Travelogue 5: Cirque Lake in the High Uintas

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Having been blessed with the opportunity to see many wonderful places in my long life, there has too often been one common problem with many of these experiences. Often enough, I have been alone and saddened by not being able to share them with those near and dear to me.

This story is about one such place, but with a happy ending. I led a "family expedition" back to experience it again!

Photo: Lower Rasmussen Lake on the West Fork of the Whiterocks River


  • Note: An observant reader may note a similarity between this picture and my Steem profile ... 😉

Background Story and the Setting



In honoring the loss of my father a number of years ago, I had taken a memorable trip alone into the mountains sometime before this one. For years, I had considered a hike into a particular part of the West Fork of the Whiterocks River. When I finally had the opportunity to carry it out, it was an unforgettable experience.

The picture you see above is a result of that trip. I was very happy with it and, at a glance, the memories it brought back to me. It ended up as a 4-foot (122 cm) wide backlit LED picture on the back wall of my office!

In appreciation for the excellent work done to create this LED picture, I wrote one of my earliest Steem posts about its creator - Business Review: Great Maker of Backlit LED Pictures. In it, you will find more to the background story behind this picture.

The High Uintas are a mountain range on the border of Utah and Wyoming. They are the highest mountains in the state of Utah.

The Whiterocks River is one of the major drainages flowing south out of these mountains.


  • Note: For fans of the old movie "Jeremiah Johnson," starring Robert Redford, the cabin scenes along the river were filmed on the banks of this same Whiterocks River much farther downstream from the pictures which follow.

Up into the High Country



Hearing from me how memorable my first trip had been, my son and daughter took time off of work to join me in reliving this special memory. That meant a lot to me.

As was the case with me and my father, some of their best memories of time with their Dad has been up in the mountains with me, away from it all. So no arm-twisting was involved. They were excited to do it!

To get to the area in these pictures involves driving up a fairly well maintained gravel road much of the way up into the upper reaches of the Whiterocks River. The final stretch though is 5 to 6 miles on rugged 4 X 4 road. Thankfully, my little Ford Ranger was up to the task.

This rugged road ends at a beautiful little stream flowing down out of the lakes in the basin above. Hiking up into these lakes was our objective.

Photo: Hiking begins cross-country to Cirque Lake

Hard to put into words the wonderfully peaceful and liberating feeling of setting off once again, after so much anticipation of getting to this point.

No trail to follow. We simply started up into the forest and made our way through it in whatever way seemed best.

We were soon up near the treeline at about 10,000 feet in elevation.

Photo: Hiking up near the treeline.

On up into the high country we go!

Hike to Cirque Lake



Cirque Lake sits high up in a little basin right at treeline. On the way there, we hiked up past the beautiful lower Rasmussen lake.

Photo: Lower Rasmussen Lake looking northeast.

When you are in the high country, you can never be sure of the weather. Rain or even snow (I've been snowed on in July ...) can come up in a hurry. At this point in our hike, we were a little leery of the sky, but thankfully the weather turned and we didn't have any rain.

There was a slight breeze. Just enough to keep the mosquitoes at bay and keep us pretty cool with the exertion of the climb. In many ways, it was perfect weather.

Photo: Up into the basin holding Cirque Lake

The "road less traveled" can often be challenging, as seen above. That really, though, is part of the magic. Climbing through rocks like this, you just need to take it slow and easy and enjoy it.

Our destination was up and to the left in the picture above, into the little basin holding Cirque Lake.

Photo: The old man leading the way

Once across the big rock slide, we still had a steep climb higher still. Definitely a test of conditioning!

Photo: We made it!

When you've never actually seen a place before, the reality can sometimes not live up to the expectations. In the case of reaching Cirque Lake, that was definitely not the case. It was very, very nice.

So peaceful there and not yet having seen anyone else, we enjoyed a great time there, eating our lunch and soaking it all in.

Photo: Looking Northwest across Cirque Lake

Once leaving Cirque Lake, the outlet is a picturesque little stream gurgling its way down the mountainside.

A short distance downstream from the lake, we were blessed to find a nice little waterfall. At the time of year we were there, the flow of water wasn't high, but it was still very nice nonetheless.

Photo: Standing at edge of falls downstream from Cirque Lake

Down below the falls, the stream meanders through a nice little meadow. We walked across a thick carpet of grass and moss matted together over the rocks below them. While the mat sagged under our weight, it never gave way. It was a special treat to walk on it.

The little meadow ended and, after a short distance back into the forest, emerged to flow into another little meadow, but with a small lake at the end of it.

