Ever seen some 300+ year old Camphor Trees?steemCreated with Sketch.

Amazingly these historical, old giants were planted between 1700 and 1706!

This post is also entered in #treetuesday initiated by @old.guy.photos

We took a walk on one of the historical farms in the area and were instantly trans ponded to a time very long ago. Vergelegen was the first farm in the area that is close to a bustling city today and of course some trees were planted in the farm's early days. Here are some Camphor giants that stood the test of time.

The column at the front bears the badge of the Historical Monuments Commission.

Wow! The Camphor trees were planted between 1700-1706 by the governor of the Cape, who was also the owner of the farm.

And of course it is a most beautiful farm at the foot of massive mountains with many perfectly preserved old Cape Dutch style buildings. If only I could understand the language of the trees, as I am sure that they hold endless treasures of stories about their time so long ago on this farm.
There are also other historical tree sections on the farm, some that have an interesting story about the royal visit by the queen of England and some dukes, but I will share this in another post.

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for the visit to a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Very old tree.. 300year is long time...
Old is gold.. Awesome photographs my friend..
Thanks for share with us..

Thank you my friend and blessings to you!

So the age of this tree between 313 - 319 year old. Wow.. Amazing tree. Likely you must find the story behind of it why the governor plant this tree.

Posted using Partiko Android

The story behind it is that the camphor was harvested for medicines and creams for the people my friend.
Blessings!

I see, that good story sir. God bless you too

Wow, they have been living for 300 years! This is amazing!

I think that they will live for many more years my friend.
Truly historical giants that stood the test of time!
Blessings!

I remember a tree near my home that is indeed pretty tall and old...no one really knows how old it is. They are probably not as old as these anyways. Old trees are always fascinating, you can have a lot of imaginations on how they grew and stuff :)

It would be very cool if you can talk to trees, and you might end up wasting a few days on each tree just to listen to their stories or rants on the world :D

Oh, I would love to hear how many people the healed with their camphor medicines my friend. In our back garden here is also an old oak tree that is in the region of about 100 years old.
Blessings!

I love these old, great trees! I think they are amazing and beautiful * ___ * This post makes me want to draw huge and wonderful trees~ What a lovely post <3

They are camphor medicine trees my friend and it would be great to see you draw them!
Blessings!

Living beauty in old gnarled trees, girth too wide to hug. They appear to have built their own platform in life Stephen.

Thanks for sharing this unusual tree found in our land.

Just a soft stroke and a kind word to each of them Lady Joan.
They have played a wonderful role in many lives' with their camphor medicines!
Blessings!

Wow how cool to see such grand old trees
They make me feel positively young

Stunning to see them JJ and they served the people well, as many were healed by its camphor medicines!
Blessings!

That’s great as well I know I love using the Vick’s nasal inhaler thingy which I think has camphor in it always helps when I feel sinusy

Fascinating! I didn't realize that camphor trees got so huge! Or so old. Lovely read @papilloncharity

Thank you and neither did I my friend and it was indeed a stunning sight.
We felt privileged just to softly stroke them!
Blessings!

wow! a truly historical moment there! It makes me reflect on how short human's lifespan is.

Thank you and a few generations has certainly passed by in their time!
My life almost felt insignificant in their presence!
Blessings!

That's a nice tree. We don't have those in Korea. But there are a lot of old trees to be found on the mountains and especially near temples.

Great trees indeed my friend and great that you also have many old trees!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84