Discover Ukraine. Podillia. Strusiv cemetery

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Hello again from Ukraine.

While I am continue to sort and edit somehow photographs from the last weekend trip, I'll go back to the #cemeteryphotos challenge kindly hosted by a person whose efforts to support the community on Steemit can't be overestimated. But for me, the most amazing thing is the fact, that I found another person (especially here) that like cemeteries and photography just like me.

s9m3y5szj8.jpg

Today, before wrote this post, I have been thinking about what exactly I like, and I didn't find an answer. It is a large mix of feeling that I can try to express in words but it will not be full sense.

Anyway, one more thing to mention is that I drive by this cemetery over years, thousand of times. And I found a time to stop and visit it only once.

Strusiv cemetery

I read on the Internet that Strusiv village got to the Top 10 most picturesque villages in Ukraine, and that the most of Ukrainians has no idea about it existence. The first fact surprised me very much, but not the second. If you read my travel posts, you can understand the season. Sometimes Ukraine reminds me a kind of lost world undiscovered even by its inhabitants. That is one of my main reason why I write about all this stuff.

Anyway, I will not retell you stories from the net, because all I visit was a cemetery itself. There are 3 of them, all nearby, on the top of the hill where you can overlook the village from. One is modern, located on the other side of a road, and 2 old cemeteries - Polish and Jewish. As you'll see, these are pictures of Polish one.

g7zpb42gzr.jpg

9apjzi56v7.jpg

In written sources Strusiv mention from 1414 year. The village was a part of Poland for a while, but as it is Podillia, many Jews lived here (read more in my previous post. In 17018 centuries the life in this area was much more various and successful. Crafts were more profitable than trading.

These statues were all made by local craftsmen, for christians and for the Jews.

The weather was cloudy and a little gloomy, as expected for a visit to a cemetery. A right entourage. No mo re words, just view and ... hope you'll find them interesting. At least the landscape :D

p72bcru541.jpg4qcttluipl.jpg
ujtiunz80a.jpgrc5fk0s1ls.jpg
sdrje8mrgw.jpghrlqqloyut.jpg

anocwlr4lm.jpg

sle0asxcx5.jpg805e2qx2g6.jpg

nnydsckc6a.jpg
!steemitworldmap 49.338285 lat 25.606727 long Strusiv cemetery d3scr

Thank you so much for your time to pay me a visit!


si5103uh15.png

Here I put links to my previous posts of the series Discover Ukraine:
Discover Ukraine. Mystical Podilia, p.#1
Discover Ukraine. Mystical Podilia, p.#2 ~ Sataniv
Discover Ukraine. Sataniv: Old Mill, Castle and Monastery, p.#3
Discover Ukraine. Old Jewish cemetery in Sataniv, Podilia ~ p.#4
Discover Ukraine #5: Medobory, p.1

Also, you can view all my posts on steemitworldmap.com

tmtnb2dely.png


Have a wonderful day and thank you so much for a visit!

Proud to be a member of

Your voice is worth something

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Oh, my heart! These are such incredible stones and statues, each one, so unique and beautiful! Their final destination made to release the sadness from the living.

The moss-covered stones, crosses being carried and the incredible shot with the Church in background. I love how the flowers run wild in the fields, keeping company with the statues.

I love cemeteries. There is something powerful that draws me, a comfort that keeps me there and it is surrounded in loving beauty.

Thank you for posting this!

!tip

Hello, dear Denise! Glad to know there is one more person who see the light charm of cemeteries <3 I am astonished by your beautiful phrase:

Their final destination made to release the sadness from the living.

It is like you read my minds and gave them shape in words :) When I lived in my hometown, my path from and to home went through an old Polish cemetery. They turned it into a park and left just a few graves with historical value. I liked to picture stories of life of the people buried there, who they were, and what it all looked like in those days...

Thank you for bringing a sunbeam to my feed today! @->--

Удивительное место, я тоже люблю, когда приезжаем на кладбище к родным,побродить и посмотреть фотографии, почитать эпитафии, и попробовать представить как эти люди были живыми... На третьей фотографии я заметила будяк на надгробье со статуей, наверное в то время этот сорняк считался красивым и мощным растением, если его изобразили в качестве украшения. А статуи сделаны очень талантливыми людьми!

Будяк на пам'ятнику можливо мав якесь значення...
Дякую за візит і за відгук!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you so much for your curation, @innerblocks! I will check out your blog and community!

Тут хоть жахи знімай. Згадався "доктор Хто" там були статуї котрі оживали коли ти на них не дивишся. Чудові фото, жаль далеченко кладовище знаходиться

А я так і не добралась до Доктора Хто ) Але жахи люблю в помірній кількості :))

Я не сказав би, що доктор Хто є жахом, але там місцями є доволі моторошні сцени

Треба якось буде зібратись і подивитись


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your support is always very much appreciated!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much, dear @veryspider! <3 <3 <3

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zirochka
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=discover-ukraine-podillia-strusiv-cemetery


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wonderfully captured images and a great story to tell of this place! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you so much for your visit and nice comment, @thekittygirl! Things that I really love and enjoy, I do with pleasure. Like photography and telling stories about places I have visited ))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16