Sort:  

Good vitamin source, enjoy them occasionally.

News of them being invasive is also news to me. There are a few Guava trees here on the farm, but they don't seem to affect the apple orchards. I will let the farm manager know. Blessings!

Apparently they do farm them in the Cape, people are asked to be on the look out for specific rust marks on leaves of trees, some alien trees may affect other trees in orchards. http://saforestryonline.co.za/news/myrtle-rust-spreading-in-sa/

I really love this, From kryptonia id @uche234

nice post my friends i love tree @joseleonardojose

I had no idea that they were invasive. I remember seeing them everywhere when I was growing up. Always believed that they belonged here.

Shocked to learn they were invasive myself, however not all from the Myrtaceae species are.

It would appear it is due to the water they require, trying hard to keep our garden indigenous to the region, not always an easy task.

I'm sure that it could be challenging.

I did not know guavas were invasive, I just love them, most interesting post @joanstewart!

Live and learn every day @lizelle trying to identify and find out more when photographing trees.

Here in South Texas in the summer it is great to have the trees around a house to help keep it cool and cut back on AC use. We have about 10 trees very close to the house for this.

Good way to save money, also helps with oxygen something I do think should happen more is roof gardens in cities @richard78624

Trees are good partners and good destinations for human beings, and they are also the origin of human beings.

Trees are definitely good partners in life @cloudblade

Cool post. thanks for share :) upvoted and resteemed

Thanks for being kind and supportive @maryresp

I love them infact we have a guava tree in our garden where my son used to pluck them and eat directly.

Best way to enjoy them, fresh off the tree @kcherukuri

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33