Bradford Pear Tree

in #treetuesday6 years ago

BradfordPear-1.jpg
• PHOTO & PROCESSING BY ME •

I was nominated by @eunireal1 to participate in the #TreeTuesday challenge which was begun by @old-guy-photos, so here is my entry: a Bradford Pear tree, a variant of the Callery Pear.

BradfordPear-2.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The Callery pear tree is native to southeast Asia, being commonly found in China and Vietnam. Several cultivars of this tree exist, but the one that has gained the most popularity in the US in recent years is the 'Bradford' cultivar (Pyrus calleryana ‘Bradford’).

BradfordPear-3.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The lovely white blossoms are one of the prettiest sights to see in the spring, and when multiple trees are planted together, the effect can be a breathtaking sight!

BradfordPear-4.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

The only downside to the trees is that they are considered an "invasive" species in some areas and can grow out of control if other species of pear trees are nearby with which they can cross-pollinate.

Although the ‘Bradford’ pear was originally bred as sterile and thorn-less, they readily cross-pollinate with other varieties of callery pears, and subsequently produce fruit. The ripened fruit are eaten and disseminated by birds, which results in very thorny thickets of wild pear trees. [1]

BradfordPear-5.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

Recommendations from Agricultural Extension Services therefore recommend that other varieties of trees be considered for landscaping purposes, at least in areas where the Callery Pear is not endemic.

ThanksForReading.png 😊


SOURCES
   1 Clemson University Cooperative Extension Service
   2 Wikipedia: Pyrus calleryana


SeeOtherPosts--Flowers.png

Sort:  

These are so gorgeous, I don't know how invasive they may be but they are jaw dropping beautiful.
I always fear on windy Spring days the breeze may take all the delicate blooms away.

Hi this is @sapphic upvote bot, you are obviously on her author upvote whitelist, (which means you are pretty special).

She will be along shortly to read your and leave a proper comment.

lgbtbannerdirty0.png

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Oh, my! That's really beautiful!! I tried my best to search for some cherry blossom in Korea but I missed the season since I was there during the late blossom blooming season. But, that definitely gives me a reason to visit Japan next year for the cherry blossom :D

That's some beautiful blooms on that tree, like a big cotton ball.

This is so beautiful, it's like the Sakura or Cherry Blossom!

Now I feel like dropping down in tears @old-guy-photos would be so happy seeing your tree pictures.
The are so lovely and I love each of the shot, you sure are a great photographer💖💯

Oh my word, that second photo is especially stunning! I love flowering trees, although I'm not really a big 'flower' type person in general. Invasive species are hard to deal with, though. These photos are gorgeous!

Wow kitty! I'm impressed because you're getting better as a photographer everyday, those are amazing shots! Keep it going

These are some exceptionally good photos. Great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88