for going along with me, dear reader, on "@roleerob's excellent adventure!" I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,
Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Sunday, 3 February 2019!


  • Image sources, unless otherwise noted: My trusty smartphone!

  • This post was inspired by a suggestion made to me awhile back by @abh12345. To create posts with an index of links to other posts. Thanks for the idea, a good one. Now done!

divider 123.png


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Howdy sir roleerob! This is a fantastic catch up post! You've already seen so many amazing things and shared them with us!

Awesome adventure. I've read most of your posts in this series. Very good! 😃

Now I am already thinking about vacation! 😂

Enjoy the time with the family and continue to add to the memories that will also be enshrined in this new stage of life for you! It has been quite an adventure following you and I appreciate it due to the sense of adventure it has created in me wanting! Look forward to your return my friend!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @roleerob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.950 which ranks you at #3960 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 29 places in the last three days (old rank 3931).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 369 contributions, your post is ranked at #245.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87