The Leaning Trees in Vila do Conde (Portugal)

in #treetuesday5 years ago

Good morning, everyone!

Today is going to be a very busy morning. I'm kicking off the day with my first submission ever to the #TreeTuesday initiative - hosted by @old-guy-photos - and I would like to hear your opinion on the editing of this photo.


This photo was taken in Vila do Conde, only a few hundred meters away from the beach. As you can see, the trees are inclined due to the common strong winds coming from the sea. These winds are awesome for surfers, bodyboarders, windsurfers and kitesurfers but they aren't that fun when you're trying to relax at the beach with your friends or family.

Sometimes the wind is so strong that the beaches are deserted, even during a hot sunny afternoon. 😮

cmvwnp7hi6.jpg

I like to use GIMP and many times I edit my photos just a little bit, before publishing them. And what I'd like to know is...

  • To White Balance or Not to White Balance? That is the question.

The above photo is unchanged.

To the photo below, a White Balance correction was applied.

k75tnd1ira.jpg

So, which one do you prefer? And why?


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationVila do Conde - Portugal
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hey @trincowski a hairy tree you have there :D. I think that I like the second one better because the trees look more prominent and have more sharpness BUT the sky is not as beautiful as in the first one.

Have a nice day :)

That was exactly my feeling. In the end I couldn't decide which one looked the better... they're both cool, in their own way.

i love the part where the tree seems to "grow" red hair on its trunks. wonderful!

It's a nice detail! Like a bearded tree! 😂

Maybe Gimp is not the best in white balance correction ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

It usually does it well... but there are a few shots where it removes the blue sky like this.

I like the composition and both tonal versions.
Either way, well done @trincowski.

Thanks for your visit and attention, @lady-idra!

I prefer the second one because of the saturation, and the graphic balance in terms of brightness 🔆 great shot Trin.. 💪

I like that one too... but I miss the blue sky!

Esse Pinheiro é primo do Tony Ramos? 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quem é esse gajo?

🤣 ⬇️ 🤪

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ugh, o Lobisomem Português!!! Mas para que é que eu fui perguntar? Eu e a minha grande boca. 😮

I think the sky looks more natural in the top photo.

I feel the same way... but the trees look so much cooler on the 2nd version! I guess including them both was a good call!

Thanks for your visit!

You are right, the trees on a light background look sharper and clearer, it is difficult to choose :)

Not sure why, but I am drawn more to the second one :)

Me too... but the sky on the first photo looks so much cooler! The White Balance correction nearly erased all the blue.

Thanks for your visit, @brittandjosie!

Always a pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72