My Georgian Diary. Day 5/7 ~ "Mountain direction"

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Hello again, folks!


Greetings from Ukraine! Today I continue my series about marvelous country of Georgia that I have visited recently. Short vacation of 7 long days :D For your convenience, I put links to previous parts at the bottom of this post.

f8qx46ag7s.jpg


It was a wonderful Monday morning. After previous sleepless night and lots of good emotions I slept like a child.

But have you ever had a breakfast by candlelight? :D :D I had once. When we just started out breakfast, the power went out. The hall of the hotel were the breakfast was served has no windows, so the hostess lit the candles, and it was really very unusual: I woke up just recently and now having a meal by candlelight. It was fun :)

Our friend Levan suddenly got an important event with some minister, so we did not start after breakfast. The weather was cloudy, not very good for taking photos, besides the forecast promised rain, but we have no choice but roaming around the city.

w4a65c3yup.jpgbawxl5afvh.jpg

9r1bqg8kkk.jpg




The plan for the day was check out and head toward north. Our destination was Stepantsminda, a mountain town on north of Georgia. The path we took is called The Georgian Military Highway. We did not plan to do any hiking, but it is not far from Mount Kazbek (5047 m). It was the most exciting place to visit for me in the whole journey.

13ywqorbi8.png


Ananuri

The first place where we stopped was Zhinvali Lake (or water reservoir, it is made by humans). It is itself a very picturesque place of 2 rivers confluence, besides there is one more landmark here - Ananuri Fortress. It is impossible to miss it as it is located right by the path, and also you see is a big market in front of it with souvenirs, traditional meal, beverages, cloth, and hundred of stuff made somewhere in China.

It was a half way. The weather was still cloudy, and I thought what a pity I cannot take a nice sunny photographs... But next day I thanked God for this weather :) You never know what is better for you at the moment.

gs9dvcjsuf.jpg

44407btzfi.jpg
!steemitworldmap 42.164309 lat 44.703361 long Ananuri Fortress d3scr

Probably, the castle was constructed in XIII century. It was residence of local feudal lords and their main outpost.

And we got back on the road toward north, through Gudauri mountain and ski resort and further over Jvari Pass , 2 379 meters (7,815 feet) (42.5042°N 44.4538°E).


Russia–Georgia Friendship Monument

It was getting more and more cold outside as we drove higher. We noticed Gudauri viewing point and parking, and stopped the car. It turned out to be large concrete construction named Russia–Georgia Friendship Monument. It is very symbolic, considering that it is very close to South Ossetia, a part of Georgia of 3,900 km2 now occupied by friendly Russia. So cloth that Georgian radio is jammed (sometimes .

m36cd042gj.png

When I got out the car I almost lost my breath. Literally. Yes, the view was breathtaking, but I have never experienced such strong wind. I can hardly hear my own voice. I was very curious to explore everything and take shots, but I also was scared to be teared down by the wind. My husband Nick confessed lately that he was ready to rush to me at any moment.

z77gduay7i.jpg

p15bs22vir.jpg

Nick and I wore anti-storm fleece, and it was the first time in my life it was so badly needed. Although jacket has a hood it was impossible to keep it wearing without help of hands.

Well, look at these photos, it looks calm, isn't it?

qvxzlp4m46.jpg

vpxf8s5c48.jpg

plmd9yo4ey.jpg

I swear I tried to upload video to DTube 3 or 4 times, but got Unknown error. Anybody knows what can be wrong? I never do that.

It was about +8 C outside, and everyone got cold very quickly. Levan and Tamara quickly jumped into the car, and Nick was waiting for me taking pictures. I was so exciting with the mountains, and the feeling of being so high first in my life (besides, reached it by car not hiking...). Caucasus is gorgeous...


Stepantsminda

Riding the mountain pass was slow and dangerous. The road was tortuous, narrow, in one of tunnels road surface was really bad and damaged.

Soon, pass start descending and we entered the awesome valley. I felt myself like in Alps (though never been there). Our destination was very close.

This time I made a good choice with the hotel Hotel Sunshine Kazbegi and didn't let anybody down. 2 rooms for 1 night cost GEL 266 or nearby € 87, breakfast costs GEL 15 for 1 person, and it was really delisious! Obviously, hotel is new, all equipment is good and working (haha),and it has fabulous views into all directions, also a lovely terrase with a view to the valley:

05i417cdfg.jpg

It was amazing day. I came from summer to winter and into spring again. I saw Caucasus as close as never before, and was quite happy. Next day we had to go upper, and I was hoing to see Mount Kaznek.

thin line star

Links:

- My Georgian Diary. Day 1/7 - Tbilisi
- My Georgian Diary. Day 2/7. Part1 ~ Mtskheta and Jvari Monastery
- My Georgian Diary. Day 2/7. Part2 ~ Uplistsikhe сave settlement and Borjomi resort
- My Georgian Diary. Day 3/7 ~ Vardzia cave monastery and Khertvisi fortress
- My Georgian Diary. Day 4/7 ~ Roaming around Tbilisi and Birthday party

hr

That's all for today. I hope you enjoyed it!


I greatly appreciate your time, and your comments and even upvotes :)

hr
Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



Stay tuned,

I am with @qurator, and you?

x1ezmfj9xx.png

eSteem.app | GitHub | Telegram | Discord

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=zirochka
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-georgian-diary-day-5-7-mountain-direction


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, here @lizanomadsoul, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our in Daily Travel Digest 530.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you so much, dear @lizanomadsoul!

Hi, @zirochka!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @zirochka! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you so very much! Your support is very much appreciated ❤❤❤

Posted using Partiko Android

I can imagine the wind! What beautiful views!

:D I hope to become familiar with DTube one day so I could share video.

Thank you for drop by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy zirochka! Great job taking photos in such windy weather! If you would have blown away your husband would have caught you though. I agree, breath-taking views!

I am not sure he'd catch me, but I like to think so 😁
How is your weekend? Do you have plans with Mrs. J?
It is very hot here

Posted using Partiko Android

He would catch you!
We're just working around the house, I have alot of mowing to do.
How hot is very hot?

+30 C. What is hot for Texas?

Mowing sounds great ) I enjoy working outside. I do it once in a while when come to see and help my mother

Howdy zirochka! over 40C is hot for Texas. It usually gets up to 43 in July. It was 35 today which wasn't bad. The wind is usually blowing so that helps. I love it outside too, we have so much work to do that's why I've been missing time on steemit and missing peoples posts. You could work all day outside if you were here! But you'd have to wear a cowboy hat!

OMG, I can't imagine how do you bear it. Or probably winds helps... We have high humidity and almost no wind, that is why it seems so ... stuffy.
I think you have an air conditioner in every house, haven't you?

Howdy zirochka! yes everyone has air conditioners, do everyone there have them?
We don't even run ours in the daytime because they don't keep it cool but they've since come up with much better technology in them so we'll upgrade sometime.
Yes, it really isn't bad with low humidity, even if it's very hot and the wind is blowing it isn't that bad.

Here an air conditioners in apartments is not must have yet, rather a bonus. But as the weather is getting more hot every year, I think it will be almost everywhere. Worst of all is in public transport without it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71288.26
ETH 3580.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77