TreeTuesday Photography "It's Coming Down" by Sunscape

in #treetuesday6 years ago

IMGP1858.jpg

I have enjoyed the shade that this Locust tree has provided me for over 22 years now. As with all things over time, things change. I had to make a hard decision and have it taken down. The tree was getting so large that it was overshadowing too much of my roof. Of course, at my age climbing up there to always be cleaning it off and also doing the gutters was getting to be too much. My husband is not able to do it anymore either, so our locust tree had to come down. Below are a few pictures showing the first days progress. Enjoy.

IMG_5631.jpg

IMGP1854.jpg

IMGP1862.jpg

IMGP1924.jpg

The entire canopy of the tree is finally down, and you can see how excited Mark is in the picture, Oh Yeah! The chipper broke down and they had to rent one from another company. In the meantime, pizza break before they started taking down the larger portions of the remaining branches. What a thud those made and of course large holes in my grass. Ugh!

IMGP1936.jpg

IMGP1906.jpg

IMGP1934.jpg

Mark hugs my tree before the final fall, he is quite the character.

IMGP1958.jpg

IMGP1954.jpg

IMGP1962.jpg

IMGP1897.jpg

IMGP1971(1).jpg

IMGP1980.jpg

IMGP1982.jpg

And that my friends is a wrap for today's tree Tuesday for me.
Thank you to @old-guy-photos for creating this wonderful #treetuesday challenge.

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Website
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
Sunscape's Soap Shop

Sort:  

Ahhhh I know that exact feeling. Not but a month and a week ago we cut down a cherry tree that was doing the exact same. Except we had clearance, so we felled it on one cut into the yard, and I took a day to clear it up and out myself. All to good use now, some wood for mushroom logs, some for burning, some to be chipped into mulch.

Lots of work. I hugged the tree too when it was still up, but with a cut in it.

It is so hard to let a beautiful tree go, but that locust was getting to be way to huge for our spot and very messy too. It is nice you could do it yourself and use the wood. That is a great way to continue to enjoy it.

That was a monster tree. Was it a Black Locust?

Hi Mike, yeah it sure was and it is very messy tree to have hanging all over the house. I miss it but

That sure was a beautiful tree, and so huge, but I totally understand your situation and I bet you felt pretty sad to see it all gone, but at the same time a little relief.
Hope you guys are enjoying your space now and more sun, which I love.

I do miss the tree terribly, but it was time to let it go as it was getting dangerous with a lot of dead branches. I certainly have sun, now I have to change some of the plants in my gardens as so many are shade plants. They took a hit with the sudden change in light. Ouch!

That's a real shame but you got to do what you have to do and am sure you will miss it dearly :)

I really do miss the tree already. It was getting so large and so many dead limbs that it was time. Sad to say.

Time to put up a big plastic look alike tree then no cleaning needed they make them to look pretty real these days...hehe :)

hahaha, that is funny, perhaps a large palm with misters would be great.

Or a nice plastic pine tree that you can decorate for xmas also ...haha :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87