A Different Kind of Tree Tuesday

in #treetuesday5 years ago (edited)

Kingfisher, Cicada, and Willow Tree, 19th century, China

20181104_135416.jpg

Hey Y'all

Happy Tree Tuesday

Also Get Out To Vote Day :)

20181104_135843.jpg

Well today's Tree Tuesday here is a bit different because there are no pics of real trees! The top 2 trees were from the Detroit Institute of Art's Asian Collection. These were rather old. I was reading where the artist used a lot of blank or white space to convey a sense of quiet, calm and peacefulness.


This one is called Talking Oak by William M Egley 1857. Owned again by the DIA. I thought the color was spectacular! It is so light and stunning and catches the eye from across the room.

20181104_155105.jpg

Hasn't the color stood up well to the test of time!

I hope you enjoyed this different kind of Tree Tuesday. I hope your Tuesday is going well. Mine is going swimmingly! I just made a huge pot of perfectly spiced chili and it smells divine! What a treat for such a blustery day here in Michigan!


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine (but the art itself is owned by the Detroit Institute of Art) and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20
Steemit


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

Sort:  

I really love Chinese paintings. I had one in China that was really huge. But i couldn’t bring it back to Sweden because it was too big and the rice paper which it was painted on couldn’t be rolled. I sure miss that painting

Oh, Dan! @dandesign86 You should have had it crated and paid the $4,000 in shipping! Where there's a will... :) You know of course when you vote before the fifteen minutes, 66% of the $$ goes into the rewards pool, right? I have to keep reminding myself!

Yea I have a problem with my trigger finger. Thanks for reminding me !

I need the reminder too!

This is why I write auto voting bots in python, LOL. ;)

Touche!!! I have to agree with you here!! @lightsplasher

These older art works are really neat to look at. There have been lots of good talented artists out there over the years. The culture of the time reflects a lot in the way the pictures look.

I still having found anything to post for Tree Tuesday yet...

Yes I am just now really gaining an appreciation for art and especially older art. I am always fascinated what they could produce given their tools and technology. I mean just look at how the colors were maintained over time. I have some good examples I will be posting about.

Never fret about posting to these challenges. They are just simply for fun and there is always next week. I just want you to know I totally appreciate your support as always.

The Asian art at the Detroit Institute of the Arts now has their own dedicated gallery. That is how large and impressive their collection is now. The whole gallery is amazing!

In Chinese art, landscape is considered to be the highest form of Chinese painting, except for calligraphy. :) I do love these and the different layers of the artists are complex.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us for #TreeTuesday!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Yes you are correct, they have a separate gallery! I need to spend a day just in there! I have more items to share from there of course. I find it best absorbed in small quantities so I didnt feel like I should spam out a bunch of stuff at once. I really enjoy learning about the various cultures and how they interpret their art. Thanks for your always great comments!

The pleasure is all mine!

I really like “The Talking Oak” painting!

@old-guy-photos,

Wow. All beautiful paintings. I really love that second one.

Quill

Look ! A tree hugger ! :)

She is a pretty one too!

Yes she is......

I love this post. That middle one in particular. Such a contrast to the Egley that's also really wonderful. The Asian artists work so quickly, the Egley might have taken months or longer to complete. Both are great.

Did you know that owners of works in Asia would often write on the painting? And put their stamps on them? I was amazed when i found that out. Could you imagine a bunch of different names and poetry on a Monet or any western artists work? A really different mind set and culture.

I thought you were into owning these kind of art.

Do love that talking Oak great texture and color certainly has stood up well it be worth a forture.

Here is my link Paul have a great week :)

Tree Tuesday - My Favorite Tree - The Banyan Tree !!

31ejf34bdg.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85