Let's Plant Some Maple Seeds & The Solar Panel Works!

in #treeplanting6 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemians! I actually ventured forth to the grocery store today, and on the way home I picked up some maple seeds to try and plant them. I figure they were naturally stratified over winter as they were all falling to the ground now (I did some Googling, and red maples - the little seeds in the photo - are known for planting this way at this time of year, but I'm not sure about the big green maple, though I figure, if it's shedding seeds now, it must do). The apple seeds I planted earlier were stratified in my fridge.

IMG_20180511_004704.jpg

The big green maple seeds seem to be popular squirrel food, or bird food, perhaps - it took some searching to find one intact! The internet says to plant them whole, so in they go, the entire helicopter seed (growing up we always called them helicopter seeds because of how they spin when falling).

IMG_20180511_010532.jpg

The big one is in the big pot that I took over from an attempted houseplant cutting that didn't make it; the little one is in the little sprouting pot that I had been trying some really old Bells of Ireland seeds in (I know they take a long time to sprout; they've been in there a couple of months though). I'll move them to the balcony in the morning.

In other news, my solar panel worked!

IMG_20180510_222848.jpg

I just finished charging my phone with it. Now the only thing is that it didn't fill the battery completely. This might be one of two things, I figure: one, I had it in an east-facing window all day; at around 11:30 I moved it back a bit as the shadows had moved, but tomorrow I'll try starting in the east window in the morning and then moving to a south window at about that time (I don't have a west window). If that doesn't work better, I can also try putting it outside on the balcony. Two, it could just be because it was the first charge? You know how with a new battery you generally have to charge it a long time the first time? Maybe I should plug it in to charge once so that it goes all the way to the top and then after that the solar will be enough. If y'all have a little device charger and have any advice, let me know! :)

Edited for clarity: it charged my phone completely, but sitting in the window didn't charge the battery the solar panel has completely. I plugged it in for several hours before sunrise, and moved it to the window and it's still charging, so I think I was right about it being a new battery thing. It should finish charging today! :)

That Red Fish your momma always warned you about

Referral links:

Get free Manna, crypto UBI: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=6e4b50d35e

Join Simbi, the barter economy website: https://simbi.com/wren-paasch/welcome

Sort:  

@phoenixwren You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

You are very welcome.
Much success!

Omg YAY!!! Little helicopters!! YESSSSS that's what we call them too hehehe!! And I'm so glad your solar panel works, this is kick ass Phe!!!

Hopefully I will have lots of baby trees in pots this year and can plant them all at the Nemeton when I get there. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71