Discovering the Jurassic Coast of England

in #travelfeed5 years ago

South Devon, England.

A somewhat dreary and chilly Sunday morning in November…

…and I am too lazy to venture out anywhere too far away from my warm and cosy caravan…

…and yet, I do want to explore Devon but only if it doesn't involve too much trouble…

A quick search through online maps reveals an Orcombe Point nearby, somewhere along the seaside, supposedly a point of interest.

IMG_20181125_155425_371 - Copy (Copy).jpg

Ok so, a bit unwillingly, I drag myself into the autumnal cold and take that 15min drive to the coast.

As I arrive at the point of interest marked by brown road signs along the way, the impression I get is that it’s going to be one of those really pleasant although somewhat dull weekend walks on the beach, nothing special to write home about.

20181125_130307 (Copy).jpg

But then, turning my head to the left, I spot some rocks in the distance…

...the view doesn't seem to promise anything terribly exciting, but I am definitely intrigued...

20181125_130300 (Copy).jpg

…and so the discovery begins…

20181125_130803 (1) (Copy).jpg

... to match my newly found excitement, the dull clouds are lifting as well…

20181125_131049 (Copy).jpg

As I approach the rock formations, it’s becoming clear that this little walk will be something more fascinating than your usual weekend walk on the beach.

20181125_131255 - Copy (Copy).jpg

It turns out, I’ve just arrived at Orcombe point, the most westerly point of the Jurassic Coast in south England, and a World Heritage Site.

As I turn the corner I'm astounded by the beauty of unusually coloured rocks carved out by the sea throughout the centuries, apparently, they’ve been around for millions of years.

20181125_131125 (Copy).jpg

And the great thing is…
…when the tide is out, you can easily climb up and down the rocks (there are stairs as well) and explore all the fascinating corners under the rock formations.

IMG_20181125_155425_371 (Copy).jpg

The first thing that strikes the visitor is the red colour of the rocks – apparently, this is because these rocks were formed in desert conditions, but I forget the rest of the details…

20181125_133205 (Copy).jpg

I have a suspicion though, that if I had arrived at a different time of day, I wouldn't have seen any of this beauty as the tide would have covered the cliffs. It's a logical deduction I've made after seeing all sorts of small marine creatures and wet seaweed attached to the rocks.

20181125_133217 (Copy).jpg

So I think I was lucky to discover Orcombe Point when the tide was out, otherwise, it would have been just an ordinary walk by the sea.

Basically, as far as I understand, Devon Jurassic Coast is a geologist’s dream playground and a fascinating photo backdrop for the rest of us.

20181125_133325 (Copy).jpg

So if you are anywhere near Exmouth or Exeter in South Devon, make sure to visit Orcombe Point, you’ll be glad you did!

And if you are someone who loves exploring the world on foot, consider taking a 96-mile walk from Orcombe Point along the Jurassic Coast following the South West Coast Path - that would be a proper adventure!

Only how long would it take?

That’s the question.

Travel England, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vliet
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=discovering-the-jurassic-coast-of-england


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Dear @vliet,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thanks for listing my story @archisteem !

You are most welcome @vliet!

I always thought the south west coast was just white cliffs! Interesting!

Yes, @livinguktaiwan I also was surprised to see this red rock here :) there's always something new to discover!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest #380, curated by @itchyfeetdonica. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Hello @vliet, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80