Gale Wind Of Change

in #trees5 years ago

I love trees . As such, they are amongst my favourite things to photograph. I am totally fascinated by them - their symmetry or lack there of, their size, texture, colour, all that. I'm particularly interested in seasonal changes in trees - the differences between evergreen and non-evergreen trees.

JPEG image 2.jpeg

There is this one tree in a park in London that I developed a special interest in. It is quite a large tree, and is evidently quite old. It's probably older than the oldest living human today. On it's bark you can see old graffiti left there by lovers and vandals alike. I once studied this tree for about 3 years, taking photos in different seasons, observing the changes.

I didn't set out to do this project on purpose though, it kind of just happened. I usually needed a subject for my photos while testing cameras, and trees always made perfect subjects for me. It so just happened that I was taking photos of this tree for a while, and then later decided to keep taking the photos as some kind of study.

JPEG image.jpeg

Trees do so much for our ecosystem. They help balance out our CO2 for one. They also help break the wind and stop the encroachment of desserts. Trees also serve as habitats for many living things - other plants and animals alike. They have achieved ecological symbiosis long before we even turned up. Finally, they look good, and make me happy :)

JPEG image 7.jpeg

Alright. I think this is a perfect place to put things in perspective. When I said "I love trees", yes I do, but there's loving trees, and there's loving trees. This here is @inesafreedom, a legit tree lover. She loves trees more than I do, but I try my best. Ok, lets continue.



A fellow tree lover, @phortun, wrote this postthe other day. This kind of stuff make me happy. There are some countries that are starting to take some action towards the vast depletion of trees on our planet. What people don't seem to realise is this; if the trees go, we go!.

JPEG image 5.jpeg

JPEG image 4.jpeg

What got me thinking of trees today is the weather here in the UK. No I don't mean the climate, that's a different thing. I mean the actual weather. We have had a lot of wind lately - gale force winds even. The fence at the back of my place, which belongs to my neighbour actually, has been shattered to smithereens. There are shrapnels and wood boards all over the place. There are also hundreds of twigs on the ground, snapped off by the strong wind.

It's actually quite dangerous. Walking under these trees that have dry brittle branches is a daunting experience. One could snap off and stab you in the head when you least expect. It's actually quite serious. If you're out and about in London, especially in parks in this weather, please be aware of this possibility and be careful.

Anyhow, if you feel like helping out with the tree depletion situation, you may want to check this out. Every little helps.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Great post Ade. I'm so excited to see your tree post :D gotta go get my tree hugs! 😍🌳🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha. You're the most tree-loving person I know.

🌴🌳

Hahahaha the thought of dryness in the weather making it possible for twigs to snap and stab someone is quite hilarious as much as it's quite a serious issue, now I don't know why the weather condition in London is this, but well about the trees, they're amazing really, I mean look at those shots you just gotta love the natural habitat when one sees a picturesque scene you just covered, brilliantly taken sir.

Yeah, it's funny if it werent so serious :) . It's like the trees are throwing little spears at us :)

Haha awesome photography, sir, how many cameras do you have?

I absolutely live trees as well and one of the things I miss about living further north is seeing how the season evolve then over the year. While Palm trees are nice as well, I feel that trees are more unique in the way they paint a canvas differently every time you look.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Agreed. Actually, as it happens, Palm trees are my absolute favourite trees in the world! The Palm tree is also the most useful tree we have. It gives at least 20 products without being cut down including:
Palm wine, Palm oil, Palm gin, Palm Kernel oil, Palm soap, brooms, roof thatch material, fabric, medicines, palm kernel nuts, palm kernel fruits, fire kindles, bath sponges, .... and so on.

This trees are very cool also when snow is on them :) ... very cool to photography then what black and white :)

Absolutely. They look amazing in snow. I've seen some of your work on here too :)

Thanx that you have looked my photos :) ... now all melts here fast, so no more lot snow photos :)

We must be on the same wavelength, @adetorrent! I woke up this morning thinking about this very thing -- how much I love trees and how critical they are to the health of the planet. Weird. I have no idea how or why those thoughts came into my head. Are you messing with my mind??

But seriously, I am glad to hear about the initiatives to replant trees. That was one of the things I was thinking about. What if I was wealthy and could quit my job and create a giant tree farm to start seedlings and distribute them everywhere. That is literally the thing I was musing about as I made coffee. Such a daydreamer!

Ah. A lot of people have been thinking about trees lately. Maybe there's some kind of collective consciousness going on. Maybe the trees have figured out how to communicate with us and are giving out an SOS vibe that we are tapping into (woo woo alert!) . :)

That's a pretty good daydream though :)

I like that. An SOS vibe! Maybe we will actually tune in and do something about it. Have you heard of drawdown.org?

Posted using Partiko iOS

No I had never heard of that. Looks interesting. Something to check out over my next coffee :)

Every tree is a magical wonder and is full of energy. I think to hug trees can be very healthy. Trees give me the feeling of safety and stability. We should be more careful with trees and not felling as much as we can.

It is obvious she is truly a tree lover. The way she is close to the tree. Haha. But actually i noticed i did not like tress like that

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello brother it is my first comment. I think your say 100% right.we should need trees loves because it is supply oxygen

More posts like this please! Wonderful read and great photos. It is important to remind people over and over again how crucial role trees play in our lives and in our planet´s life. Awesome post Ade, true tree-huggers´ stuff :) Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87