Last Week's Metal Detecting Finds With A Coyote Lurking Around! My Super Top Secret Hobby.

in #treasurehunting5 years ago (edited)

This is one of my favorite hobbies when I go home to visit my family.

I grew up on an old apple orchard/farm from the 1870's that has lots of interesting relics buried just beneath my feet on the property.

This time was a little scary because a coyote (pictured below) has been hanging around lately. As a baseball player, I felt my shovel would be good defense. On the bright side, it took care of my neighbor's roosters who always woke me up before sunrise...


My previous favorite find was a spoon with a bullet hole through it. I may have beat that with an antique pocket knife below.

I've found lots of really cool stuff over the years. I've unearthed coins, some of my old toys, antique tools and cutlery, a huge wagon axle, an axe head, an old cap gun, and so on... I've always had a vision that I'd find a can full of coins, so that's the goal until I find one.

In the past, I'd lead the charge, and my brother, brother-in-law or Dad would eventually come out to join me. It was fun bonding time.

While there are filters to screen out junk metal, I like to dig everything up jusssstt in case. You never know!

Here's what I found on my last excursion around just a small patch of terrain for about 2 hours:

This antique branded brass spout circa the 1920's is in great shape and I could actually sell it online if I wanted.

Interestingly, the piece to its right and below has the details of an old store by a lake hundreds of miles away from where I found it. I was able to look it up online and find a very old newspaper clipping that referred to the store and its family. It was a very small town. Really cool!

Here's the pocket knife with wood panels...

Prehistoric Colgate toothpaste in a metal tube, and a yellow screw from one of my Dad's treasured antique tractors parts (a little eerie since he's passed on).

The rest were some tractor/wagon/barn parts, a bunch of nails, the end of an old rake, some can tops, wire and spikes. While I usually lose track of what I find because my parents used to move it, I'll try to keep these and future finds in one place so I can document them better.

We also have a large mound where the old owners used to bury their trash. I've found ENDLESS antique bottles in pristine condition, medicine, liquor, soda, you name it... Some even have some stuff left in them. Finding these things is like being in a time machine, and since nostalgia hits me hard, it's a nice experience.


I may live in a big city, but nature and farmland is where my heart is. Now can you see why I gravitated toward thrifting and recycling for income? I just want to "live off the fatta the lan,'" one of my favorite quotes from Of Mice And Men, and this is the best I can do for now.

When Bitcoin rises, it may be time to make a move. In the meantime, I'm looking to buy a top-notch metal/gold detector to have some more fun.

Walking distance from my home:

Bonus Little Frog:

Bonus Big Coyote exactly where I was looking (photo cred goes to my Mom):

Let me know if you're into metal detecting and some of your favorite finds.

For me, it's not what I find, it's being outside and the process of finding it that I enjoy best.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

That's why you got a good eye for precious stuff!
It's in your blood! :O <3

Dude, I LOVE metal detecting too! As well as gold panning, you into that?

Anyways, here are some of my better finds. I used to live on Oahu so would hit Waikiki beach.

IMAG0320.jpg

Wow. That's LEGIT. Will you ever cash those in?

Never gold panned. My parents got me a low-grade metal detector ages ago I use around my property as the extent of it. I'm keen on getting a high end model that is suitable for hunting for gold nuggets. Not sure how practical that'd be in my region, but one hell of a good reason to travel more.

Oh, I suppose I would if the price is right.

What a beautiful place to grow up.
I had forgotten about metal tubes of toothpaste...gave me a nice nostalgic moment.
Say hi to mom and get back to enjoying the process.


Congratulations @steemmatt!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93