WEEPING PUSSY WILLOW #TREETUESDAY

in #treetuesday5 years ago

This miniature weeping pussy willow was planted on our farm over 10 years ago after my Dad passed away. It's just coming into springtime here in Upstate NY, slowly our little tree will wake up and start it's new growth. I love the soft little gray buds that will pop out once the warmth is here to stay. So introducing DAD'S mini willow. My entry in #treetuesday, my first.

.IMG_2494.JPG

Planting trees or building gardens in memory of loved ones has become over the years, our little tradition. I always smile and think of them, every time I walk or ride past them on my 4 wheeler. Although we always miss them, our memories are sweet. So as the weather warms, so does my heart. HAPPY SPRINGTIME !!!

Sort:  

I planted a flower border along the drive in my brother's memory. I really like the idea of your weeping willow. Or any small weeping tree would be very appropriate, wouldn't it?

It's really such a nice way to remember those we love. @melinda010100

You are right. I may need to plant some trees this spring!

@farm-mom I have a pussy willow as well. I like their little unique flowers. Hope your dads tree does well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Pussy willows are just so unique, and when they bloom those little grey fuzzy thingys Love it !!

Howdy there farm-mom! That is such a wonderful tradition you have there! And that's such a cool and unusual tree. I've never heard of a miniature weeping pussy willow tree before!

We started planting for loved ones when my Aunt Barbara passed away. It was her and my Uncle Louie who bought their farm first, then my Uncle talked my hubby into looking at property on the same block. The rest is history. My egg lady is Uncle Louise's daughter, Lauren, my cuz and best friend. Nice right? @janton.

howdy this fine Sunday farm-mom! what a wonderful story, I love that!
I bet the weather here is the same there today because it's unusually cool here for this time of year, it's 60 degrees right now. Do you guys do a garden too?

Happy Sunday @janton, it's raining and 55 here. Oh yes we grow lots of veggies and berries. We try to grow enough to get us to next harvest. We vacuum pack and freeze. We still have blueberries, carrots, corn and a few sting beans left . Everything else is gone...so we're gonna grow more beets, potatoes, onions and garlic to have a better reserve next year. Our tomatoes never make the freezer a) because we eat them all, b) I make sauce. Love tomatoes !!

haha! well that's what I figured you guys did, that's wonderful! Are you guys preppers also or just growing as much of your own healthy food as you can?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83