Photo: Serene little unnamed lake downstream from Cirque Lake

Down below this little lake, we were finally seeing where the stream was going to flow into the Upper Rasmussen Lake.

A little upstream from it, though, we ran into a magnificent sight. When out in the mountains, it is always very nice to see big game in its natural habitat. In these mountains, there isn't anything bigger than a bull moose.

In the lead, I suddenly heard something across on the other side of the stream. I alerted the others to hold up and listen and look carefully. Wow! It turned out to be a bull moose!

Thankfully, it was far enough away to not be a real threat, as moose have no fear of humans. This one looked our way for a bit, but ended up wandering on up into the forest on the other side of the stream away from us.

Photo: A bull moose!

After waiting a bit to ensure the moose was gone, we continued on downstream, ending up at the inlet to the Upper Rasmussen Lake.

Photo: Inlet to Upper Rasmussen Lake

There is something so soothing to my soul to listen to the sounds of a gurgling, clear running mountain stream. There were a number of wildflowers all around us nearby, although fading. We knew from past experience the best of the high country flowering season was past.

Photo: Nearing outlet of Upper Rasmussen Lake

Wandering along the side of the lake, the water shimmered from the little breeze. It was crystal clear and, although it was the middle of the afternoon, we still saw a few swirls from fish hitting the surface for food.

Photo: Outlet of Lower Rasmussen Lake

At the outlet pictured above, we took a while at this final stopping point to soak it all in. We thanked our Lord for a very memorable day and were grateful we'd made it out without any significant safety issues.

It was a relatively short time to finish hiking on downstream from there and back to our truck.

Another great memory "in the bank!" 👍

Bonus: Hike on Lynn Creek



Since the previous day had gone so well, we elected to stay and return the next day to hike along a little tributary of the East fork of the Whiterocks River - Lynn Creek.

There is a trail which goes way out around the main canyon down through which this beautiful little stream flows. We elected, as the day before, to just follow the stream and not worry about any trail, but make our way as seemed best.

Photo: Lower elevation found this nice little clump of flowers

Enjoying ourself immensely rock hopping down the stream, we kind of got lost in family discussions and my photo taking dropped off. I did catch this little clump of flowers.

Then ... We found out why the trail went so far up and around this canyon. Most of the trails in the mountains are designed to be as easily traversed as manageable. Not just for humans. But, often also for horses.

No way horses were coming down through here ...

Photo: Rugged country the trail bypasses

Heading into this stretch, I told my children this was a likely place to see a waterfall. Waterfalls are amongst my favorite things.

Sure enough! Not a big one, but very nice nonetheless.

Photo: A pretty little falls on Lynn Creek

The trip ended with us well down below this falls, finally ending up along the shores of the East fork of the Whiterocks River, where Lynn Creek joined it.

We had lost track of time and it was getting late fast. Leading the way, I told them we needed to make our way back out to where the trail was and I would "march us up out of here." They smiled, as they thought the old man was just woofin' ... 😉

Two hours later, we were back at the car. Climbing up out of that canyon, I stopped twice and not for long. Made a special trip with them all the more memorable when they let me know "you still got it Dad!," as they assured me they thought I was in as good a shape as they were.

Not likely, but a nice ending to a great trip!


The High Uintas have been a part of my life for as far back as I can remember. My father used to take us out into the mountains on the north side of the divide from where these pictures were taken, to fish on streams flowing down into Wyoming. Very remote. Remarkably beautiful.

Mountain experiences are special to many of us. Along the way, on my Steem "journey," I have "met" @georgipraskov, the "man from the mountains" in Bulgaria, who is very passionate about his country and his mountains. More recently, through @cicisaja, I have learned about the postings of @himalayanwomb. I suppose we can all guess which mountains are most dear to him! 😉

Both are doing great work in writing about "their" mountains. Here, in this post, you've been given a little glimpse into "my" mountains. 😊

Probably, as well as any statement I've read recently, my Steemian friend @delishtreats said it best in a recent post:

"I feel connected with nature and this is my ‘safe’ place. It doesn’t matter how many problems I have to resolve but as soon as I’m in the mountains I forget them all. I can just sit on a meadow for hours and enjoy the serenity of mountains. This is where I recharge my batteries and where I feel content. My happy place…"

Well said. Thank you for that @delishtreats!

Closing



There is very little that brings more peace to me than being on "the road less traveled." There are so many interesting out-of-the-way places to see, when you leave the heavily traveled "highways and byways" in life and venture out on your own.

