#TreeTuesday... An Awesome O.O.O!

in #treetuesday6 years ago

KIMG3716-01-01.jpeg

Odd Old Oak


Wandering around my woods is one of my favorite pastimes. Seeing what is happening around me. I tend to live life with the wonder and exuberance of a five year old.

This Odd Old Oak caught me 100% by surprise. It was a mere 50 yds from where we built camp upon arrival here. We lived in camp for 8 1/2 months, I wandered in explorer mode regularly, yet Never saw this tree.

Here it is as I came upon it for the first time.

KIMG3708-01.jpeg

A up close of the approach side...the huge exposed root crown covered on moss is what caught my eye.

KIMG3550-01.jpeg

There are so many interesting features on one tree

KIMG3557-01.jpeg

This tree seems to have been a beast. There are a few clues remaining that it may have been cut down.

KIMG3551-01.jpeg

The knotty bits form a heart from some perspectives.

KIMG3553-01.jpeg

If this tree has been logged, I wonder if it was rejected with all this going on, or perhaps it was more valued.

KIMG3718-01.jpeg

I share this last series with a story.

I took these photos with the hope of finding a way to make a tall panoramic style image. Many weeks and several tries later I have learned a lot about working with photos, but alas, no luck on linking them together.

Here they are as I shot them. I hope you enjoy.

KIMG3723-01.jpeg

KIMG3722-01.jpeg

KIMG3721-01.jpeg

KIMG3720-01.jpeg

Happy #TreeTuesday!


~all text and images are my own unless otherwise credited




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmUhMRZf8MSMtkBru146FvBgHki8DDjCwp2QFGKGWDxzfG_1680x8400.png

DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Im just learning about oak trees. They grow so big 😮 its crazy. Im from hawaii so so much of the states is new and i too look at the world around me like a 5 year old haha

Coming from Wisconsin and heating with wood Oak is an old friend of mine. It was our main heating wood.

Happy to meet another traveling their path in wonder!

Here is one you might like. This us an Oak on the new land we bought at the lake. :) 20170102_142005.jpg

Apparently it first rubbed the bark off, then grew back together. Kind of like the eye on a needle.

That is so neat! It almost looks like two trees that fell in love and became one!

The oddities are my favorite. I clearly remember a moment when I was young when I turned that corner. I found myself wanting to remove a tree I randomly saw because it had not grown like I thought it should, it wasn't even my tree, not even near my house...Ummm.

I just found my post topic for the day... Going to finish this thought there. I'll tag you!

Fun, LOL! :)

I love finding old oaks like this, or any tree with a weird growth. Burls are my favorite tree deformity to look for.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73