Unattended bags - flight delayed

in #traveling5 years ago

I'm having somewhat of a ridiculous thought or at least I think it must be. You see, I've been sitting here at the airport waiting for the plane to board and have heard the announcement so many times already, I can say it back to the T.

"unattended bags will be subject to inspection and removal..."

I'm sure you've heard it plenty of times yourself. Well, what does the "removal" part of the sentence mean? As I understand it, they take the bags, and TSA would be the one to inspect them, make sure there is no weapons or any funky business inside, but then what happens? The cake is split or thrown away? And if it is thrown away, where is it thrown away to?

I'm imagining at this point a mountain of trash comprised of abandoned bags, filled with benign objects. I also imagine how those with privileged access could basically tap into "free stuff to sell" just like that.

Could someone shed some light here?

@meno

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

They're usually auctioned off online. You might have to spend $1000, but sometimes you get something good out of it.

when you watch a youtube video and find your lost bag, lol, SMH. Not my bag, but I'm imaging it happening to someone.

I think such a mess everywhere. Better to do as they want, they still have nothing you can not prove

I have been to an airport lost and found and saw plenty of baggage there so I believe that after it goes through the security scrutiny, it will land there. Interestingly, they have an online program to claim these items that is pretty old but seems to work (it did for me).

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Actually i am just hearing about it for the first time. I was thinking you will have landed from the flight by now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05