Tree Tuesday: Thorny affair!!

in #treetuesday5 years ago

Tree Tuesday: Thorny affair!!

IMG-0295.jpg
I went for a stroll in the neighborhood and came across this tree. I don't know what this tree is called, but it is covered in some mean thorns. Its entire trunk is covered in these mean thorns.
IMG-0292.jpg
The tree is rather tall, you can compare it with the two story house in the background.
IMG-0296.jpg
My uncle used to have a similar tree at his house when we were children and he offered us R10.00 if we could climb that tree with bare hands and feet. In those days the Rand was still stronger than a Dollar and it was quite a lot of money - needless to say his money stayed safely in his wallet!!
IMG-0297.jpg
Just look at those thorns!!
IMG-0298.jpg
This particular tree also had some large roots anchoring it to the ground.
IMG-0300.jpg
Above is another look at those menacing thorns covering the trunk from top to bottom.
IMG-0299.jpg
I love this tree, it is interesting and beautiful at the same time.

I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed writing it.

All photos were taken with my iPhone, in Pretoria, South Africa.

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

@rynow,
I never see such a tree before! We got one tree here but it has different thorny type and not like this! Nice photography and hope I could climb that tree with bold hands!

Cheers~

Wow... nice thorns! I like the close up pics, first time looking at this tree. Life is full of new things =)

Nature are always full of surprises.

We have similar kind of tree which is produce raw wool and contain this type of thorne for protect itself from animals and others!

This tree is very big. There are many goodies too.

that's a great shot for the tree tuesday one of the best post :D

Thank you so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72