Two Trees for TreeTuesday

in #treetuesday5 years ago (edited)


#TreeTruesday hosted by @old-guy-photos

HWalk5.jpg


Eastern Red Cedar Bark


HWalk6.jpg


Eastern Red Cedar Tree is a host to the Juniper Hairstreak Butterfly


HWalk7.jpg


HWalk7 (2).jpg


I wish you could see the light blue berries on the tree, but alas this photo is not that great!


@gardenlady told me this next tree is called smokebush, latin name is cotinus coggygria.

Smokebush, as shown in these next 4 photos has some lovely flowers
and reminds me of mimosa flowers.


HWalk20.jpg


HWalk15.jpg


HWalk21.jpg


HWalk27.jpg


I photographed both of these trees on my walk last week at
The Heard Museum Native Plant Garden.
View the post here.


Thanks again to @old-guy-photos who hosts #treetuesday!


Have Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


June 4, 2019
Photos taken in McKinney, Texas
All photos taken on my iPhone 8 Plus

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.25$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Lovely trees. I think the blue berries on the Juniper can be used to make alcohol..gin. Not that you want to do that but the birds like the berries..at least here in my area.

I love that smoke bush! Awesome!

Nice photos.

My father has made several canoes out of cedar. I wonder if they were that variety...

Beautiful red cedar trees - we don't have any in this area that I've ever seen (middle Illinois). That's what's so nice about Tree Tuesday, seeing things that you normally don't get to appreciate. I see that @gardenlady identified your later photos as a smokebush tree, very beautiful flowers, I can see where the name fits it.

the bottom tree is called smokebush, latin name is cotinus coggygria.

I have two of them. I cut mine down to the ground each year which sacrifices the "smoke" but the leaves are just gorgeous - bright red in the fall.

Thanks for letting me know! I’ll have to check this tree out in the fall!

We have the giant western red ceders in these parts. They are very different looking.

440px-Thuja_plicata_Vancouver.jpg

The Eastern seem to spread more but then it could be the cedar has more competition for light in PNW forests.

Wonderful photos, Violet:)

I like the last three pictures, looking beauty!!

Eastern R. Cedar massive.. Really grow things big in Texas...

Trees are a marvel of nature. We can even see climate history by analyzing its rings. Great pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28