With my children, when taking these hikes, I would encourage them to let their imaginations run free over the possibility we were seeing something no one before us had ever seen. Okay, yes, highly unlikely, but when you are on "the road less traveled," you end up in places where it is not all that hard to imagine and fun to at least think about it!

I hope you've enjoyed "seeing" this very special place in my family's experience, through our eyes. I’d love to hear any feedback you may be inspired to provide.

Until "next time," all the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @ roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Saturday, 24 November 2018!

Image sources: My trusty smartphone!

divider 123.png


If you liked this post, you might enjoy others in my "Travelogue" series:


This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=roleerob
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelogue-5-cirque-lake-in-the-high-uintas


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Excellent. Thank you @steemitworldmap!

Very inspiring journey my friend! I look forward to the day that I can make a trip in mto nature with the family one day. One of great things things about coming back to the mainland US is how great it is to be able to go for roadtrios to admire the changes in scenery as you drive through the different topography that the country has to offer. So far most of my travels have been limited to flying which I cannot really appreciate nearly as much. Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @newageinv!

"So far most of my travels have been limited to flying which I cannot really appreciate nearly as much."

No doubt about that, as I was once a "road warrior." For almost 20 years. Flying enough to be a "bazillion mile" flyer on both Delta and United. Glad those days are behind me ...

There is something about "windshield time" that I greatly enjoy. Even better, is if time is allowed to actually get out of your vehicle and take a trip like the one detailed here ... 😊 👍

"Use it or lose it" has been around for as long as I have. Lots of truth to some of these old sayings ...

Heya @roleerob, I'm just swinging by to let you know you're an honorable mention in our Daily Travel Digest!

If you enjoy Steemitworldmap and the curation effort we're going through manually each day, definitely consider supporting what we do!

Thank you very much @steemitworldmap. I really appreciate it!

"... definitely consider supporting what we do!"

image.png

Okay ... I have done my small part to help. Wish I could do more, but maybe in the future .

I really like your map. Really put it "to the test" last night as, frankly, I didn't think I could "zoom in" and find enough level of detail on it to pin the location of this post. BUT, I was wrong! Whoever put this all together did an amazing job.

My friend @delishtreats introduced me to this sometime ago. I did one other post about 3 months ago. I hope to do more in the future.

Any input you would care to provide, e.g. best tags to use, etc. are more than welcome. "The good, the bad, and the ugly" are all welcome. I'd like to continually improve on what I am adding to our Steem blockchain.

Thanks again!

Thanks so so much for helping out the project! It really means a lot!

Well to be fair, using a google maps api helped tons wifh that, haha!

I remember that post, we also had a short conversation back then if I recall correctly!

I would say the best tags for those posts are likely travel, travelfeed (they also curate), steemitworldmap (but it's not necessary) and than some of your own choosing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared! I really appreciate this!! Doing my small part to support your work, here is a delegation to it I completed this morning:

image.png

Thank you as well for the "big picture" effort you are continually putting in to encourage all of us Steemians working hard to add value to our Steem blockchain.

Keep up the great work! 👍 😊

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 266 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @trufflepig! How is my favorite bot doing? Very nice of you to drop by and let me know my efforts have been rewarded by you with one of your daily truffle picks. And #3. Very good. Thank you very much!

If you see your dev, @smcaterpillar, say "hi" for me. I appreciate his work in creating you.

What a beautiful place! and your post does a great job of bringing me there. Putting it on my list of places to visit

Glad to hear you enjoyed it @diezeldiddy. If you would like to go there yourself, just know it is one of those "out of the way places" you must really want to see, as it is not on the way to anywhere else. Although there are some nice attractions in the surrounding area ...

Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by roleerob from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Howdy sir roleerob! wow this is a magnificent post! It really is gorgeous, I can see why you wanted to do this trip and to be able to share it with the kids is wonderful. Is this area all national parks or forests? I wonder if you could go there and live off of fish if society collapsed?
Thanks for taking us on the beautiful trip!

All that you are seeing in this post @jantonis is in our U. S. National Forest. Available to one and all. If you can get there ... 😉

If you're not familiar with it, @steemitworldmap is an amazing part of our Steem blockchain. As I indicated to them in my comments, I frankly did not expect to be able to pinpoint it on their map, as the scenery in this post is quite remote. BUT, there it was!

You might want to check it out sometime ...

yes sir I actually did see that mentioned in your comments but have never gone there to check it out. But now it sounds pretty impressive! So was that post, that's a curie post there.

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.673 which ranks you at #5287 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 21 places in the last three days (old rank 5266).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #43.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14