Travel Tunes Tuesday 10.0

in #traveltunes6 years ago

It's time for another Travel Tunes Tuesday, a project created by @nomadicsoul where we share some of the music we've heard while traveling or that we listen to while traveling. Read the original post here.

Travel Tunes Tuesday ss.jpg

Let's get it started!

1. Wish You Were Here by Incubus

This one doesn't need much explanation. It's a song about being in the moment. Sitting next to the ocean or watching the night sky. This could be abroad or at home but I always imagine that it's about enjoying yourself while traveling and wishing others could experience what you are and be just as happy as you. I always love those travel moments where I feel that I am fully in one place. Mind, body, and spirit. Usually with new friends. I feel fulfilled and like I accomplished something grand for myself. That's what this song reminds me of.

2. Arrietty's Song by Cecile Corbel

Allow me to transport you to the world of animation in the country of Japan. This song was actually made especially for an anime movie called The Secret World of Arrietty (a version of The Borrowers if you're familiar with those books or movies). Studio Ghibli, Japan's most world-widely popular movie studio, is like the Disney of Japan (Disney actually partners with Ghibli too). They make fantastic animated movies, most all of which have been dubbed in English and sort of have a cult-like following. Not too different from Disney? Lol. So for this movie, they decided to let a French harpist compose the soundtrack and the result is something INCREDIBLE. You get folky, Celtic-style music and her masterpiece is Arrietty's Song with the orchestra-backed harp and the beautiful Japanese lyrics. Animes are known to produce some pretty epic music... This one is my favorite of all time. So far. ;)

3. Warni Warni by Omar Souleyman

I think I first heard of Omar on a news segment several years ago. He is a Syrian wedding singer that basically created his own genre of music. Creating music that combines traditional Arabic roots with modern electronic and heavy beats. He became internationally popular after he was forced to flee Syria because of the war. Because he's originally a wedding singer, most of his songs are about love and companionship, definitely something needed in his part of the world. He has performed all over the world with his unique music building a very diverse following despite most of his fans not understanding Arabic.

Have you heard of any of these before? What are some of your favorite travel tunes?

Sort:  

First one I love! I haven't heard it in a long time!

The last one is super interesting- crazy that most of his fans don't understand Arabic. Never heard this one before but now I love it!

Made me think of a friend I have who kinda created his own genre, too. He combined indigenous Peruvian music with Spanish rap type stuff.

The second song I'm sharing w/ my brother 'cause he's all in love with Japan and animation/anime.

So much win in this post.

It would be really interesting to hear that mixed genre.

You win the comment section.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

I knew the first one I like, the second and the third no. I like the world of animation from Japan I did not know the Secret World of Arietty. I did not know many songs in Arabic language the song sounds funny enough :)

Glad you like them

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75