Travel Tip: Svaty Jan pod Skalou, picturesque village hidden among rocks

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I will show you what can only be described as a hidden gem, the picturesque tiny village of Svaty Jan pod Skalou.

Svatý_Jan_pod_Skalou,_z_vrchu.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Located in the Beroun Region, just some 30 km (19 mi) outside of Prague, the village of Svaty Jan pod Skalou is home to just 173 people but what it lacks in size, it greatly makes up for with its beauty and stunning natural surroundings.

Hidden among majestic rocks of Cesky Kras (translates as the Czech Karst), a beautiful nature reserve famous for unique rock formations, Svaty Jan pod Skalou might have been founded as early as in the 10th or even 9th century.

Svatý_Jan_pod_Skalou_(2).jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

The village is dominated by the Church of the The Nativity of John the Baptist, a remarkable Baroque church that is known to be connected with caves found in the surrounding rocks.

Svaty Jan pod Skalou is also very popular among climbers as the area boasts numerous excellent rock routes (of different length and difficulty).


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Olsany Cemetery, monumental cemetery where many historic figures rest

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

ColorChallenge - Indigo Saturday - @linco in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Saturday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

The tree leaves have a yellow color in it which makes a blend with the color of the mountains. I think it is a good choice to spend a weekend or a picnic close to nature. As it has a small number of inhabitants there wouldn't be much rush or fast life. Everyone would be living simple and with comfort. The electricity poles and the rows of the cars show it is a very modern village with modern facilities, I like that!

The life is pretty slow over there surrounded by a beautiful nature.

Damn I think I may have to buy a cheap car when I move to Prague in September so I can go see all these awesome little towns.

Sounds like a good plan my friend:)

Very beautiful place Svaty Jan pod Skalou. You always bring a nice travel tip. We enjoy you travel and the photos you shared are beautiful. This is a realy great place to spend some time here. Mountain and a beautiful village is awesome. Hope you enjoyed alot

@czechglobalhosts your travel tip is always awesome.

Hi there! I just upvoted you, I am a semibot that sometimes vote on great content or sometimes just Create useful content. I am helping @cheetah , @FollowForUpvotes , @minnowSupport , @steemgigs , @dropahead #bots and other users right now for making the steem more helpful to new users. Contact me if you want me to follow on your content or comments. If you have any query then please contact me. You can always send me SP or SBD so i can keep helping you indirectly by helping these awesome bots.



Do not forget to Follow @jeevanot, I actually create content as HUMAN.
Random Gift Photo For Your Better Mood: Click It!

as always amazing travels, very beautiful pictures, you have a good time,

Just a brilliant place to be at!! I like the multi-colors in the first picture, the homes have the same pink color. The village surrounded by mountains is a really a great place to spend time. The villagers are lucky to be there as this is a very calmful place. Thanks for this tip, Tomas! :)

Beautiful view of an awesome and fabulously green valley of Czech Republic. The greenery and the scenic view are worth watching. The photography too is mesmerising. Keep up the good work.

I think I don't need to tell you I have fallen in love with #czechrepublic, and the reason are these beautiful places you are showing, castle, events, schools and today this Village which is hidden behind the rocks, but still, it is shining and it's beauty is shouting and telling about it's existence. Thank you for sharing this beautiful village with us @czechglobalhosts.

Wow, What a beautiful village, do you live here sir? if yes, you are a very lucky person. The greenery all around the village is making it more beautiful and fresh to look.

I really like surroundings or panorama in photography. It’s simply so relaxing to see a stunning panorama picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84