My first post on Palnet ~ Last day in Georgia: Tbilisi, Sulphuric baths and Waterfall

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Hello again and welcome to my first post using #palnet. Today I am going to finish my Georgian Diary, and show you the capital of Georgia - the city of Tbilisi.

The city is located in a valley surrounded by mountains from all sides. That's why it is really hot here, even in May, especially for a traveler from a country where there is snow in winter, lol. In fact, I got from our middle of spring directly into the middle of the summer. Our local friends say they have no snow in winter, or it melts quickly.

IMGP0252.jpg

!steemitworldmap 41.688975 lat 44.808812 long Old Tbilisi d3scr

IMGP0253.jpg

We started here, and we finished here. Every time we stayed in a different hotel, I think it is a good idea to discover different districts of the city and gain more experience. Even after what happened to me in Salerno (Italy), I thought it is a good idea, and it really worked this time.

When I mad my mind about the hotel, I looked at the map of the city on booking.com. I mean it all was in two dimensions. But...

IMGP0183.jpg

Look at this angle. Our Betlemi Old Town Hotel was located at Betlemi street. This street is the last to the top, in fact it was Betlemi rise, and although there were cars up there, I am not sure I'd make it my car. So, we had to go up and up with our luggage, lol. Good daily workout, yeah?

The hotel was our a cherry on top - it is new, roomy, not big at all and very cozy. The view from the terrace on the second floor is absolutely stunning! And when the hostess of the hotel came to greet us and offered a glass of excellent vine, I knew I will come here again...



The next day was a usual business day, so people in the streets weren't too many. I like to see the surroundings on such days. We have some spare time before our flight, and we went down to explore baths and one more waterfall.


IMGP0257.jpg

IMGP0250.jpg

IMGP0184.jpgIMGP0186.jpg

We went to find some souvenirs, but the only magnet we both liked was too expensive, GEL 20 or about $7.50. Besides, I got pair of socks with the same image :) So we decided to bring home eatable souvenirs. The hostess of hotel advised a small street market, and we got there suluguni (handmade cheese) and some species (trust me, it is powerless to resist) and a lot of Churchkhela, a traditional Georgian candle-shaped candy, made of grape must, nuts and flour.

IMGP0249.jpg

IMGP0258.jpg

Sulfur baths and Orbeliani Baths

IMGP0243.jpg

Sulphuric baths are very close to each other, located in Abanotubani district, and are a very popular tourist attraction. They are built on natural sulfur springs. I'd recommend it for a visit at least because this place influenced the choice of location of the city and even its name. Georgian"tbili" means *"warm", and you sould pronounce [b] almost like [p]. This is the reason why Russian empire called the city Tiflis, - it is because it was more easy to pronounce. So Tiflis and Tbilisi is the same name.

IMGP0194.jpg

IMGP0200.jpg

Another one reason to visit Sulphuric baths is another amazing waterfall located in the heart of the city. By the way, Alexandre Dumas was delighted by this place, so I think you might like it also :)

If you go further along the baths, you will see another bridge of love, all hung with locks. Locks can be bought right here, on the spot.

IMGP0226.jpg

IMGP0218.jpg

And further down the path will lead you to the waterfall. It is a shadowy place, and there are cafe and bars of both side of a small river. Not sure about you, but I just couldn't take my eyes off these wooden colorful balconies.

IMGP0212.jpgIMGP0215.jpg

IMGP0232.jpg

And that is all, and the time to return home.

I hope you enjoyed my series! Thank you so much for passing by!

hr
Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



Regards,

I am with @qurator, are you?

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much for sharing this post. This is what I like about Steemit. The photos and stories of places from all around the world that we would never get to see in a life time if it weren't for people like yourself. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so much for your visit!

Always a pleasure @zirochka 💐

I enjoyed reading about your trip. I learned something new with each post. Georgia is worth visiting and it is impressive to see it through your photos.

Thank you so much, it is the best reward for my work!

Georgia is worth visiting

Totally agree, and it is just on the other side of Black Sea :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zirochka
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-first-post-on-palnet-last-day-in-georgia-tbilisi-sulphuric-baths-and-waterfall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It was a beautiful and exciting trip to Georgia. An exotic country for me ... I like the narrow streets and the stone houses. I am convinced that the food and the wines are also excellent.

You are absolutely right about food and wine :) But I just thought that on vacations everything is beautiful and tasty. You just set your mind to enjoy and that's all.

Thank you so much for paying me a visit!
!tip

It was my pleasure to read.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @zirochka!

@zirochka wrote lately about: Gvelety Big Waterfall Feel free to follow @zirochka if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Pleasure 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 534.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Hello @zirochka, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for stopping by @creativecrypto and for your support!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66